We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Agulhas House

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umkomaas
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Agulhas House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 92: English reviews
Start your review of Agulhas House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great time at the guest house,fed us so well good staff and friendly management. Dive centre up to standard with high qualified dive masters . Room are beautiful. The town has many thinks to do and explore

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathan S
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

From the moment we arrived we felt at home. Brett welcomed us and got us settled. My kids had an absolute ball and we had time to relax. The facilities for the diving was brilliant, professional and so well arranged. To Michelle and Stewart our dive masters thank you for some of the best memories we have ever had. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Ile-de-France, France
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

i would like to thank you for this amazing experience we had in your place. The place, the welcoming and the food were great. Sylvie and me, we were on the boat 1, with Stuart : we are grateful for all that him and the boat driver have done. Merci à toute l'équipe, acceuil , repas et plongées de qualité....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank subsax
france
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Large and clean bedroom with all the necessary accommodation. Plenty of good food cooked by the chef. Staff and dive instructors really very nice and helpful. Spares available if necessary. Better bring your own equipment as diving gears may be aged. End of may/beginning of April, I would advice dry suit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cameltrophyFrance
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Thanks Brett! Thanks Michelle and Thanks G and Bart and.... Mike with your rebreather Absolutely perfect BEING PART OF A FAMILY... We have been able to see a lot of Things (even a frog fish !!!!) I'll be coming back I Forgot my watch in one of their car and it was delivered in Paris less than two week after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas G
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

I had a fantastic time with Agulhas House Dive Centre, the staff are really friendly, very knowledgeable and extremely professional! Highly recommended! They do a fantastic braai, (BBQ) would love to return and dive with them again!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James W
Reviewed 28 January 2017

Since my last visit to Agulhas House, everything is great there. Great breakfast, amazing food, but the best is the staff, great Brett, and Vigart, and Ryan, and of course the skipper Kelvin. The staff of the hotel were amazing too. The worst, the wifi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JM E
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Diving with Agulhas house is always great. I really appreciate the unlimited dive time and free nitrox. The dive leaders and staff are enthusiastic about diving and Aliwal Shoal. I recently dived with a different Centre in Umkomaas and had the impression that the dive leaders (across multiple dives and days) could not wait to terminate the dive irrespective of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SubmergeTech
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Very unhelpful, just eager to take your money!! We had to pay in advance our dives (?!) and we had to cancel because I get sick. The owner refused to refund (after insisting much we FINALY could get back the gear hire), we also asked at least to do the dive the day after wich supposed "to pay again" (!!!)....I've...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emilie F
BrettLouw, Owner at Agulhas House, responded to this review

Dear Emilie, We are very sorry you are unhappy. We explained to you on the 24th of December, when you missed your dives as you were going to be late (you were not sick as you wanted to dive later) which we did not even try and charge you for, that if you wanted to dive on CHRISTMAS day that...

Abu Dhabi
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Diving is always great, but having a dive centre like Agulhas House to help and prepare makes the dive even more wonderful. The centre is well equipped and the staff friendly and helpful. All in all it is is great venue with wonderful people,, we will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank voetsek123

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umkomaas
9.4 km away
Blue Marlin Hotel
Blue Marlin Hotel
#1 of 2 in Scottburgh
188 reviews
0.9 km away
Umkomaas Guest House
Umkomaas Guest House
#4 of 8 in Umkomaas
33 reviews
0.5 km away
Ocean Park Guest House
Ocean Park Guest House
#2 of 8 in Umkomaas
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Blue Ocean Dive Resort
Blue Ocean Dive Resort
#1 of 9 in Umkomaas
74 reviews
8.1 km away
The Dugong Guest House
The Dugong Guest House
#1 of 3 in Scottburgh
41 reviews
3.4 km away
Vertical Blue
Vertical Blue
#3 of 9 in Umkomaas
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set back from the road in tranquil grounds the renovated building offers 13 en-suite rooms and 2 en-suite family rooms, all finished to a high quality standard. All rooms have their own entrance from the main entrance hallway, 7 of which have private patio areas. All rooms have air-conditioning, fridges, TV (M-Net), and tea/coffee making. The property is security fenced, has an automated gate with secure parking and each room has an independent alarm system. FREE WIFI available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Agulhas House

Address: 30 Barrow Road, Umkomaas 4170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umkomaas
Number of rooms: 13
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Agulhas House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Todo el hotel es trasnquilo”
891jme, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“for ease of movement at 5am ask for a downstairs room”
paul391, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Al room are quiet, just you need to choose between upstairs or downstairs. Upstairs some have nice sea view.”
891jme, 5 Apr 2016 | Read review
“On my two visits i stayed in two different rooms and both were equally good and clean.”
sergea508, 18 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a pool facing room if they are available.”
389candicev, 15 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5