We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Avenue des Bains, 22, Yverdon-les-Bains 1400 Switzerland
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$184
View deal
Vio.com
$156
View deal
Expedia.com$183
Travelocity
Priceline
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (286)
Room & Suite (78)
Dining (30)

About

#3 of 6 hotels in Yverdon-les-Bains
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Luxurious and calm, the Grand Hotel & Thermal Center will allow you a break for full recharge. Directly linked to Thermal Center, this peaceful place offers quality services. Ideal for alone travellers, couples or family as well as for your business trip to Yverdon-les-Bains. We will treat you to make your stay magic and unforgettable.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Hammam
Massage
Steam room
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
507Reviews5Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 117
  • 178
  • 114
  • 65
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sn9wolfy wrote a review Oct 2022
Basel, Switzerland331 contributions110 helpful votes
Chose this for it’s the only grand spa hotel in Yverdon. Very big spacious place but can see it has passed its past grandiose. Still, nice place to come for a short stay in this small little town. Spa is good with many sauna rooms, heated pools and other facilities. However I think it’s also opened to public so it can get super crowded. Hotel room wise really needs upgrading as it’s very dated and tired looking. I booked for king bed but was not given. Toilet amenities pretty cheap looking. Not quite sound proofed. Still, okay pricing for its standard. Restaurant not bad too. Service staffs are very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Free parking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lou1543 wrote a review Aug 2022
The Hague, The Netherlands194 contributions96 helpful votes
First try to reserve on there web side as it wil automatically give you the acces to swimming pool sauna hammam ect . If you decide to reserve with an other platform you’ll need to pay once 13 sFr extra. Free parking is a plus The staff is super friendly/ professional and energetic. The rooms are , like other reviewers says a bit outdated in style. BUT! Very very very clean. So for me is like behing im a vintage hotel (?) 😉 Bed are comfortable. In the couloirs you will see some nice pieces of furniture. The petit déjeuner is very complete. Love the room and the presentation of all the food very organised. Minus… the outside garden ect A good cleaning with karcher would do wonders. And a good gardener to trim everything neatly. Extra pool for hotel guests is nice to have. Loved this experience
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Zurich2732 wrote a review Apr 2022
Zurich, Switzerland59 contributions9 helpful votes
Really enjoyed the stay here. The reception staff, Johnny was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Rooms are comfortable and well equipped. Nice powerful shower and comfy beds. Complimentary access to the thermal baths is a bonus.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Paul H wrote a review Nov 2021
Paphos, Cyprus86 contributions36 helpful votes
I had business in the area and stayed for three nights. The hotel was disappointing. The room, and even the corridor leading to it, were quite soulless. It was not a room that one would want to spend any time in. The bed was uninviting, the furniture sparse and the walls were bare. Breakfast in the mornings was good enough, and the reception staff welcoming, but overall I was very glad I was busy until late in the evenings.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marc Pittet, Directeur général at Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal
Responded 5 Jan 2022
Good afternoon. Thank you for your comment, which caught my attention. From this year, the hotel and the spa centre will benefit from major renovation and modernisation works. Hope to see you soon again. Kind regards. Marc Pittet General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
123wbf123 wrote a review Sep 2021
Lutry, Switzerland11 contributions46 helpful votes
Hmmm - so this is supposed to be a 4* hotel - already questionable as it is. Of course its been an incredibly challenging 18 months, but whoever runs this place is either incompetent or just doesnt care (or both). For example - the decision to not open the bar (another tip - perhaps turn the lights down a little so its not like an austere airport lounge) on a bank holiday sunday evening beggars belief (every guest asked the same question…). And the mini bar is empty and no room service “because of covid”. So it was suggested we go to the petrol station - really? Wtf. Guys - get creative, a fridge behind reception, or something, you would think every cent mattered.. clearly not… There’s hope for every budding hotelier - you can do much better than this without trying too hard!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Bring your own…so they dont have to…
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luc Schenkel, Directeur général at Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal
Responded 21 Sep 2021
Dear Sir or Madam, Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments. I am sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations and we will pay special attention to your comments. Indeed, as you mentioned, the last 18 months have been challenging, and we did not have the staff to open the restaurant on Sunday. We do our best to welcome you every other day and hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon. Luc Schenkel Directeur des Opérations Grand Hôtel & Centre Thermal
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KSwissCH wrote a review Aug 2021
Zurich, Switzerland84 contributions31 helpful votes
The hotel aged a lot and the bath 😵‍💫🙈 def not state of the art for a grand hotel! Room was clean but with no heart. Bed super soft and pillow the worst i had in years. I understand why Aldi tours offers such cheap offer. Value for money is therefore ok but not a little more. Bath closes at 8pm, but the spa area 30min esrlier. Nobody told us. Very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sophie Cook, Directeur général at Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal
Responded 2 Sep 2021
Dear Ms. Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. For your information, our establishment will be completely renovated in December. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to test our new facilities. Best regards, Luc Schenkel Directeur des Opérations Grand Hôtel & Centre Thermal
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
corinnebb wrote a review Jun 2021
Geneva, Switzerland17 contributions41 helpful votes
My son loved the baths of the hotel as well as of the thermal center. I did as well. However, the hotel was not at all up to scratch. I paid 285 francs for one night and what I got was an extremely old, basic room with no air conditioning and no frills. The whole place seems so old and basic. There was no room service, nothing in the fridge and no kettle or coffee machine. There was only one restaurant open and the hours were limited. Therefore, I had to take my son into the town centre with the car to get him something to eat. I was extremely disappointed by the lack of assistance from staff and lack of services. No high chairs as far as I could see at breakfast and no special attention to children. I have told them all of this but so far there has not been much of a response other than- “well Covid ….”. They did not inform me about all the restrictions and closures and for 285 francs a night I am extremely disappointed. They have not provided any sort of solution. I would definitely discourage anyone from staying at this hotel. Spend your money elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sophie Cook, Directeur général at Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal
Responded 3 Aug 2021
Dear Madam, Thank you for your feedback. I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I must however disagree with your comment, indeed, we have two restaurants, one open for lunch and the other one open for dinner. We have highchairs for children, if we estimate that they are old enough to be on a normal chair, we do not install it but you could always ask us if you wanted one. Indeed, our rooms do not have minibars nor kettles at the moment, but our room service is happy to bring you what you need. For your information only, our hotel will be fully refurbished from September on. We look forward to welcoming you again. Best regards, Luc Schenkel Directeur des Opérations Grand Hôtel & Centre Thermal
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Domenico wrote a review May 2021
Faenza, Italy151 contributions83 helpful votes
I spent few days at the hotel , nice restaurant , not a lot of choices so if you extend your stay better you find something in the city . Rooms are comfortable but a bit old style . Service at the desk is excellent . I definitely recommend this hotel .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Gust wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
(+) POSITIVE: ... very clean rooms ... very delicious food (-) NEGATIVE: ... old spa area which needs a renovation ... the hotel rooms are badly soundproofed ... every evening the same menu ... you have to pay extra for the evening meal (not only for the drinks, but also for the food ... even though you book half-board) ... very small wine card with only two local red wines (it has to be mentioned that the hotel is located in a wine region) ... one day, the spa area was overbooked ... one evening, they have run out of meals ... one afternoon, I was a few minutes late for lunch and they didn't give me anything to eat ... instead, I was kindly recommended to go to the gas station shop to buy a sandwich there ... unbelievable
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
aRTee72 wrote a review May 2021
Zurich, Switzerland21 contributions29 helpful votes
tl;dr: a four star place only if you make it so. We looked for a place with pools and possibly a Spa area, and for me (physical therapy exercises) it was quite important to find a place with a fitness room. Nothing on the website (english, french, german) indicates that the fitness room is closed due to Corona. When I mentioned it after breakfast, the receptionist explained that we should have gotten the information at arrival. I asked why the website didn't mention it, nor why no one mentioned it during the 2 phonecalls we made before making the reservation (we discussed what was closed due to corona, and an emphasis was made on the limited time allotment for the 3 pools in the afternoon, which wasn't a problem at all), and was told it must have been an oversight. The receptionist said she would pass on the information, it should shortly be corrected. Now, a week later, it still isn't. I consider this misleading, and consequently substract a bunch of stars - I'd not have visited (and left a bunch of money) had I known. Otherwise, the place would have been 3 to 4 out of 5. Generally, the staff is very helpful. The food at the restaurant (only for hotel guests due to Corona) was okay to excellent in quality and poor to abundant in quantity. But! As stated, the staff is very helpful, meaning they will manage to get more from the kitchen as needed/requested. Contrary to other comments, we didn't have any problem with long waiting times, perhaps the chef got a grip on things. We did indeed find the menu to be fairly limited, and were happy our vegetarian child didn't join us on this trip, the second evening (of 3) we wanted to try the vegetarian cannelloni, to be informed that none was available/left, better luck next time. In other words, limited selection, limited choice plus it runs out during the evening, varying quality and quantity, but it mostly is made up for by the staff. Note that we are quite fluent in french, so we didn't have the problem that some had, finding out that in practice, getting service in other languages might not be so easy. The pools are heated, which with the gray/dull and somewhat rainy weather was great. The Spa area, restricted to over 16y.o., was nice and adequate, Hammam in 3 versions: women only (2 person/couple), men only (2 person/couple) and mixed (3? person/couple), 90°C sauna (1 person/couple), 70°C sauna (1 person/couple), all aforementioned in "clothes free at ones own wish", plus a clothed zone with japanese 40°C bath (1 person/couple), outdoor bubble bath (3 person/couple), outdoor sitting area, plus indoor resting area (10 persons). The hotel room itself was fine, big enough to still be able to move about regardless of the 3rd bed. Touch it dimmer by the bed for the standing lamp across the room, so quite modern. The hotel also has some older/classic rooms, in the old part, some with a fireplace and such - we got a private tour, and have to agree that there's a certain charm about those rooms. Our room was on the back, so quiet and with a nice overview of the pool area (hotel pool and Thermen pools).
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Request a room at the rear onto the court/pool.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$158 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand hotel yverdon
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Grand Hotel Des Bains
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of VaudYverdon-les-Bains
NUMBER OF ROOMS
116
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GRAND HOTEL & CENTRE THERMAL (Yverdon-les-Bains) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal?
Nearby attractions include Place Pestalozzi (1.0 km), Maison d'Ailleurs (1.0 km), and Musee d'Yverdon (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe de La Plaine, Restaurant Pizzeria La Grange Da Antonio, and Le Bar du Coq.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.