We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Moorings Hotel

Save
Share
Traveller (237)
Room & Suite (177)
Dining (101)
Overview
Fort William, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY Scotland See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
4 Star accommodation
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (788)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveller rating
347
236
97
39
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
347
236
97
39
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsneptune's staircasecaledonian canalben nevissuperior roomlovely hotelnew wingbar mealstwo night staylovely roomthe jacobite steam trainbiscuitsfort williamspent two nightsno liftdining roomstayed for one nightfull scottish breakfast
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 738 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

The place is old and in need of renovation. Some of the rooms are new but small. The staff is friendly. Some of the rooms smell (we were in group with 4 rooms). The breakfast is horrible, the worst i have ever tried. But, there...More

Thank Gim29
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were disappointed as we arrived as we thought the hotel was in Fort William but it’s about 3 miles out. We had the only disabled room which was the only room on the ground floor as the hotel has no lift. The room is...More

Thank Jack F
Response from MooringsTeam, Manager at The Moorings HotelResponded 3 days ago

Dear Guest, I am disappointed that you were not fully happy with your stay here at the Moorings Hotel. We do try make it very clear on all literature that we are located 3 miles from the town centre in Banavie, Fort William. Our ground...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely room overlooking canal - view good even though it was very cloudy and raining. Everything in room was very clean and in good working order. Reception service was very good. Food in Bistro was served efficiently and was enjoyed by all...More

Thank Peter M
Response from MooringsTeam, Manager at The Moorings HotelResponded 3 days ago

Dear Peter M, Thank you very much for your lovely comments, we are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here with us. We hope to welcome you back to the Moorings Hotel in the not too distant future. Kind Regards The Moorings...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

very nice hotel our room was spacious and clean and would have been excellent had we had a view of the canal and not the rear of the building.note to self,always ask! the food in both the restaurant and breakfast was very nice.this is an...More

Thank candpet
Response from Moorings2018, Manager at The Moorings HotelResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your comments regarding the hotel and its location! Im very sorry you missed out on the beautiful views from your room. Please feel free to contact our reception team direct next time you choose to visit and we will ensure you get...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here on our last night of our NC500 trip. We had a fantastic room with balcony looking out onto the canal, where we could watch the boats moving through the locks. We were also over looked by Ben Nevis which was stunning in...More

Thank Karen D
Response from Moorings2018, Manager at The Moorings HotelResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your comments Karen we are glad you enjoyed staying in one of our executive rooms. We do have a reasonably good sized menu and we do try to put on a range of special dishes each evening so that we can offer...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Wheelchair Access
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 136 - US$ 271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 136 - US$ 271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (237)
Room & Suite (177)
Dining (101)
Pool & Beach (4)
Amenities (13)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Elizabeth J
29 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from QueenIzzy999 | Reviewed this property |
Ask the hotel
0
Votes
Nicola G
22 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from katmitch2017 | Reviewed this property |
Hi we did this, in fact it was my husband, so it must be out there somewhere!
0
Votes
Aliki J
1 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Helen D | Reviewed this property |
Hi we stayed in room 24 and ha a view of the mountains and the start of Neptunes staircase, we have no complaints about noise, the room was spotless, very spacious and certainly had plenty of hot water. We loved all the... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"always ask for a canal view"
Read review
"Ask for a quiet room"
Read review
"Best views Room 301 & 302"
Read review
"Ask for balcony room if possible (room 32)"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing