We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

VR Takapuna

Booking.comUS$ 95*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
VR Takapuna
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

594 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 554: English reviews
Start your review of VR Takapuna
 Click to rate
Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Clean, comfortable and enjoyable. Quiet location and big rooms with loads of space and nice features. Staff was amazing. We felt safe and relaxed. The one thing would be a full length mirror, my wife said. We would stay here again, thanks.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank usandthem2016
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is well situated and with the right room a fabulous harbour view. The hotel rooms are both “tired” and a little "drab" in appearance. A recent reviewer suggested a 3 star standard. Maybe a little harsh, however 4 star may be a little generous. Staff are efficient and friendly and we found them attentive to our requests regarding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TonynBarb1
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review

Dear TonynBarb1, Thank you for sharing your invaluable feedback on your recent stay at VR Takapuna. We are thrilled that you were impressed with delivery of service from our helpful and friendly ambassadors. However, we were disappointed to read about your experience and we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused. You can see by our other reviews that we take...

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

maximum 3 star standard, the hotel run by 4-5 people, the person sitting at the reception prepares you next morning breakfast (by the way more not in very high pice included and more than poor, everything you would order more cost extra as everything at this hotel) and later you see him changing flagstones..;cleaning made by one man, we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank romanabreznicka
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review

Dear Romanabreznicka, Naturally, I am very disappointed to note your review on TripAdvisor and apologize that your stay on this occasion fell short of your expectation. I note your comment regarding value for money which is disappointing, we aim to provide a level of service in keeping with price paid at the hotel and I am sorry that we necessarily...

Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Yes, I have reviewed Takapuna Oaks before, five years ago and we have been a number of times since. It is very convenient, close to the Bayswater Ferry, if you do not want to stay downtown Auckland - and who would - it is a complete mess. There are not many choices of places to stay on the North Shore....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne N
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review

Dear Adrienne N, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback again, your feedback is greatly appreciated. We were so pleased you enjoyed the beautiful and convenient location and had a wonderful time at Sunset Lounge with delicious food and complimentary wine. We are a 5 Star Hotel in North Shore with a long history of...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 April 2017

I recuperated here after day surgery at Takapuna Hospital. It offered a clean, relaxing and quiet environment to do so. Its proximity to Bayswater ferry terminal enabled us to stroll down to the ferry and travel across to the city for a break. The staff were friendly and obliging and the in-house restaurant meals were delicious. Unfortunately service was rather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david19461023
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review

Dear david19461023, Thank you for choosing to stay VR Takapuna and give us your 5 stars on TripAdvisor. It certainly sounds as though you had a very comfortable stay with us again. It was our pleasure to be of service to you and we are delighted you enjoyed the relaxing and quiet environment of the hotel and took the advantage...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

We found this hotel last minute after a very unpleasant experience at another hotel. To our surprise, this hotel much exceeded our expectation. We booked the 4 person family room, and it had two large bedrooms plus a large living room, kitchen, balcony, two bathrooms, plus a laundry room(with washing machine). The room was in good condition. The balcony has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vacation_day_n_nite
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review

Dear Vacation_day_n_nite, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at VR Takapuna. We were so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly in our specious & comfortable room. A positive guest experience is something our team takes great pride in and we value your feedback. We look forward to welcoming...

Reviewed 24 March 2017

This accommodation is off the normal beaten track but has great views of Auckland. We booked this last minute as we were late in the day. The booking was actually made in the lobby of the resort to get the on line price as the reception was closed and the duty restaurant manager had come to assist. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review

Dear Richard B, Thank you very much for your wonderful review on your stay with us at VR Takpuna. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I am thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay and the delivery of service from our dedicated team here at VR Takapuna. Thank you again for taking your time to review...

Melbourne
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

It is in a lovely garden setting right across the harbour opposite Auckland City. We were upgraded to a side room with balcony overlooking the water. The rooms were very generous and clean with washing machine so great for dirty clothes. A full kitchen and lounge area was wonderful to spread out in. The restaurant and bar on the roof...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KimB346
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review

Dear KimB346, Thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent stay at VR Takapuna. We were delighted to note that, you have enjoyed your stay and room facilities that we have available to our guests. We were also pleased to know that, you took an advantage of our extra ordinary view from our restaurant. The hotel...

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel in Bayswater for 2 nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the accommodation was excellent with views of the Harbour, Sky Tower and CBD in Auckland. The accommodation was so spacious including Double Bedroom, living room with open plan kitchen area, with washer/dryer and dishwasher, large modern bathroom with walk in shower and heated bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KEVWALKER1047
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review

Dear KEVWALKER1047, Thank you for your amazing review. We are thrilled and appreciate your kind word about beautiful location, room facilities and our staff. It is very pleasing to read that, you enjoyed a great start to each morning with breakfast in ‘Garden Bistro” Restaurant. We value comments such as this, because we are truly able to see the effect...

San Francisco
Reviewed 5 March 2017

This hotel is in a suburban area outside of Auckland, which means long drives or ferries to and from the city and expensive cab rides. But the location is the best thing about it. The service was poor throughout our stay, with staff forgetting to bring missing items to the room. They lost their liquor license so you cannot have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank risrach
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review

Dear Risrach, Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience with VR Takapuna. We are disappointed to read about your stay with us. The inconsistency in services you experienced is certainly not the high standard we always aim for. We do apologies for the inconvenienced you have faced. Due to unforeseen circumstances, the progress for liquor licence renewal...

160 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (153)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayswater
2.9 km away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
4.6 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,132 reviews
3.3 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,199 reviews
3.6 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,233 reviews
3.5 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience 5 Star luxury by the sea in the newest Takapuna Hotel accommodation site. Situated oceanside between Takapuna and Bayswater, this new, fully serviced, boutique apartment hotel will exceed all your expectations. Auckland Takapuna Oaks offers fully self-contained 1 and 2-bedroom luxury apartments, just 10 minutes by complimentary ferry from Auckland City Center / VIADUCT HARBOUR. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the property as well as continental breakfast per person. Lounge access with stunning views across Auckland Harbour is its true unique factor. All guests have complimentary gym usage and a Shuttle Service - to and from the Bayswater Ferry Terminal. Our property is truly something special in Auckland.Auckland Takapuna Oaks offers unique, spacious conference facilities. Offering flexibility and a range of accommodation and catering options to make your next event stand out from the rest. ... more   less 

Additional Information about VR Takapuna

Address: 1 Beresford Street, Bayswater 0622, New Zealand (Formerly Auckland Takapuna Oaks)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Bayswater
Price Range: ₹ 5,624 - ₹ 15,772 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Takapuna 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your VR Takapuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Takapuna Oaks Hotel Bayswater
VR Takapuna Auckland/Bayswater
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from VR Takapuna staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from VR Takapuna staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not close to the night life, but great setting by the harbour and ferries.”
usandthem2016, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“take a second floor room!”
TonynBarb1, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“choose another hotel”
romanabreznicka, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Floors 2 & 3 have better city views”
L2738WMrichardb, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You have a 50% chance to view the harbour when you book an "harbour views" room.”
Damin72, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 95* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$ 135
Hotels.comUS$ 115
Agoda.comUS$ 95
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates