We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Houstoun House

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Houstoun House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,426 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Houstoun House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,409: English reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Visited this hotel for part of my recent birthday celebrations. Lovely hotel, we were booked into the Honeymoon Suite which was separate from the main hotel and was lovely and quiet. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel - the food was good though couldn't understand why there was a supplement to pay for choosing the fish options at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anneyule
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review

Dear Anne, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted you had such a great celebration Birthday enjoyable visit and that you made the most of our facilities. Rest assured I will share with my team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards

Inverurie
Reviewed 16 September 2016

A surprise Birthday treat for my wife! It was a two day luxury spa break. We were given the Honeymoon suite! It was stunning, the room had links to Mary Queen of Scots!! We had dinner bed and breakfast, two spa treatments each and a spa lunch which was served in a lovely black and red lacquered box, The cuisine...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank James Y
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review

Dear James, Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for the 5* review. Top mark for treating your wife to a spa break and I am delighted you had such an enjoyable visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

This hotel was booked for us as part of the package deal from Abbey tours, However when we got there, nobody at the desk knew anything about some information package we were supposed to receive as our first destination on this driving tour of Scotland. The front staff did try and find out what our communication issues were. On the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gwbc
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us visit. I am pleased my team was of great help to you. Hope you enjoyed the remaining of your visit to Scotland Kind regards

Bangkok
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights for a friend's wedding which went perfectly. The hotel made excellent arrangements, food was good and it was a beautiful event, but...... I deliberately booked an accessibility room as I had recently had back surgery. I had an accident in the bath, slipping as soon as I stepped on the non-slip mat as there were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank YvonneBangkok
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased you had a most enjoyable wedding at the hotel however I am sorry to read of the difficulties you had with your room accessibility. We try to be very transparent on our room description and it does mention it is provided with bath. I am sorry this...

Darlington
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

I  stayed here for 1 night in a family room which was huge. There was a massive bed which was very comfortable and a sofa bed that was made into the kid's bed. I had to ask for the bed to be made up. This was done very quickly and with apologies from the housekeeping staff as they hadn't been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LLA07
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable visit and that you made the most of our facilities. Rest assured I will share with my team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards

Reviewed 13 September 2016

Fabulous place to stay. Such elegance. Even with a wedding party going on right across from our room, we were not in any way disturbed by noise. Try to get up early for breakfast or be prepared to wait for a vacant table. Nevertheless, it was well worth the wait. Food was excellent and staff coped magnificently. Although I do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LindaJLewis
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review

Dear Linda, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable visit and thank you for the 5* review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards

Shrewsbury
Reviewed 13 September 2016

The hotel is situated in lovely grounds, the first impression of this hotel is very pleasing. The executive room we were staying in was of a good size. Good breakfast with good service. Unfortunately there was a wedding in progress on the Saturday we stayed with a loud disco until 01.00 hrs. Other than that a good stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X1364YKdianeh
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am please you had an enjoyable visit and loved our breakfast and bedroom. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards

Falkirk
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Felt like down on our anniversary visit. Normally a brilliant hotel! Felt like a pest at reception as we had things missing from our room. Dinner was an interesting experience. It's not normally like this.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill D
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry we came short of your previous visit and please accept my sincere apologies. I hope this will not deter you from visiting the hotel again when will ensure to bring back the good memories you cherish of Houstoun House. Kind regards

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Our stay at the Macdonald Houstoun House was lovely. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the restaurant food was delish - we cannot wait till our wedding November 2017! Would definitely recommend to others.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophs009
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review

Dear Sophie, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Congratulations on your forthcoming wedding and we are proud to be your chosen venue. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable visit and that you found the hotel spotless and the service friendly and efficient. Rest assured I will share with my team. We look forward to...

Broxburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016

The staff are excellent at the hotel and special thanks to Herve the General Manager who helped organise our 1st wedding anniversary stay. Sarah and the rest of the hotel staff were great as well and nothing was too much trouble, from the moment we checked in until we left. The beds are extremely comfy and are huge so a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon E
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review

Simon, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable visit for your 1st anniversary. It was a great pleasure to welcome you back and I am pleased you thoroughly enjoyed the spa and service from the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards

265 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (235)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uphall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,802 reviews
Champany Inn
#1 of 2 in Linlithgow
171 reviews
Old Town
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
#59 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in a secluded spot near Livingston just west of Edinburgh, and set in 22 acres of beautiful woodlands, Macdonald Houstoun House is the perfect country hotel and retreat. Once visited by Mary Queen of Scots, the historic building has the classic grace of a 16th century Tower House. Inside, 70 rooms blend luxury and character, with a unique feature bedroom in the Tower For food-lovers, the Jeremy Wares at Houstoun House restaurant has two AA Rosettes for excellent local ingredients, expertly cooked in season. In the cellar, the cosy Vaulted Bar is the perfect spot for a drink or afternoon tea. Our Leisure Club and Spa have ample scope for working off the calories and a host of rejuvenating treatments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Houstoun House

Address: West Lothian, Uphall EH52 6JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Uphall
Price Range: ₹ 6,107 - ₹ 18,981 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Houstoun House 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Macdonald Houstoun House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Houstoun House Hotel Livingston
Macdonald Houstoun Hotel
Macdonald Houstoun Livingston
Houston House Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Houstoun House staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Kinghorn
7 months ago
Derby, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Houstoun House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book direct with the hotel”
cazash, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Corner rooms, advise of needs as no lift and most rooms outside”
Birthdaygirl006, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
DCH52, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our rooms weren't accessible via a lift.”
SriBank, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor room great”
80HeatherM, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5