We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotellerie du Bas-Breau

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hotellerie du Bas-Breau
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 20: English reviews
St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Seriously in need of a revamp. Furnishings badly faded/crumbling - which I guess could be viewed as quaint - but nothing worked. Very small double bed. Poorly designed room. Wifi was useless. Bath was ancient and needed a knife to extract the bath plug. Service fulfilled the worst (and often untrue) stereotypes of what France can offer. All this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alic1969
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

Hotel in general is falling apart. Rooms are old, small and outdated with no character, incredibly noisy, bed uncomfortable, pathetic shower, very expensive for what you get, television does not work, Really unpleasant experience, no iron when required!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alaufranc
London
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Barbizon itself is a wonderful, picturesque village famous for the school of art and also for les weekends gallant and even for rock climbing on the boulders in the wonderful surrounding forests. The Hotel du Bas-Breau Is a beautiful comfortable welcoming country inn set in the heart of the Village. After a distressing day, escaping from the carnage and chaos...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Woollybear
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review

We thank you for your comment and for your recent stay in Bas-Breau. Knowing that you had a good time and enjoy our cuisine makes us very happy. Pending receive you again. Yours sincerely.

Reviewed 20 March 2016

This hotel is set in a very nice surrounding. I like the charming decor and the receptionist is also very helpful. We dined at the hotel and every meal was well prepared. However, not all staff is that friendly and the room I stayed at Room 17, although very spacious and has a lot of charm in it do need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NiceGirlC
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for such a positive comment on our property. It comforts us in our everyday quest for excellence in service at Bas-Bréau. We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards

California
Reviewed 16 June 2015

We had to back up our stay by one night and did so within their 48 hour window. Upon our arrival we were refused a room and charged for the night before. Whether or not this was our mistake or booking.com they were rude and unaccommodating. Even though the hotel was practically empty and it would have cost them nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LisaWinter
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review

Madam, Thank you for having posted your so nice comments on our property!!!! We are very sorry to have had to charge you the room that you had not bothered to cancel. When booking on Booking.com you were informed of cancellation and you had accepted. Also arriving at the Bas-Breau you had problems with your taxi that you did not...

London
Reviewed 3 June 2015

I stayed a few months ago and were the only guests. The staff were very unhelpful and lazy. For instance, we chatted for almost 3 hours by the fire which we tended ourselves and only when we were literally getting up did the staff ask whether we wanted anything to drink! Meanwhile, dried dirt on the stairs stayed there for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank gauloislemalin
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review

Thank you for having posted your comments on our property. We are quite surprised that you waited so long to submit your comment after reading we understand that three months were needed on reflection. Kindest regards

New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 March 2015

That was a deal through Groupon, and I am happy it was. The room was spacious with a super duper bathroom, bed was 160mm bended but still ok, and 2 uncomfortable pillows. Welcome was friendly, service was nice with attention to details, like the waitress offered to have our dessert by the fireplace, nice attention. The food is the big...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bob r
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review
Google Translation

Nous avons pris bonne note de vos remarques. Nous sommes sincèrement navrés que vous n'ayez pas apprécié votre Dîner. Merci...

Roseland, New Jersey
Reviewed 19 November 2014

We have always wanted to return to the charming little village of Barbizon after two prior visits over the years. We stayed at Bas Breau about twenty years ago, and read the mixed reviews. Our experience was once again that it was cozy, comfortable and charming. Not a Luxe place, but nice. We had a second floor room on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Conseiller99
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for having posted your so nice comments on our property. Your satisfaction is all we need to try even harder to welcoming our guest the bestway we can. The whole Bas-Bréau's team will be delighted to welcoming you soon in Barbizon.

Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Barbizon is a great little town with picturesque views and beautiful architecture. My family and I arrived to Barbizon around 10 pm, we did not know that everything would close at this time. And as we were all tired and had nothing to eat all day. We walked along the strip of closed shops and came to Hotelier ie du...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed the table and the service of our Hotels. We look forward to welcoming you again soon for you to discover our rooms, the garden and pool. Thank you very much for taking a few minutes to share your satisfaction.

UK
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I stayed here for one night on business. The resturant and bar were really good and they were able to put on a great event for us. The room however was not worth the price tag. It was very large and the bed was comfy, but the decor was tired. The bathroom in particular was not great. The bath looked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Twizbe

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barbizon
0.0 km away
Hotel Les Pleiades
Hotel Les Pleiades
#1 of 3 in Barbizon
286 reviews
0.5 km away
LAU'BERGE de la Cle d'Or
LAU'BERGE de la Cle d'Or
#3 of 3 in Barbizon
16 reviews
8.0 km away
Aigle Noir Hotel
Aigle Noir Hotel
#1 of 11 in Fontainebleau
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
La Demeure du Parc
La Demeure du Parc
#2 of 11 in Fontainebleau
83 reviews
7.3 km away
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
#5 of 11 in Fontainebleau
231 reviews
10.5 km away
Novotel Fontainebleau Ury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Old hunting lodge at the hedge of the Fontainebleau forest. Park with swimming pool and grill during summer season.Lunch and dinner on terrace if weather nice ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotellerie du Bas-Breau

Address: 22 Grande rue, 77630 Barbizon, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Barbizon
Price Range: ₹ 8,991 - ₹ 16,242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotellerie du Bas-Breau 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotellerie du Bas-Breau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotellerie du Bas-Breau staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would very happily stay again in room 17 on the ground floor but some of the first floor rooms also look good with views out.”
 of 5 bubbles Woollybear, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
“I see that there are rooms which have more modern decor. But this is certainly not Room 17!”
 of 5 bubbles NiceGirlC, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
“don not go there, there are undoubtedly better place in this over expensive town...”
 of 5 bubbles 222bobr, 1 Mar 2015 | Read review
“We would recommend the second floor in the building opposite the restaurant. It has two sides, one facing a garden area on the side; the other with a deck with chairs/table near the parking area, but also with a nice view (we stayed there last time). The latter is probably a nice feature in warmer weather.”
 of 5 bubbles Conseiller99, 19 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Avoid at all costs!!”
 of 5 bubbles LADYRAWDON, 31 May 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay