We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Syracuse-Fairgrounds

Save
Share
6946 Winchell Rd, Warners, Van Buren, NY 13164-9741
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$177
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Expedia.com
$177
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
HIExpress.com
$163
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity$177
Hotels.com$177
getaroom.com$184
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (31)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (9)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Syracuse-Fairgrounds
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Our hotel is located in Warners, New York just 1 Mile west of Syracuse. Our hotel is conveniently located only 1.5 Miles from I-90 (NYS Thruway) exit 39 and only 1 Mile from I-690. This makes commuting in and out of the city of Syracuse extremely convenient. We are located just 13 short miles from Syracuse Hancock International Airport (SYR) and 10 miles from Syracuse's Amtrak and Bus Station. Our hotel is a popular destination for guests visiting the New York State Fairgrounds or the brand new Expo Center located on the fairgrounds. Being only 1.5 miles away from everything the NYS Fairgrounds has to offer from Equestrian Events, Antique Shows, Dog Shows and Multiple RV and Boat Shows throughout the year makes us a great place to stay when attending any of the many events. Looking to do some shopping? We are a short 4 mile drive from New York's largest mall; Destiny USA. With over 250 places to shop, dine and have fun; everyone will find something for themselves.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Vending machine
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
351Reviews8Q+A36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 145
  • 134
  • 43
  • 17
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Canadahoneybee wrote a review Jun 2022
Canada13 contributions6 helpful votes
Great location - close to restaurants. Walking distance to Mora’s - 2 thumbs up. Super comfy bed with great black out curtains for a good nights sleep. . Delicious breakfast included in our stay. Very friendly service.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
tanner12oz wrote a review Jun 2022
pittsburgh126 contributions29 helpful votes
spent the weekend here for blues festival at fairgrounds..super easy drive maybe 4 mins. staff was friendly ..room clean..everything worked as should. breakfast was better then most. only knock would be nothing really in area...not marked well. would stay again though for sure
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Joe B wrote a review Jun 2022
Detroit, Michigan100 contributions32 helpful votes
Don’t let the way to get there from the highway scare you. It’s a little tricky but worth it. Nice clean quiet hotel. Big rooms. A really nice place to stay and unwind after a long day of driving. Looking forward to the breakfast in the morning. Nice setup with many options.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: GPS was helpful in finding it even though it is close to the highway.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Shally S wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
We booked this as a stop over on our drive to New Jersey. Although the hotel was a bit difficult to find (for me) I was pleasantly surprised. It was clean and well maintained, the rooms were well sized. We had two queens and sofa bed. The sofa bed being sort of broken at the end is the only reason I gave it one less star. My 6 year old was on it and although she was fine, it was so floppy as the support below has clearly been damaged. Either way she slept fine, because she was small. I wouldnt say it was safe/comfortable for an adult. We checked in around 11pm and the front desk was quick and efficient. The beds were comfortable, and had a good shower , shampoo, body wash and conditioner were provided. Along with makeup wipes, and lotion. Nothing to complain about as we were there for one night. The hot breakfast was AMAZING. I didnt expect for the price of $168 CDN I would get that sort of breakfast. Scrambled eggs, pancakes, pre-made sausage sandwiches(super hot), fresh bacon kept coming in, bananas, oranges. Fresh Juice machine. Cereal, milk, coffee, tea greek yogurt. Honestly it was amazing! Thankful we booked this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Js wrote a review Mar 2022
6 contributions1 helpful vote
I rarely write a review but I read reviews before I book and saw nothing about the noise and horrible time we had here mentioned on this site. We stayed in room 212 and 214. It’s on the second floor above the lobby and eating area. Constant loud conversations from what we thought were guests until around 11pm my husband went downstairs to ask them if they could quite down only to see it was the hotel staff. They moved to a room but then again about hour later two staff members arguing loud! Again we asked them to take the conversations else where. But a few more times throughout the night woken by loud male voice that had to be staff at 2:30 and 4:30. We got no sleep. Choose another hotel or ask to be on top floor away from noisy lobby. Others who were going to event with us stayed in second floor rooms and heard the loud noise as well. Some called and complained too. I would never stay here again and my husband is at the fair for its duration with staff needing rooms, definitely don’t use this holiday inn if you need to be rested the next day.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Treisha G wrote a review Sep 2021
Roosevelt, New York204 contributions95 helpful votes
Overall a good stay. There were multiple communication issues with the front desk. All issues were resolved, but provided a less than exceptional 4 night stay. I had 2 separate reservations because IHG was unable to update 1 extra night with my discounted rate. I was told it was included in reservation details that I was keeping the same room for 4 nights. Upon check-in I was given key for 1 night, not 4 nights. I had to return to front desk to update key a few times. Since front desk thought I was 1 night stay, didn't advise we need to call each day we wanted fresh towels ot want room refreshed. This review was during COVID. There was no signage at front desk or room indicating this. We found out by not having room refreshed. Lastly, we asked for complimentary late checkout, 1p vs 12p the night before at front desk. Housekeeping visited our room 2x before we left. Breakfast had signature cinnamon roll, pancakes and 1 additional hot item (breakfast sandwich or biscuit). Additionally, pastries and yogurt. The indoor pool was opened for use. So was the gym and business center. Property is undergoing renovation. This hotel had an on-demand shuttle to NYS Fair, which was helpful for our trip. Helpful staff to give kudos are for Monica, Megan and 2 shuttle drivers (sorry I didn't remember names). All issues were resolved.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Consider hotel if going to Fair. Staff friendly, but have patience for issues
