We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Merchant House

Show Prices
#4 of 6 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Merchant House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Merchant House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 357: English reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2017

We needed two rooms for two nights at short notice and booked the Hotel on line, where we were offered a very good price. To be honest we hoped it was a good choice (!) and so it turned out. We would definitely stay there again if we need to overnight in Truro. When we arrived a cosy wood-burner greeted...

1Thank Gemmadog
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear Gemmadog, Thank you for your 5 star review of Merchant House. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found us to be such great value. Homemade cake and tea on arrival we think sets the tone for the perfect break and when the log burner is roaring in January there's nothing like it! Thank you for...

Cornwall, UK
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Wonderful as always! Arrived early enough for the complimentary cake and tea/coffee which was delicious. We upgraded our room to the suite as it was a special occasion. The suite was excellent and just what we needed for our one night break, we had a large lounge area with comfy leather sofas that we relaxed on, the suite also had...

Thank Catherine S
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear Catherine, Thank you for your 5 star review of Merchant House, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay as usual and the complimentary tea and homemade cake! I'm glad to read that you enjoyed the new Merchant House Suite also, what a treat! It's so light and spacious and we love that it has a TV in the lounge...

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night before a wedding. The room was very nice and comfortable bed. The bathroom was small but had everything you need. Breakfast was very good, lovely freshly made breakfast and other options.

Thank Daisylou
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear Daisylou, Thank you for your 5 star review of Merchant House, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room to be nice and the bed comfortable. I'm glad to read you enjoyed our delicious freshly made breakfast also, it is particularly yummy, all of our guests comment on it and a great breakfast is...

Brigg, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We recently stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights and found it to be in a great location - only 10 mins walk from Truro centre and all eateries etc. And with free parking at the hotel - what a bonus! The room we had been allocated was sadly extremely cold when we arrived (owners: it might be...

Thank sailorgirlGrimsby
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear sailorgirlGrimsby, Thank you for your review and kind comments about our fantastic central location, free car parking, tasteful decor and cleanliness, I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Merchant House. I’m so sorry about the room being cold. We do always ensure the rooms are warm prior to guest arrival however the radiator in your room had a...

Funchal, Portugal
Reviewed 13 January 2017

The best Gluten Free Breakfast I have had in an hotel. Felt really well looked after and not a nuisance. No fuss approach from warm friendly staff, Sharon our server was brilliant. No bother with our dog too, hotel offered us a doggie welcome pack with lots of helpful information and they provide an outside shower with shaampoo and towels,...

Thank 222DEP
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear 222DEP, Thank you for your review of Merchant House. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that we had the best Gluten Free breakfast you've experienced in a hotel, this makes us very happy! Thank you also for your comments on our warm, friendly staff, they truly are what makes Merchant House a bit...

Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017

It could and should be fantastic if it wasn't for two small but incredibly annoying problems. First as a single guy well over six foot decided to pay the extra and have a king size bed which was a fairly hefty 160 pounds for just me for two nights I was given two single beds pushed together so unable to...

Thank robbyrees
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear robbyrees, I’m so sorry to read your review of Merchant House and to hear you weren’t satisfied with your room. Unfortunately it’s a fire requirement to have that light in the room so we cannot stop the flashing although I have to admit, we’ve never received a complaint about the light before. Our bed is a zip and link...

Rhondda, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2017

we spent 4 nights here including new years eve.. we used the hotel as our base as we visited the surrounding areas. truro is a ideal place to stay. we found the hotel to be clean, and tidy, and the staff friendly.. special mention has to go to bob( the night porter) a very warm and friendly guy... was always...

Thank andy7026
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear andy7026, Thank you for your review of Merchant House and for choosing us as your base for your 4 night stay. I'm so pleased to hear how clean and tidy you found the hotel and thank you for your comments about our friendly team. Thank you especially for mentioning Bob, so often a Night Porter goes unrecognised because they...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely 3 night stay in Merchant House,very friendly staff.stayed in a cosy double and had best nights sleep on very comfortable mattress. The breakfast was wonderful, and if you were around in the afternoon you could help yourself to complimentary tea/coffee and fabulous homemade cake.10 minute walk into Truro town.would definitely return to this Hotel.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review of Merchant House, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your 3 night stay with us and our super comfortable mattress in your Cosy Double room. Thank you for commenting on our delicious breakfast, we pride ourselves on a freshly cooked and ultra yummy start to the day. Chef Dave also makes outstanding homemade cake...

Ludlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 December 2016

We had stayed here a few times previously when it was the Carlton which we enjoyed but clearly needed some TLC. It has certainly had that and more. When we arrived we were informed by the very friendly receptionist that we had been given an upgrade to the Suite. A good start to our stay! The hotel is very cosy....

Thank Jez H
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear Jez, Thank you for your 5 star review of Merchant House, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We have undertaken extensive renovation since taking the hotel over so I'm really pleased that you can see the TLC we've poured into it. I'm so excited for you that you got to stay in our brand new Merchant...

Reviewed 19 December 2016

Ours was a last minute decision to visit Truro to see the Victorian Christmas Festival on Lemon Quay in the City Centre and our first ever sighting of the Christmas lights although we only live 25 miles away. I obtained the details of this hotel from the internet and rang to make the booking. By doing this directly the breakfast...

Thank mullionpeach
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear mullionpeach, Thank you for your 5 star review of Merchant House, what a wonderful review! I hope you enjoyed the Victorian Christmas Festival on Lemon Quay, it's so atmospheric and unique, we love it. We really do have the best location as you mention - far enough from the centre to offer a peaceful haven but close enough to...

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (52)
Room/Suite (16)
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Dining (4)
Bathroom (3)
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (16)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Dining (2)
Room/Suite (6)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
1.3 km away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
788 reviews
5.2 km away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
688 reviews
0.7 km away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Truro
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#5 of 6 in Truro
416 reviews
10.7 km away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 25 in Falmouth
1,022 reviews
12.4 km away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly positioned near the centre of Truro – Cornwall’s buzzing and beautiful cathedral city – The Merchant House is just a short stroll from the nearby train station and a host of fabulous bars, restaurants and shops.Merchant's friendly crew are on hand to introduce guests to our fantastic facilities. We have free Wi-Fi throughout,ample free parking,garage storage for bicycles,drying room for cyclists/walkers, laundrette(fee applies) and fully-equipped conference rooms. We are a fantastic central base for business or exploring all of Cornwall. Whether visiting for business or pleasure, we have a selection of refurbished and non refurbished rooms – some of which are dog-friendly – all of which are guaranteed to offer a great night’s stay thanks to the fluffy duvets, large flat screen televisions and tea and coffee facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Merchant House

Address: 49 Falmouth Road, Truro TR1 2HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Price Range: ₹ 5,112 - ₹ 8,034 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant House 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Merchant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Truro
Merchant House Truro, Cornwall
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Truro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Truro
#3 Business Hotel in Truro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Merchant House staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Merchant House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms at the back are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles roderickg337, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No lift, and the stairs are steep so try not to be put on the second floor if, like us, your legs are elderly!”
 of 5 bubbles Gemmadog, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Has everything you need including a shower for the dog!”
 of 5 bubbles CatherineS753, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you need plenty of space go for the suite.”
 of 5 bubbles 763jezh, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 20 was ideal for us.”
 of 5 bubbles mullionpeach, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5