We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bluebell at Cocking

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Bluebell at Cocking
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 88: English reviews
Start your review of The Bluebell at Cocking
 Click to rate
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The service and food are excellent along with a warm welcome. The rooms are comfortable and clean and well appointed. The twin room we had was a bit small for us as was the shower but it was okay. Traffic noise could be bothersome for some people but we slept fine. On a Monday and Tuesday the BB does not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RObbo60_11
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Last year I made a booking for July for £145 for 2 rooms. Called up again this year and due to Goodwood week prices were double that. In trying to make the booking I was told at least 5 times that "You do realise it's goodwood week then don't you". Simon, the manager I spoke with was so officious in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delishdish
Simon T, Owner at The Bluebell at Cocking, responded to this review

I have to say i'm getting a little fed up with people who write reviews saying i'm "officious" just because they can't have what they want. I had to repeat myself a number of times as the mobile phone line this man was calling from was terrible and I could hardly hear him and each time I mentioned its goodwood...

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017

I stayed at the bluebell Friday through to Sunday morning. I thought it was clean and tidy and offered a good menu with nice decor.When I arrived Friday night Simon the owner was behind the bar and was very welcoming as were the regulars. I initially only planned to have dinner Friday night but on the strength of the meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adriancovill
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Me and a friend stopped here for a drink and later dinner after a long walk on the Downs. We were quite up for spending the afternoon drinking and eating their food, and we're easy customers but the place had a bad vibe and the manager a poor attitude. Sadly we had no choice for dinner so had to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
Simon T, Owner at The Bluebell at Cocking, responded to this review

I'm sorry you felt the need to write such a review and I am genuinely sorry you didn't enjoy your meal. ( nothing frozen, all homemade). with regard to the person you mention, you were actually talking about me (the owner) not the manager so I know exactly what happened that day. when you entered through the garden room and...

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2017

I had a bedroom with shared shower room and it was clean and functional. The host Simon was friendly and helpful. For walkers, it's about 20 walk from the South Downs Way, and was my second stop on the walk from Winchester to Eastbourne. This review is of the accommodation which I would rate 4/5 while the restaurant would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brianhunt2005
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

I had such high hopes for my birthday dinner out here having read a few great reviews. Despite it being a Thursday we expected some other guests and a little bit of atmosphere but were sorely disappointed. We were one of two couples there but still didn't get a good service. Our starters, scallops, were cooked as should be expected...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
Simon T, Owner at The Bluebell at Cocking, responded to this review

I'm sorry but this is just not true I served you that night(the owner) not a waiter, so I know exactly what happened. I spoke to you through your entire meal and asked if everything was ok with your food, during and when clearing. you never once mentioned that you didn't enjoy your food, even when given the opportunity. as...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 31 January 2017

My friend and I had decided it would be a great idea to cycle the South Downs Way offroad in the winter after a wet spell and a thaw… duuuhhhhh! Bad idea. The mud was horrendous. We had three punctures between us, our only pump broke, one of our headlights failed, the mud had ripped one of our tyres, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bobberdiddly
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2017

the best meal we have had for a long time we travel a lot as we dont drink and this is up with the best the meal and service could not be faulted the manager was one of the best ive come into contact with his maner and food were the best alan from portsmout

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alan s
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Simon, thank you for making us welcome after a wet cold day trekking along the South Downs Way, we had a delicious dinner and our room was comfortable warm and provided a good nights rest for the next day's walking

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bridget G
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend get away and really liked it. The room was comfortable and a reasonable size with a good sized bathroom with a shower. It was fairly clean but could do with a bit more care and attention there was a bit of painting and general maintenance needed. The room was really hot when we arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard921

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocking
3.9 km away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
1.9 km away
Park House Hotel & Spa
4.2 km away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
The Fox Goes Free
The Fox Goes Free
#1 of 4 in Charlton
278 reviews
3.9 km away
The Swan Inn
The Swan Inn
#3 of 17 in Midhurst
76 reviews
2.2 km away
Bridge Cottage B & B
Bridge Cottage B & B
#8 of 17 in Midhurst
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Bluebell at Cocking

Address: Bell Lane, Cocking, Midhurst GU29 0HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Midhurst > Cocking
Price Range: ₹ 7,432 - ₹ 10,405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bluebell at Cocking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bluebell at Cocking staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bluebell at Cocking staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“dont book during goodwood, it's a rip off for a room above a pub.”
Delishdish, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't got there especially if you have been given rooms 4 or 5 😂”
  • Dirty Windows in the room the noise all day and night from the main road was awful..
  • Shared bathroom and toilet, dirty and unkempt
  • Shared bathroom and toilet, dirty and unkempt
  • Shared bathroom and toilet, dirty and unkempt
  • Could hardly move around the bed throws thread bare, room smelled of cooking as above the kitche
  • Shared Bathroom
KasyB, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask about the bathrooms.”
E7532ZWjohnb, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Don't have room 2.”
Klunk2213, 23 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Don't bother with Room 2”
rogsimmons, 17 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$ 153
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates