We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (2)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good33%
  • Average9%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“the pub”(24 reviews)
“causey pike”(15 reviews)
“open fire”(8 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Swinside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
104
63
18
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
104
63
18
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubcausey pikeopen firefamily roomevening mealexcellent foodboth morningsstayed for nightscomfortable roomfull english breakfastexcellent staybaconrange of beersblack puddingnice walksunday lunchlocal beer
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
51 - 55 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

We bought the voucher from a deal website and were not disappointed at all and will definitely return. Lovely big bedrooms with great views. Food was amazing, massive portions! Good drinks choice too. Breakfast included was plentiful. Short taxi ride to Keswick. Definitely one to...More

1  Thank Laura W
Response from Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside InnResponded 12 July 2016

Thanks for visiting after the floods last winter - we really appreciated you coming, and it's great to hear that you had a good time. Make sure you're on our mail list to hear about our 2016 December celebration package.

Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Will be back loved every Monet thank you to the owners and staff so friendly nothing is a problem always ready to help feel like you have known them for ever wish them all the best and we will see you again. Hope you are...More

Thank Caroline F
Response from Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside InnResponded 8 July 2016

Thanks Caroline. Hope we see you again.

Reviewed 2 July 2016

Stayed for 1 night during C2C cycle ride. First the positives: -Spectacular location and views. Quiet location a few miles outside Keswick with breathtaking views from the hotel. Really outstanding. - We had a very good meal in the hotel . Delicious fish. Good service...More

Thank HJxxx2016
Response from Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside InnResponded 4 July 2016

Thank you for your feedback. I'm trying to work out which room you were in - it may be the one which we are actually upgrading as I type. I shall look into this further. Lucinda on behalf of Ben and Sharon

Reviewed 31 May 2016

A bank holiday weekend away with the hubby and what a treat! The room borrowdale was spacious and clean with some gorgeous views The breakfast lasted us all day and was very tasty Our evening meals were of equally good quality and the local ales...More

Thank kevin w
Response from Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside InnResponded 1 June 2016

Haha, yes we're used to seeing people a little weary. Thank you very much for your 5 star review. hope you return. Lucinda on behalf of Ben and Sharon

Reviewed 22 May 2016

We have been using the Swinside Inn for many years and the quality of service and food has been inconsistent to say the least. however things have changed and we have just had a short break when we have been treated to tasty, well priced...More

Thank Chris C
Response from Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside InnResponded 1 June 2016

Hi Chris Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that all our hard work is worth it

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Newlands Valley
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 102 - US$ 178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 102 - US$ 178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
waldo34
14 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from janelledarwen | Reviewed this property |
They are very obliging so would think they would be able to help you. Give them a ring.
0
Votes
gerryjan
8 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Benandsharon H | Property representative |
Sorry Gerry Usually the answer is yes, but we're closed until 17 March 2017 due to a refurb. Hope you'll try us another time. Lucinda on behalf of Ben and Sharon
0
Votes
Melanie J
22 March 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Lucinda S |
All the rooms are dog friendly
0
Votes
Room Tips
"One with view towards hills."
Read review
"Dale head for families"
Read review
"We stayed in the Barrow, a few steps up and down but a lovely room away from the bar if you want an early..."
Read review
"Catbells has stunning view of both Causey Pike and Catbells. Well worth the extra."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing