We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Omakau Commercial Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Omakau
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Omakau Commercial Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Omakau Commercial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 112: English reviews
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed 19 September 2016

After our first day cycling on the rail trail, we hit very strong head winds which made the afternoon very tiring. It was an unbelievable feeling to sit down in massive comfy leather chairs in front of the warm fire and enjoy a wine and beer. We then booked for dinner and the meal was restaurant quality, certainly better than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gordeb1
OmakauCommercial, Owner at Omakau Commercial Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to our Hotel. Yes, the chairs are a "magnet" after a long day on the bike. We are lucky with great Chefs who pride themselves on presentation and flavour, so I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations...

Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 July 2016

We wanted to stay at places where the staff cared about you and chose this as our first one and won. Stacey couldn't have been more helpful, dinner, bed and breakfast were spot on. It was the middle of winter and we were the only guests staying, but were given the full treatment. Loved the décor with some amazing pieces...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SandrafromNelson
OmakauCommercial, Owner at Omakau Commercial Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the ambience we have created with our refurbishments. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels, and look forward to seeing you again if you are in our area again. And thank...

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Something for all budgets here - from a 2brm cabin to inner budget rooms. All clearly set out on their website. Some rooms have ensuites and some a shared bathroom. The restaurant provided amazing meals and great selection. Our room looked out on the old stables where there is undercover storage for bikes as this hotel is really close to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
OmakauCommercial, Owner at Omakau Commercial Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and also our Restaurant Menu choices. We have been slowly ticking away refurbishing and giving this lovely old building some TLC. The "To Do" List is slowly getting smaller! We look forward to seeing...

Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

The Omakau Hotel has been a fantastic supporter of the Up&Active schools tour - a massive thanks for providing such a warm, friendly and welcoming stay. Take a step back in time in this beautiful old pub with quaint, nicely renovated rooms upstairs. The restaurant and bar downstairs is more like a large family home, with locals and visitors mixing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CircusChallenge
OmakauCommercial, Owner at Omakau Commercial Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us, and we are proud to help support our community events and schools. I am delighted that you enjoyed our "Step Back In History" at our Hotel, and we look forward to having you stay with us...

Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 May 2016

This busy hotel provides evening meals - but in the busy season you need to book, the restaurant is always crowded. Extensive menu and wine list and the meals will not disappoint. We usually visit once a year while cycling the rail trail and after ten years the food and service has remained consistently high. That's why we keep coming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank afmck
OmakauCommercial, Owner at Omakau Commercial Hotel, responded to this review

Hello there! Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoy your dining experience(s) with us, and to have confirmation of repeat business like yours, makes our efforts all the more worthwhile. Our Chefs are just planning our new winter menu, so there will be some great flavours coming...

Christchurch
Reviewed 6 May 2016

stay most years on Friday night before brass monkey, top staff amazing food clean tidy warm and friendly don't stay any where else this is the best.Massive log fire in bar is awesome ,under cover parking in winter 4 road bikes .Fantastic big breakfast in morning love this place and the staff cheers guys lots woody

 Report
Helpful?
Thank woodgate5of5
OmakauCommercial, Owner at Omakau Commercial Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Woody! Firstly, thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor - much appreciated. We also appreciate that you can see the efforts that we go to here in our wee country hotel, and it makes our efforts all the more worthwhile. Look forward to seeing you for the next Brass Monkey. Until...

Putaruru, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 April 2016

A fantastic old hotel that the owners are working hard & passionately to bring back to its former glory. The most amazing dinner from a chef who obviously puts extra effort into his presentation! Loved out time here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThewhitesORT2016
OmakauCommercial, Owner at Omakau Commercial Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there! Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our efforts that we are making. We are very fortunate with our Chefs (one is my hubby - I'm on an eternal diet!) who do take pride in their presentation and flavour of...

Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Disappointing seafood meal. At least when the waitress saw how much was left on plate offered to not charge us. All around us other diners were ordering lamb shanks - which looked delicious & were well received. Friendly country service at reasonable prices. Yes, we would return again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nat S
OmakauCommercial, Owner at Omakau Commercial Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy our Seafood Chowder. We will look at changing the description as it is a creamy chowder, however perhaps that wasn't explained clearly enough on our menu. We do get people that absolutely rave about it and stop especially for...

Richmond, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Staff were lovely, food and service were great even though they were very busy. In this day and age though, wi-fi should be free. Although they kept to themselves, the couple of local drunks at the bar didn't make for a good look.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RaiserScharpe
OmakauCommercial, Owner at Omakau Commercial Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our meals and service. Regarding the Wifi, we are under contract with The Internet Access company who have provided the Internet Kiosk and Wifi facilities for which they charge us for. I'm sure you...

UK
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Stayed one night while doing the Otago rail trail. Really loved the atmosphere and rooms - it was old-fashioned but in a good way! There are shared bathrooms but it never seemed to be a problem using them and they were always very clean. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming and the cooked breakfast was fantastic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hfo1
OmakauCommercial, Owner at Omakau Commercial Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and also enjoyed our ambience of the Hotel - it was Omakau's original Homestead, so we have tried to refurbish with that in mind. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey along...

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omakau
31.5 km away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
251 reviews
1.6 km away
Blacks Hotel
Blacks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ophir
75 reviews
1.7 km away
Pitches Store
Pitches Store
#1 of 2 in Ophir
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 km away
Olivers Central Otago
31.0 km away
Cromwell Top 10 Holiday Park
24.0 km away
Almond Court Motel
Almond Court Motel
#1 of 3 in Alexandra
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Omakau's first homestead then accommodation house for weary travellers. It is now an ideal stop for the new type of traveller that passes through Omakau –Rail Trailers, Curling and Fishing Enthusiasts, and visitors to the Central Otago area who can explore the area using the hotel as their base.The Hotel is available for any of your dining requirements, whether it is Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner or that special function - 364 days a year. Our Chefs pride themselves on their flavour and presentation – we invite you to look at our Dining page for some mouth watering temptations. We have a wonderful selection of Central Otago wines and Ales available from our bar to quench your thirst, and/or to compliment your meal. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Omakau Commercial Hotel

Address: 1 Harvey Street, Omakau, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Omakau
Price Range: ₹ 3,210 - ₹ 7,795 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Omakau Commercial Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No WIFI in the rooms but there is an internet café voucher option. Some rooms have ensuites others have shared bathroom option”
 of 5 bubbles 557lyndar, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a room with a window - you will have to share a bathroom, but at least it will have fresh air.”
 of 5 bubbles JudeH689, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you book ahead for dinner as you wouldn't want to miss out.”
 of 5 bubbles _dcathro, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Queen room with ensuite was perfect”
 of 5 bubbles SandrafromNelson, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The really cheap rooms are interior with no windows.”
 of 5 bubbles lindahM5896RA, 17 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5