We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Houstoun House

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Houstoun House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,426 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Houstoun House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,409: English reviews
Banchory
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Lovely hotel in its own grounds. We were upgraded to a lovely room with a four poster bed and sitting area! We didn't eat at the hotel but what food we did see looked delicious and plenty of it! The staff made us welcome.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank catherineo159
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review

Dear Catherine. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted you were made very welcome from my team and a great birthday celebrations for your friend. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here over night to attend friends party near by. Wonderfully helpful staff peaceful setting and an amazingly comfortable bed. A real gem but key cards can be a problem we had 4 rooms and keys kept locking us out Quite inconvenient at times as ment repeated trips to reception for rebooting. Breakfast was nice everything u could require full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline T
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review

Dear Pauline, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable visit and that you made the most of our facilities. Rest assured I will share with my team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards

Grenob
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Very spacious double room, staff very pleasant and polite. A 10 minute drive from Edinburgh airport. The bed was enormous and very comfortable, best nights sleep I've had in a hotel for a long time! Unfortunately didn't have time to try the spa or the restaurant.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank V7680KJjonathanw
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Great to read you had a very pleasant stay and had great service from my hard working team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon when you can try the spa and restaurant. Kind regards

Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewed 11 September 2016

No hot water available for a shower on day of arrival and day of departure. They claimed the hotel was very busy so that was why no hot water was available! Totally unacceptable. TV in room not working. Ordered room service but when we asked for the cost to be added to our bill we were initially told no as...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rooroocat
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry you had a disappointing visit and that we fell short of our usual high standards on this occasion. We since found a boiler issue and engineer sorted the same day. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience this caused you. I hope this will not deter...

Scunthorpe
Reviewed 10 September 2016

The hotel is in a wonderful setting, lovely friendly staff, unfortunately I didn't realise that many of the rooms are in a separate building accessed across a cobbled yard and down stone steps! The building has no lift so if you have mobility issues,as I do, let the hotel know before you arrive and they will do their best to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernie G
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review

Dear Bernie, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted you had enjoyable visit but wish you told us about your mobility issues as we would have been more than happy to find a solution and provide another room for you. Rest assured I will share with my team. We look forward to welcoming you...

Gorebridge
Reviewed 9 September 2016

On arrival the staff were available and friendly. We were upgraded without cost. We had a chat with a few of the staff and it all felt so natural. No fake smiles (if you know what I mean). Not fussy usually but will in future look to stay here before looking elsewhere. To give this review balance I am gonna...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie W
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review

Dear Jamie, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable visit and thank for such a positive review. I have a great team that seek to please. They are fantastic and rest assured I will share with my them. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip and was really happy with my stay. My room (38) was spacious, clean and everything was there. Loved the extra touch of the nespresso machine in the room and that the hotel uses the cloud wifi meaning free wifi unlike other hotels who charge an arm and a leg for 24 hours access. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Jyoti
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review

Dear Michael, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable visit and that you made the most of our facilities. Rest assured I will share with my team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards

Banff
Reviewed 6 September 2016

The hotel is located in wonderful surroundings.I was very impressed with the attitude and helpfulness of the staff,a joy on your behalf to have such pleasant staff representing the hotel.I will certainly stay at the hotel again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paitch_885578
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable visit and found the team most helpful and friendly. They are a great a great asset to the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards

Edinburgh
Reviewed 5 September 2016

This was a treat/mini hen for my best friend and the whole experience was superb. From the friendly and approachable welcome we received on arrival, to the lovely surprise of an upgrade, to the facilities available throughout our stay, the relaxing treatments we had, to the delicious food in The Vaulted Bar - the steak is to die for, and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesleyk4
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review

Dear Lesley, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted you had such a great hen night and wish you all a great day for the wedding. Thank you for the great staff comment and I will share with Emma, Sarah, Mie and all. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We were delighted to receive an upgrade as we arrived at the hotel, reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Visited the spa and had massage each and a facial and a foot treatment. spa was 5* best massage I've had to be honest, couples room for massage would have been nice if we could have gone together. The pool...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olivia J
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review

Dear Olivia, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted you had an enjoyable visit and for the good comment about Malcolm in the restaurant. However please accept my sincere apologies about other individuals. This is not what we aspire our service to be and rest assured I will share with my team. We look...

265 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (235)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uphall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,802 reviews
Champany Inn
#1 of 2 in Linlithgow
171 reviews
Old Town
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
#58 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in a secluded spot near Livingston just west of Edinburgh, and set in 22 acres of beautiful woodlands, Macdonald Houstoun House is the perfect country hotel and retreat. Once visited by Mary Queen of Scots, the historic building has the classic grace of a 16th century Tower House. Inside, 70 rooms blend luxury and character, with a unique feature bedroom in the Tower For food-lovers, the Jeremy Wares at Houstoun House restaurant has two AA Rosettes for excellent local ingredients, expertly cooked in season. In the cellar, the cosy Vaulted Bar is the perfect spot for a drink or afternoon tea. Our Leisure Club and Spa have ample scope for working off the calories and a host of rejuvenating treatments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Houstoun House

Address: West Lothian, Uphall EH52 6JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Uphall
Price Range: ₹ 6,203 - ₹ 18,856 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Houstoun House 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Houstoun House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Houstoun House Hotel Livingston
Macdonald Houstoun Hotel
Macdonald Houstoun Livingston
Houston House Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Houstoun House staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Kinghorn
7 months ago
Derby, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Houstoun House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book direct with the hotel”
cazash, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Corner rooms, advise of needs as no lift and most rooms outside”
Birthdaygirl006, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
DCH52, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our rooms weren't accessible via a lift.”
SriBank, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor room great”
80HeatherM, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5