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Megan wrote a review Feb 2021
3 contributions
I searched for hotels within a 60 mile radius of Utica New York looking for the best place to take my kids to swim for an overnight during February break. Most places (I called over 15) were boasting a strict policy with only one room at a time allowed in the pool area (usually 1-2 hours max per stay) however, we we’re traveling with another family and wanted to be with to them. They were flexible friendly and organized. We were able to pick timeslots to swim with that family as well for 3 time slots upon arrival (2 arrival day, one departure). Heated pool and hot tub. The pool seems huge with only a few kids in it. It is about 10 minutes away from Destiny. It did appear off the beaten path Considering there are loads of hotels right near the mall but there are tons restaurants around. I saw many people getting takeout delivered as well. Staff was very friendly and I saw them constantly wiping things down during breakfast. Grab and go breakfast is more than adequate! All of my kids favorite things conveniently ready to go. And a hot single serving pancake maker. A COVID winter highlight for my family. Props to manager Ed and his staff.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mackenzie wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
Horrible service slammed a door in our faces tried to give 3 minors a room by their self’s because they wouldn’t move the people stomping and making inappropriate sounds do not come here go somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse-Fairgrounds
Responded 1 Nov 2020
Hello Mackenzie, Our main goal is to give you a good night's rest and make you wake up with full energy in the morning. I'm sorry to see we didn't achieve this goal on this occasion because of the noise. Please accept my apologies for that. I will be sending you a PM to talk a bit more about this. Thank you so much for choosing us for your stay. We would love to show you all the changes and improvements we'll make based on your feedback if you give us a chance. Alejandro G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
m.e.e.h wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
This is the worst experience I’ve ever had! I would not recommend this hotel! There workers are rude asf, people above us were stomping the whole time we stayed here, and when we complained to them about it they did nothing! Slammed doors in our faces and etc... Worst experience I would not recommend this hotel!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse-Fairgrounds
Responded 1 Nov 2020
Hello m.e.e.h, I understand how you feel about the noise and our staff members, and I have contacted our management to investigate what happened. I hope you can accept an apology for that. We always want you to have a comfortable experience and a good night's rest. I have sent you a PM to talk about this a bit more. I want to thank you for choosing us for your stay. We'd love to host you again in the future and show you that we can do better. Alejandro G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Mr Smith wrote a review Aug 2020
Willingboro, New Jersey2 contributions
The staff are very rude & very dis honest the smoke alarm went off in our room & not once did any one from the front desk ask if anything is ok they don’t care for the customers safety & they are not clean MY wife & I will NEVER GO BACK EVER!!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse-Fairgrounds
Responded 7 Sep 2020
Hi Investors1219, I am sorry for the struggles you encountered with the level of customer service delivered by our hotel staff, cleanliness standards, and uneasiness caused by the fire alarm. We strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to all of our guests. We’d love to share your comments with the relevant department for review, and I trust that improvement in guest satisfaction will be kept in mind. I also sent you a private message to ask for more information about your stay. I look forward to your response. Best, Zel N. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$141 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express syracuse / fairgrounds hotel syracuse, wingate hotel syracuse
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkFinger LakesVan BurenWarners
NUMBER OF ROOMS
87
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Syracuse-Fairgrounds
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Syracuse-Fairgrounds?
Nearby attractions include Onondaga Lake Park (6.2 km), New York State Fairgrounds (5.2 km), and Camillus Erie Canal Park (6.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse-Fairgrounds?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse-Fairgrounds?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse-Fairgrounds?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse-Fairgrounds?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Syracuse-Fairgrounds?
Conveniently located restaurants include Eva's European Sweets, Santangelo's Restaurant, and Heid's of Liverpool & Sweet Treats.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse-Fairgrounds?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Holiday Inn Express Syracuse-Fairgrounds have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Holiday Inn Express Syracuse-Fairgrounds offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Holiday Inn Express Syracuse-Fairgrounds have airport transportation?
Yes, Holiday Inn Express Syracuse-Fairgrounds offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse-Fairgrounds?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse-Fairgrounds?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.