We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
3/12/2017 4/12/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Lake Ohau Lodge

    2295 Lake Ohau Road | P O Box 51, 7944, New Zealand
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    3/12/2017 4/12/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake OhauSee available hotels in Lake Ohau
    Traveller (118)
    Room & Suite (27)
    Pool & Beach (10)
    Lakeside Apartments
    518 reviews
    #1 of 20 hotels in Wanaka
    74.7 km
     
    Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
    1,530 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Mt. Cook Village
    59.3 km
     
    The Chalet Boutique Motel
    328 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Lake Tekapo
    59.1 km
     
    The Moorings
    448 reviews
    #2 of 20 hotels in Wanaka
    74.7 km
     
    Overview
    • Excellent61%
    • Very good30%
    • Average7%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “mt cook” (15 reviews)
    “contiki tour” (7 reviews)
    “cycle trip” (4 reviews)
    Internet
    Free Parking
    Hot Tub
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    3.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a Review
    Turn Your Opinions into Points!
    Turn your opinions into JPMiles
    Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
    *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    50
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    Reviews (297)
    There are newer reviews for Lake Ohau Lodge
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    11 - 15 of 282 reviews

    Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

    We stayed for one night only which was our last night in NZ as a part of group. The location is stunning with great views . The sky is lovely at night with very little light pollution you could see the Milky Way clearly The...More

    Thank HelioN7
    Response from LouiseNeilson, Owner at Lake Ohau LodgeResponded 2 May 2017

    Gosh! Well that's me so thank you! It's nice to say goodbye to the groups who stay as it's hard to get around everyone. Aren't we fortunate to be able to see that sky? It makes me think that I must take time to wrap...More

    Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

    We decided to add a night to our long weekend and rang on the day we arrived....grateful to find they had a room. We had never been before. It was amazing value for money. We arrived on dusk and got great service from the moment...More

    Thank AntarcticChick
    Response from LouiseNeilson, Owner at Lake Ohau LodgeResponded 29 April 2017

    Thank you so much for your really lovely review. You have responded to some of the issues raised by the previous reviewer which is greatly appreciated and lovely to have some balance in perspective. I'm so sorry about the smell that you had in the...More

    Reviewed 21 April 2017

    We didn't do our homework properly. When we thought of a lodge, we though more of a lodge like you would get in Europe, so it came as an awful shock to us to find we were in a room with no fridge or jug...More

    Thank vannsandra
    Response from LouiseNeilson, Owner at Lake Ohau LodgeResponded 29 April 2017

    I'm sorry that you were disappointed but thank you for your review as it is important to understand where we fail to meet our guest's expectations. You would have been staying in our outside Huxley wing which is for people who are more budget conscious....More

    Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

    We booked a one night dinner bed and breakfast package this weekend whilst cycling the alps to ocean. We were not expecting great things! We booked the Huxley rooms which we were told had an en-suite but very basic. We thought they were awesome. Actually...More

    Thank nomadicnevs
    Response from LouiseNeilson, Owner at Lake Ohau LodgeResponded 20 April 2017

    Oh! Thank you so much! How kind! Yes, I think being away from it all can be quite good in the Huxley wing, as long as it's not pouring with rain. When my family come to stay they often quite like staying as "a gang"...More

    Reviewed 2 April 2017

    Spent our last night in New Zealand here and what a climax to the tour. Away from it all in comfortable rooms, good food and stunning views. Service from the staff was excellent and would have loved to have spent more time here to soak...More

    Thank Peter S
    Response from LouiseNeilson, Owner at Lake Ohau LodgeResponded 4 April 2017

    Oh thank you! I imagine when you've come from cities all over the world that it's great to be away from it all and experience something very kiwi. We hope that maybe you can come and stay again.

    Lakeside Apartments
    518 reviews
    #1 of 20 hotels in Wanaka
    74.7 km
     
    Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
    1,530 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Mt. Cook Village
    59.3 km
     
    The Chalet Boutique Motel
    328 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Lake Tekapo
    59.1 km
     
    The Moorings
    448 reviews
    #2 of 20 hotels in Wanaka
    74.7 km
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Shuttle Bus Service
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hot Tub
    • Tennis Court
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$ 68 - US$ 136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms ,
    • Suites
    • Number of rooms
    • 62
    • Location
    • New Zealand >
    • South Island >
    • Canterbury Region >
    • Lake Ohau
    • Also Known As
    • Lake Ohau Hotel Twizel
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (118)
    Room & Suite (27)
    Pool & Beach (10)
    Dining (5)
    Hotel & Grounds (84)
    Bathroom (2)
    Family and Play Areas (2)
    Nearby
    Nearby Restaurants
    Shawty's Cafe
    543 reviews
    22.87 km away
    The Wrinkly Ram
    271 reviews
    31.26 km away
    Poppies Cafe
    680 reviews
    23.25 km away
    Boots and Jandals
    34 reviews
    31.29 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Lord of the Rings Twizel Tour
    153 reviews
    18.28 km away
    Hot Tubs Omarama
    283 reviews
    31.05 km away
    Mt. Cook Alpine Salmon Shop
    159 reviews
    26.35 km away
    Clay Cliff
    183 reviews
    29.37 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Muckleman
    19 February 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from LouiseNeilson | Property representative |
    Thank you for your enquiry. Yes we do have WiFi available for a small fee just around the public areas. We charge $2 for 10 MB, $4 for 20MB etc. We look forward to you staying.
    1
    Vote
    Nostalgia2015
    24 January 2016|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from JSNMitchell | Reviewed this property |
    Apologies for the delay, yes they are avaialble in the rooms as part of the room charge
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Temple wing has the best views"
    Read review
    "Amazing views of the lake and mountains. Closest spot to the access road to the pistes"
    Read review
    "Luxury price, for basic rooms"
    Read review
    "Located on Lake Ohau, views to die for."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing