We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Donnington Guesthouse

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Donnington Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Donnington Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 123: English reviews
Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2016

we stayed here as we were watching a concert in the hall for cornwall,on entering we were greeted by the landlady who showed us around and then to our room,we were surprised how spacious the room was with little touches like a fridge etc,they really have thought long and hard so guests have everything to hand,we slept really well as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank james n
Reviewed 9 May 2016

Very pleasantly surprised by the spacious room. Although our stay was for one night only we were made very welcome and had an excellent night's sleep. It was very comfortable and we had an excellent and hearty breakfast the next morning. Unfortunately, we did not have time to linger around Truro but it was very inviting and we would love...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joan S
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

This room was large clean and comfortable with all amenities provided. The welcome was friendly and business-like. There was no noise during the night. The guest house is a short walk up the hill from Truro train station. I will definitely come to stay here again if I am in Truro

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SarahBernice
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2016

I was in Truro on business and had a single room (no.13!!!), so other rooms may be different judging on the other reviews. However, the room was small, a bathroom had been fitted into a cupboard with a poor shower and not 100% clean. The bed had no mattress protector and a very old and thin cheap duvet. Pillows had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BanNike
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review which we really appreciate. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our room 13 is small and that is the reason why it is very reasonably priced. We will triple check our cleanliness routine as this is very important to us and we were...

Reviewed 15 March 2016

Wow what a barging! Extremely friendly and polite , was upgraded unexpectedly. Huge double room and a huge bathroom with a very large bath and a separate shower and all just for me . Chocolates and fluffy towels and a very comfortable bed . After a great nights sleep I went down to breakfast , so much choice and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caron U
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it.

Bideford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2016

The lady who answered the door was very nice Altho we felt she had other things to do When showed to our room the door had been painted that morning so newspaper still under and paint smells still lingering On first glance at room it was very spacious with a large bathroom There was a view of the cathedral from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. We were sorry there was an issue during your stay and thank you for mentioning that we called a plumber straight away. We had completed work that day which we had followed with a deep clean. We think some dust settled after. We do encourage any...

Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night in twin room nice and clean and easy arrival with ample parking. great breakfast in the morning cerial, toast and english cooked breakfast.nothing to complain about at this price great value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun W
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 February 2016

Stayed 2 nights to see sights around Cornwall. Below standard accommodation, No WI FI available needed to go to pub 700 mtrs away, old rooms with poor quality beds, bathroom in need of renovation. Not up to the standard of a lot of B and B in England. Excellent breakfast and friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CorneliusM35
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our guesthouse. We are delighted you mention our excellent breakfast and friendly staff. We have four main aims at the Donnington: 1) Friendly staff, our team are kind, caring and have years of experience. They are wonderful. 2) A full-cooked tasty breakfast included in our rate to set our...

New Mills, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2016

The welcome felt very rushed. Great room, bathroom and a very comfortable bed. I stayed between Christmas and New Year. Breakfast was very disappointing, just toast and cereal on offer. I'm not sure why this was but it wasn't mentioned until I was there. If I'd have known when I booked I would have gone elsewhere. Good location on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MattStanway
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review and stay with us over the Christmas period. We pride ourselves on being open over Christmas and there was a great atmosphere here over Christmas and during breakfast. Every year we find that most of our guests who stay with us during Christmas week are either visiting family or working at...

Cornwall
Reviewed 12 December 2015 via mobile

The welcome was very nice on arrival. Spending one night was enough. The room was tired and the shower smelt like a French drain (it did smell better after one shower). The room was clean but marks in the walls and dirt in the ornamental vase in the window was horrible. Breakfast was OK if you like long life milk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GilbertandBall

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Truro hotels
0.7 km away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#4 of 6 in Truro
362 reviews
1.7 km away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
789 reviews
5.2 km away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Truro
561 reviews
0.7 km away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#5 of 6 in Truro
416 reviews
1.8 km away
Cliftons
Cliftons
#4 of 38 in Truro
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Donnington Guesthouse

Address: 43 Treyew Road, Truro TR1 2BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Price Range: ₹ 4,411 - ₹ 6,453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Donnington Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Donnington Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Donnington Guesthouse Truro, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Donnington Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1 is up stairs, but the view is worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles crossfitc, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Front room are facing the road. Our room at the rear was very quiet,”
 of 5 bubbles graymole, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“At the back away from the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles global-traveller48, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in room 5”
 of 5 bubbles FenugreekLeaf, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“room 6 has ensuite and has many extras like a very comfortable sofa”
 of 5 bubbles 440jamesn, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5