We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wynnstay Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 88: English reviews
Start your review of Wynnstay Arms Hotel
 Click to rate
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've lived in the village for many years and I am shocked at how bad the standards have recently become. I've visited many times recently and each time I came away extremely disappointed. Food came out cold and then was reheated to inedible proportions, service was poor and clearly inexperienced and the general atmosphere was awful. Not welcoming or friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Claire T T
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Terrible. Teas and coffees were luke warm,sandwiches were awful with dry crusty oddly shaped bread and turkey filling which smelt and tasted off, chips were served an hour after sandwiches.Chef wearing tracksuit bottoms and sweatshirt. Glasses were dirty. Threadbare carpets, function room needed a good hoover. cleaning products stored in the function.Truly awful experience. Would NOT recommend or visit again

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 950dez
RobinsonsPubs, Manager at Wynnstay Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, We are really sorry to hear of your experience with us. If you would like to discuss this further please contact the pub and we would be happy to hear your feedback, Many thanks, - The Wynnstay Arms

Spain, El Centenillo, Spain
Reviewed 29 January 2017

I visited this place almost a year ago, the food was amazing. On Saturday 21/1/2017 I visited again. We had a delicious meal and was so impressed we returned for Sunday Lunch. What a disappointment we had. The food was inedible !!!!!! The hot starters were cold in the middle, obviously frozen, and had to be sent back. The main...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joan R
RobinsonsPubs, Manager at Wynnstay Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Joan, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We have taken your comments on board and will use them to shape our future menu and to train our staff. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. If you wish to discuss this in further detail, please contact us at the pub...

Barnsley
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Bit confused,we stayed on Boxing Day and had a reduced room rate,the manager Steve informed us it was a special price to attract some custom. And it was effective until march,so we thought that when we came again on New Year's Eve it would be the same.no it was a different price on both nights.how can he justify that.There needs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise A
RobinsonsPubs, Manager at Wynnstay Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Denise, Apologies for the confusion here. This room rate is effective throughout the however the offer did not apply on New Year's Eve. We are sorry this wasn't explained correctly at the time and we take your comments on board. Our room rates are available through our booking agent on Laterooms for future reference, Apologies once again, The Wynnstay...

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Awful , no Christmas theme , wasn't offered Buck's Fizz , tables not even decorated or tidy , was charged for coffee , when it was allready paid for and wasn't even offered mince pies.. ringing up to complain and told to Send email ... AWFUL

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davidithell
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Food choice, price and quality of food very good, disappointed in the quality of Customer Service, had to chase waitresses for cutlery and condiments for the meal. Felt food rushed as no gap between starter and main, no sooner had the starters been eaten the main course was served.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sian R
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Spend every weekend here and the whole afternoon of new years eve. We went for meal and returned later to find a bouncer on the door refusing us entry only if we paid £5 each just to get entry into an already empty pub. I wouldn't mind if the ale that we'd already had was OK but we'd already returned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spadger6
Wrexham
Reviewed 24 December 2016

Having spent the last three years with our bowling club Presentation/Christmas Dinner and having written shining reviews about the hotel, food and service. I now find it necessary to review the establishment again as this year we have had no choice but to take our booking elsewhere. When I went to arrange the menus for our booking this year which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wendy j
chester, uk
Reviewed 23 December 2016

With my Girlfriend for her works party, nice place, the food was way above par, chips to die for. Did not stay over, some of her colleagues did, really good value for this time of year too. The function room was big, definetly something I would consider for parties, can hold 100 people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carl0sr0bert0
Barmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Where do I start? Scruffy, dated and unloved. We were initially booked in fo 2 nights but had to cancel 1st night at last minute! (THANKFULLY NOW!) Arrived after four to freezing room, gas heating wasnt working. Provided 2 electric heaters..(.which could have been plugged them in for us!!-) Which eventually did the job. When we we to order food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karantine

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruabon
5.7 km away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
511 reviews
12.9 km away
Holt Lodge Hotel
Holt Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holt
348 reviews
7.5 km away
Premier Inn Wrexham Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
763 reviews
9.6 km away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
729 reviews
7.2 km away
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
#3 of 10 in Wrexham
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Wynnstay Arms Hotel

Address: High Street, Ruabon LL14 6BL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Ruabon
Price Range: ₹ 4,500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Wynnstay Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wynnstay Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go elsewhere”
  • the door that doesn't fit
  • the tiles of the bathroom around the toilent (not very hygenic)
  • The elelctri cable removed and carpet cleaned (after complaining)
 of 5 bubbles MarkHinge, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Only there for eating and drinking. Ratings for dining room only”
 of 5 bubbles paulj2015, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in room 5”
 of 5 bubbles 132happytraveller, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I would not use this hotel until it has been completely refurbished”
 of 5 bubbles rajsaj, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“No worry about street noise. We ate but did not overnight at Wynnstay Arms”
 of 5 bubbles Wynndi, 19 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5