We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Bankstown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges Bankstown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Bankstown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 257: English reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2015 via mobile

I went with the family for a couple of days, the room was very old, dirty walls, dirty ceiling, torn curtain. All taps and toilet leaking making noise at night. Noisy fan in the toilet which you can not turn off. Cockroches crawling at night. And never get breakfast in the hotel, they told me breakfast from 6.30 am till...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Omar K
Paultomas, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review

Omar, needless to say I’m disappointed to read your comments regarding the lack of cleanliness and service you received during breakfast. While we don’t always get it right this is far from the standards we strive to achieve. I would like to discuss further, if you could contact the hotel at your convenience. Many thanks Paul

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 31 December 2014 via mobile

Hotel itself isn't to bad, the rooms are a bit tired and old and need a refresh. The bathroom was a joke, likely built in 1970 and never touched. Toilet didn't flush properly and the shower was old and rusted. They have an ok pool but nothing special. The view into the Maccas next door isn't overly appealing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Freakie
Paultomas, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review

The building is not a new build but not considered old, early 80’s, and you could be mistaken in thinking late 90’s from the outside as it has been given lots of love over the years. We are always working towards improving our product and have done many works over the past 12 months in the accommodation rooms as well...

Bendigo, Australia
Reviewed 10 December 2014

Good out of city location at out of city prices. Heaps of outdoor parking and easy to get to with McDonalds and two service stations adjacent with a small shopping centre walking distance over the road. On the highway but little noise at front and quiet at the back. Free newspapers, nice bar and coffee machine ($4 coffee worth it),...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter2651
Paultomas, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review

Thanks Peter for taking the time to review your recent visit. I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly and efficient. The Rise brekkie is great value with a good range of healthy options as well as all your standard favourites. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip Paul

Dubbo
Reviewed 7 December 2014

This was the only accommodation we could get in the area for a funeral. Unfortunately the room was dirty, expensive and not worth the value they charged. $25 charge for buffet breakfast per person when all we wanted was toast and coffee. Lucky MacDonald's was nearby. Bathroom had used band-aid stuck to shower rail, and there was garbage under the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank christopherbN26LP
Paultomas, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Christopher. Cleanliness is of the upmost importance to us so it’s disappointing to read this standard was not meet during your stay, this has been addressed with our Executive Housekeeper. We always encourage guests to prebook breakfast upon check in at the discounted price of $19 offering great value for the rise breakfast. While the FREE...

Reviewed 5 December 2014

Apart from not being provided with cutlery for breakfast on the first morning, my stay was pleasant. Easy access to the shopping centre across the road. The hotel would be better if it had a gym on-site.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AussieCarole
Paultomas, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review

I’m pleased you had a pleasant stay with us and found the local shopping centre accessible. Obviously we provide cutlery for breakfast on the tables and on the actual buffet but it would seem that your table had yet to be reset form the previous guest. Thanks for your review and we hope to see you soon Cheers

Australia
Reviewed 21 November 2014

We arrived very late (close to 3 am) having had our flight been diverted to Canberra and having to drive through the night (thanks Virgin, but that’s another story…). Anyway we had called ahead en-route to ensure someone would be available to check us in and the guy said no problem he would check us in now and have everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank troelshartman
Paultomas, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review

The Hotel rooms are all 100% non smoking, unfortunately from time to time a guest may choose to ignore this policy and while we do fine the guest the harm is already done. Our Rydges Dream beds are fantastic so I’m pleased you found them comfortable. Like most Hotels we would benefit from a refurb and while this is not...

Reviewed 11 November 2014

Booked on-line, read well, checked in on-line, took $10 "upgrade" ... then it all went downhill! Room was OLD, black grot around tiles in bathroom, spoon stuck to coffee residue on the bottom coffee mug, phone didn't work, couldn't send email on wi fi ( received ok) .... and this was the upgrade. Very disappointed. Bordering on false / misleading...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PBR2705
Paultomas, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review

We are not a NEW Rydges having been here for a number of years and certainly do not advertise as such, so I am unsure where you read that headline. However as I commented below we will continue to improve the product as we continue our maintenance/refresh programme. The FREE Wi-Fi across all of the Rydges Hotels is a great...

Reviewed 11 November 2014 via mobile

Tried this place twice and both times the room types were not up to my standards. Paying 160 a night is a joke, should be worth 120. Housekeepers need to vacuum, clean sheets. Staff try to deliver good service but it shows that they know how old the rooms are

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank RNoy
Paultomas, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review

We are committed to continue to improve our offerings and standards across all aspects of the property. Whist there is no plan for a full refurb we continue to refresh the rooms by upgrading many of the fixtures and appliances and we have stepped up our painting programme with 95% of all accommodation rooms now completed. We hope to welcome...

Reviewed 5 November 2014

Where do I start , skid marks in toilet upon arrival , spa bath wouldn't turn off ,had to get reception to the room at 2am to have the spa looked at & when she was shown the toilet she just said "oh sorry", didn't even offer to have it cleaned .. dirty drink coasters under glasses , fridge wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Debbie S
Paultomas, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review

Debbie, its disappointing to read you found a number of issues during your stay particularly your comments regarding the cleanliness. This does not reflect our standard and has been discussed with our Ex Housekeeper to address. The pool is adjacent to the main function room and it would seem was utilised by these guests, however we do not close it...

Nisswa, Minnesota
Reviewed 31 October 2014

This hotel was nice & clean. Both Christine & Alan were very helpful when we needed anything like directions to different places to see. The free parking and WIFI was also very nice. Other stores and shopping mall close by too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
Paultomas, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review

Chris, thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I’m pleased you found the staff helpful and they were able to assist with your inquiries. We hope to see you back soon Paul

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bass Hill
3.9 km away
Travelodge Hotel Bankstown Sydney
0.3 km away
Gardenia Motor Inn
Gardenia Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Bass Hill
63 reviews
5.1 km away
Holiday Inn Warwick Farm
Holiday Inn Warwick Farm
#1 of 1 in Warwick Farm
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Ibis Styles Sydney Lansvale
9.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Burwood
8.8 km away
Rydges Parramatta
Rydges Parramatta
#3 of 4 in Rosehill
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Rydges Bankstown

Address: 874 Hume Hwy | NSW, Bass Hill, Bankstown, New South Wales 2197, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Bankstown > Bass Hill
Price Range: ₹ 6,485 - ₹ 10,980 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Bankstown 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Bankstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Bankstown Hotel Bankstown
Rydges Bankstown Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Bankstown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Bankstown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Before booking with infants, make sure that new cots have been purchased after March 2017”
982michellej, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“pool side quieter than hume highway i have been told.”
M3037XEscottm, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms have soundproofed glass so no road noise. Windows open for fresh air”
474suev, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Back rooms best. 4th floor good”
margtierney, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“location, retro, '90s”
C9317WAchrish, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5