We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Amberley Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Amberley Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

259 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 258: English reviews
Start your review of The Amberley Inn
 Click to rate
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I had a lovely night here at Amberley inn. The accommodation is beautiful and very much takes you back to a different time. I felt the bar area and the breakfast area were particularly lovely, with the open fire and period windows. I was treated to an upgrade which was very well received after such a long day of travel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HollyTravelMoore
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is the second time I've stayed at the Amberley and it was just as enjoyable - if not even better - than last time. It is comfortable, has a lovely ambience and the staff are really friendly. I had the confit de canard and it was amazing - so tender and tasty. My room was was really nice, comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ali B
TheAmberleyInn, Owner at The Amberley Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for leaving such a great reveiw about your stay with us. It is always brilliant for us when a guest chooses to return and stay at The Amberley and enjoys and 'gets' the location, the quirkyness of the old building, the great food and the hospitality offered. Your kind words are very much appreciated by us all and...

Leatherhead, Surrey, UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night at The Amberley inn, We received a friendly,if somewhat reserved welcome. We had a very pleasant room with a good sized bathroom with space to store all those bits and pieces. There was copious hot water. We had excellent coffee both in the bar that afternoon and again at breakfast the next morning. The breakfast itself...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeatherheadTraveller
TheAmberleyInn, Owner at The Amberley Inn, responded to this review

Delighted you found most areas of your stay enjoyable. I have discussed our tomato supply with our Chef and we are goiing to take this up with our supplier obviously, as you say a simple thing to remedy- thanks for letting us know. Redecoration and maintenance is a constant ongoing in a seventeenth century building as I am sure you...

norfolk
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A great place to stop over. Room was very clean. Room also included tea, coffee, bottled water, hot chocolate,cafetiere, biscuits and mints. Bathroom was very spacious with all the required toiletries. Dressing gowns were provided. Room had superb free WiFi and multi channel TV. Bed was a very big and very comfy 4 poster. Breakfast had a very good selection,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markamandaNorfolk
TheAmberleyInn, Owner at The Amberley Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you so much for leaving such a fantastic review. It is always great to know and our staff here work so hard to ensure that we always exceed expectations as much as possible and we clearly have. Now you've found us we look forward to seeing you when you are next in the area to enjoy the induviduality that the...

Surrey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely accommodation, really friendly hosts and one of the best breakfasts I can remember. The view from my room was gorgeous, with the advantage a frosty morning. Lots of lovely walks nearby, and very close to lots of very nice villages in The Cotswolds. I'll be back to this little gem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HelzbelzSurrey
TheAmberleyInn, Owner at The Amberley Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review and we are genuinely pleased that everything about your stay was a 'jewel'. We do hope to see you again and hope and trust The Amberley will continue to sparkle! Very best wishes, The Amberley Inn

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is just great, a brilliant find. I first stayed a couple of years ago when I went to a wedding close by and was so impressed that I have been back several times since; consequently, I have now stayed in several of the rooms and they are always immaculate with lovely bedlinen and comfortable beds. I read a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bathnimlet
TheAmberleyInn, Owner at The Amberley Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you for your lovely review. We always try hard to make it an enjoyable stay for all our guests and are delighted when guests enjoy their stay so much they decide to return frequently. As you may well know when rebooking please do so direct and if it is possible to put you in a specific room or upgrade you...

kings lynn
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely setting atop a hill with lovely views as most adverts show unfortunately we had a room in the top of a cottage in the back garden overlooking a school,this was up two flights of narrow stairs I'm just glad I only had overnight bags not suitcase, That said room on entry was simple but nice rather small TVs and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rose C
TheAmberleyInn, Owner at The Amberley Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to leave a reveiw about your stay and feelings and are delighted you felt the Amberley Inn is a lovely choice to use as base when exploring the beautiful Cotswolds. We offer two types of room, many premier rooms are at the front of the Inn with fantastic veiws across teh Golden Valley. The Classic...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Now looking at previous reviews they are good and bad, but for us it was really bad. My parents booked two rooms for Christmas night some time ago as a special Christmas present for me. We checked in at 6pm to find the front door closed and had to go around the back to get any attention. The receptionist asked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Benjaminbartlett
TheAmberleyInn, Owner at The Amberley Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr Bartlett Thank-you for taking the time to leave your review and we are disappointed that you did not feel your stay warrented a more positive response like other reveiwers who stayed over the Christmas period and generally. On booking and subsequently afew days prior to arrival your parents (as all guests were) were phoned and advised that historically...

Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

We went to the Amberley Inn in Michinhampton today near Stroud as a family Of celiacs looking for a nice family pub!! We weren't disappointed & were very impressed with the amount of GF dishes on offer, and their knowledge of CC - using only GF flour in all the dishes prepared in their kitchen. Nice country pub and really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melgordon
TheAmberleyInn, Owner at The Amberley Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very glowing reveiw. We are delighted you enjoyed our Gluten free food. We have developed a great reputation for our food which benefits from being freshly prepared from scratch here so we can guarentee exactly what goes into each dish and the provinance of the ingredients. We look forward to seeing you again soon....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Deciding a bit late that we wanted to go away at new year we felt lucky to find a room available at the Amberley Inn. On the phone Trevor was courteous and extremely professional and it gave us a good feeling about staying there. The inn itself is in a fantastic location on the side of the village and in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pechster71
TheAmberleyInn, Owner at The Amberley Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review and I am pleased that you are hoping to return to visit us again in the future. Apologies for the bathroom window , a new one has been purchased and we are waiting on the window fititer to have a suitable day- I can assure you it is being dealt with. I do wish you had...

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amberley
1.8 km away
Bear of Rodborough Hotel
6.6 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
602 reviews
1.0 km away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
234 reviews
4.6 km away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
38.1 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A fine example of a traditional Country Inn situated in the heart of the Cotswolds. Only ten minutes' drive from J13 of M5, The Amberley Inn sits proudly overlooking the famous Woodchester Valley in an area of outstanding natural beauty.Recently refurbished and under new management, this Cotswolds hotel makes the ideal location for Gatcombe Park, Badminton, Cheltenham, Tetbury, Nailsworth, Cirencester, Stroud and for those who wish to explore the Cotswolds. Located a just a seven iron from Minchinhampton Old Course, the Inn offers Golfers complimentary rates at all three Minchinhampton courses. Our restaurant serves local seasonal food to an excellent standard, with an extensive wine list to compliment the dining experience. Wireless broadband available in all of the rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Amberley Inn

Address: Culver Hill, Amberley, Stroud GL5 5AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Amberley
Price Range: ₹ 5,266 - ₹ 10,282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Amberley Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Amberley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amberley Hotel Amberley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Amberley Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top two room in the cottage are up two narrow steep flights of stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles lizwinder3, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There is some traffic noise but did not find it a problem”
 of 5 bubbles annevelyn, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not room over kitchen - noisy extractor fan.”
 of 5 bubbles jojomojo340, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 12 is big and has lovely views”
 of 5 bubbles Purrina, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Wifi a bit intermittent, and phone signal weak, but nice excuse to leave the technology turned off!”
 of 5 bubbles Hilary3107, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5