We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa

Residence InnUS$ 178*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest\/Mettawa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 114: English reviews
Start your review of Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa
 Click to rate
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's a typical Residence Inn, however, what great service! I had a shower with low water pressure....I mentioned it to the front desk. When I returned from a meeting, BAM, there was a new powerful shower head. Impressive The evening snacks/dinner is very nice. The breakfast is plentiful and adequate.

Thank Fretboard
General M, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa, responded to this review

Fretboard, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! It is always nice to read that our guests enjoyed their time with us and that the service exceeded expectations. The team and I take great pride in our hotel service and I will be sure to let them know of your praise. We'd love to welcome you back again!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Traveller hotel. Basic facilities and basic rooms. You get what you pay for in other words. The staff are nice and friendly and everything 'works' for the a busy business day. The noise from the freeway is really bad

Thank cpe12
Sandy_Stanley, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I apologize that the location of the highway was a factor during your stay. I do hope that you give us another opportunity so we may exceed your expectations and provide you a better than basic experience.

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I selected the Residence Inn in Mettawa because it appeared to be in a quiet place where my wife and I could rest after hours of driving. You can hear outside noise in the rooms. There were kids playing basketball until late on Saturday night and early Sunday morning. Also, on Sunday morning the cleaning lady knocks on the door...

Thank travelerrndthewrld
Sandy_Stanley, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. Our goal is to always provide our guests with a stay that they are 100% satisfied with and we sincerely regret those times we fail to do so. Our hotel hosts many guests and there are a multitude of reasons that bring them in. Our goal is to be that home away from home...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 4 March 2017

I stayed here for one night while on business travel. Positive: 1. Clean, spacious, and comfy room 2. Well-equipped kitchenette 3. Quiet (at least my room) 4. Friendly staff 5. Ample parking Negative: 1. The hotel did not provide moisturizing lotion in the room. They provided a shampoo, conditoner, and a makeup removal towelette; but as per their new rule,...

Thank JT_0000
General M, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do try to provide all the amenities of home. If they are not already in your suite when you arrive, we do keep a variety of items at the front desk with lotion being one of them. Please never hesitate to ask or even have it as a request...

Mettawa, Illinois
Reviewed 17 December 2016

My fiancé and I are in the Lake Forest area for an extended period of time due to work. We stayed in the Residence Inn Marriott for 2 weeks and planned to move to another extended stay that was referred to us for an even cheaper price that this hotel. Our initial stay in the Residence Inn was fantastic -...

Thank 664anonymous
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 30 November 2016

I stayed at this Residence Inn in the past and had a great experience . Clean and quite comparable to other quality Residence Inns/Marriotts. I had a problem (no fault of the hotel) for my last visit and I couldn't have been treated better by the desk staff and the General Manager, Sandy Stanley. They all went above and beyond...

Thank Chris W
Sandy_Stanley, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa, responded to this review

This feedback makes my heart sing! Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We understand that not everything we do is flawless, but our goal is to make sure we that no matter what happens, we provide the best possible experience. Thank you again and we look forward to your...

Reviewed 30 November 2016

If you are going to stay here, PLEASE ask for a room away from the highway. Part of the hotel is literally next to the highway and it sounds like the windows are open it is so loud. I am staying here now and it's so noisy I cannot sleep. I asked for a new room but they are apparently...

Thank Paul M
Sandy_Stanley, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa, responded to this review

I apologize that your stay was negatively impacted by the location of the highway. Although it is convenient for travel, we understand that not everyone is accustomed to the sound. We do provide earplugs as well as white noise machines upon request. I am hoping hat we will have another opportunity to serve you and provide a room in a...

Lake Forest, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 1 November 2016

As Marriott Rewards Platinum for Life members we prefer to stay at Marriott properties. I so wish that this place was better, but alas we can't stand this place. We've stayed twice in recent months and don't plan to return. The rooms are tired and don't look or smell the cleanest; the beds are not terribly comfortable. And the smell...

Thank Michael B
Sandy_Stanley, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay and for your Marriott Loyalty. I am disappointed that you were dissatisfied with the accommodations. The hotel recently underwent a renovation in both guest rooms and public areas so I apologize that you feel it is tired. Our goal is to provide the comforts of home and our in suite kitchens...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 23 October 2016

...stay at the Hilton Garden Inn next door. The lobby area at the HGI is much bigger, more inviting, and has a restaurant and bar. The lobby at RI is fine, but no place you'd want to hang out in. Beware the front desk girls: They are not informed about the area or the hotel. The rooms upstairs are average,...

Thank bagpackedletsgo
Sandy_Stanley, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory. We take pride in everything that we do and have unfortunately fallen short of yours, and our own expectations during your visit. We are already working diligently to correct the issues that you have mentioned. I hope that you will give...

Palm Desert, California
Reviewed 6 September 2016

This hotel was probably one of my favorite Residence Inns, but i do have to mention i was a little disappointing with the breakfast because the scramble eggs didn't look good like at other Other than that my stay was GREAT! I really loved the pool table by the lobby and staff was great! I was really pleased with front...

Thank Yedith L
Sandy_Stanley, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and sharing you experience! The staff and I are pleased to hear that you were happy with our service! However, I am sorry that the eggs did not look appetizing. Thank you for sharing this information as that is the only way we can improve. My kitchen crew and I will be looking into this...

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (13)
Dining (3)
Bathroom (2)
Room/Suite (6)
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (60)
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Dining (6)
Room/Suite (25)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Other (14)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mettawa
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa
5.2 km away
The Deer Path Inn
The Deer Path Inn
#2 of 2 in Lake Forest
56 reviews
3.5 km away
Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lincolnshire
5.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bannockburn-Deerfield
7.1 km away
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
#1 of 2 in Lake Bluff
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
NEWLY-RENOVATED! Just off I-94, the Residence Inn Lake Forest/Mettawa hotel features new, apartment-style suites with living rooms with pullout sofas, free WiFi and fully-equipped kitchens. Don't feel like cooking? Enjoy a free hot breakfast buffet each morning and join us in the evenings for our complimentary Residence Inn Mix(R) where we're serving up yummy apps and drinks (Mon-Wed). Keep up your routine on the road at our 24-hour gym, indoor pool and outdoor, multi-use Sport Court. Relax with friends in our onsite Billiards room. Travelers appreciate the quick 15-minute drive to Great Lakes Naval Base, Six Flags Great America and Gurnee Mills Outlets. With easy access to downtown Chicago and convenient, free perks, you'll thrive on long stays at Residence Inn Lake Forest/Mettawa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa

Address: 26325 N Riverwoods Blvd, Mettawa, IL 60045-3430
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Mettawa
Price Range: ₹ 8,396 - ₹ 19,505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest / Mettawa Hotel Lake Forest
Lake Forest Residence Inn
Residence Inn Lake Forest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'm not sure there are any good rooms”
travelerrndthewrld, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“We've had 2 rooms here - both suites - both were wonderful!”
664anonymous, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms near highway”
M521AGpaulm, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid noisy freeway side. Front desk staff not smart enough to know what rooms face the freeway, so look out the window before you unpack.”
bagpackedletsgo, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Very crowded parking shared with Hilton Garden Inn.”
kennethrb2016, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Residence Inn
US$ 178* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$ 248
Booking.comUS$ 178
Orbitz.comUS$ 179
View all 12 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates