We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Kings Arms

Expedia.comUS$ 138*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 141*
US$ 138*
US$ 141*
US$ 141*
US$ 137*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Kings Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 128: English reviews
Start your review of The Kings Arms
 Click to rate
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have visited a few times for drinks and once for food. The inside is very comfortable and cosy during the winter. The garden is just lovely for a drink on a sunny day. The food is good too. The pork belly was delicious. Service was good and pleasant. I'm not sure how often the menu changes but it seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grumpybird9
Sheffield Uk
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This evening I enjoyed a really good meal at the Kings Arms . We had to wait for a few minutes before our drinks order and then the meal. The only criticism is I would like my food on a plate and not a piece of slate and my desert in a proper dish and not a cup. Maybe I'm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MargaretSheffieldUK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I had a great lunch here and sat outside in the garden area. Unfortunately the outdoor shack with wood fire pizza oven was not open but instead we enjoyed a sandwich and fish and chips. Quick efficient service and well cooked food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsZebby
KingsArmsPortesham, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for writing and glad you enjoyed your lunch with us. The Pizza Oven and Shack we only open permanently during the summer holidays (open 7 days a week). We will also open it on any warm weekends from the end of May. We have the 'official' opening on July 2nd, where there will also be entertainment and a...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had lunch here in the large and spacious garden. All of our food (6 people) was delicious - fish and chips, burger and chips, and fish cake and spinach. We all agreed that the food was fresh and tasty and perfectly cooked. The only thing we felt could have been a little better was the balance of portion sizes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Capriwanderer
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

For a pub charging top dollar for bed and breakfast before even showing you your room it naturally sets an expectation of a top class offering. Dinner in the restaurant was nice enough although surprised nowadays to find dogs allowed in the dining room. The ensuite room was new and modern but had a number of obvious teething troubles, e.g....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IanF1UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First class staff . Food . Atmosphere. Accommodated my food allergies with ease. Such a warm welcome. Fantastic. Rack of lamb cooked to perfection and spiced red cabbage delicious. Best sticky toffee pudding we've tasted in a while. Did I mention the warm Ciabbata and olives? Yummy!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timothy S
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We sat in the conservatry,a nice sunny area overlooking a green area like a park.The wairess was polite and gave a good service.We had a salmon and cheese roulade on toast,with a delicate salad for starter. We both ate a delicious roast lamb dinner,with roast veg swede,carrots caugettes,mange tout,broccoli,red cabbage,they forgot the parsnips,but when i mentioned it later,the waitress offered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017

First time visiting the Inn set in a pretty village. We were seated very quickly on arrival and given menus. Found that the prices quite high £11.95p. for a lasagne. We had to wait a fairly long time for our food which was Well presented.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darz42
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2017

This was my second choice to stay as my 1st choice was fully booked for limited places that accepted pets in the area. Liked having your own entrance to separate annex at side of pub. The room had huge comfy bed, nice cotton sheets, TV signal was hit & miss at times, bathroom was very small and not well ventilated,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skippysue_11
Orange, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

The Kings Arms is set in a park like setting and the restaurant looks out over this. Good menu with a nod to local produce. Their smoked haddock fish cake was beautiful and my dining companions raved about their lamb roast and fish. Friendly service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wirraburra

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portesham
2.6 km away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
252 reviews
2.4 km away
East Farm House B&B
East Farm House B&B
#3 of 4 in Abbotsbury
47 reviews
6.9 km away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in West Bexington
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
611 reviews
15.3 km away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
709 reviews
14.5 km away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: 2 Front Street, Portesham DT3 4ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Portesham
Price Range: ₹ 8,170 - ₹ 8,995 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms on same level in outbuilding”
  • Window (not very secure)
  • Curtains not secured to rail properly
  • Bathroom
  • Shower
  • TV
  • Comfy Bed with cotton bed linen
skippysue_11, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The family room will sleep 4 easily”
theparkertrips, 2 Feb 2016 | Read review
“ask for one without a smell!”
JamieTrip, 7 Jul 2015 | Read review
“There is a family room with a double and two single beds .... still roomy”
Captain_Jack_Barr, 21 Jun 2015 | Read review
“There are three rooms Facing the pretty garden”
O770HBlindas, 24 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 138* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 141
Hotels.comUS$ 137
TripAdvisorUS$ 137
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates