We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel La Locanda

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel La Locanda
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Locanda
See the most recent reviews
Showing 110: English reviews
San Mateo, California
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Two of us had a very nice stay at La Locanda. Be warned that you will have to trek a ways with your luggage as the parking in Volterra is outide of town. However, it is really nice to be at the center of everything. As others have said, the WIFI is often down if you care about that. We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SerFromItaly
LocandaVolterra, Receptionist at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this review

Dear SerFromItaly, Thank you for your review! It is our pleasure to inform you and the other guests that we have improved WI FI signal and now it works in every room. I really hope to accommodate you very soon. Kind Regards.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 9 January 2013

My fiancé and I needed a last minute hotel in Volterra, so we read some reviews on trip advisor and called around. Unfortunately we decided on La Locanda. They claim to be 4 stars, but that couldn't be farther from the truth. The hotel is VERY dated and things you would expect in a 4 star hotel were absent. There...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marryn M
LocandaVolterra, Receptionist at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this review

Dear Marryn M, I am very sorry that you did not like ANYTHING of our Hotel, but I would like to speak about your experience from my point of view. Let’s speak about the room: you paid for a standard one but you had a superior one, so you had a free upgrade ( 119€ for a superior vs. 93€...

Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This was our first hotel on our trip to Tuscany. Very convenient location, close to centre and inside the city walls. Room was good size , well equipped with everything. Just wish it had 1 English tv station but so what I can learn Italian. Quiet location, clean and breakfast was good. Has a lift, very important for those cases....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gimamo
LocandaVolterra, Receptionist at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this review

Dear Devina, Thank you very much for your nice review. We are proud to have been the first Hotel of your trip in Tuscany! We are sure that you will love it, and we hope that you will come back to Volterra soon!!! With Our Best Regards.

Cardrona, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I love Tuscany but would go again later in the year rather than peak season! When I first visited Volterra it was November and a sleepy little town which I fell in love with, this time it was hustle bustle of peak season so a lot different! It was still pleasant and made accessible to other towns to visit. As...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GigglingGirl
LocandaVolterra, Receptionist at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this review

Dear GigglingGirl, Thank you for your review! We are looking forward to seeing you and your family on the third time! With Our Best Regards.

tyrone
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed here for three nights during a recent break to see Andrea Bocelli in Lajatico. La Locanda is cosy, nothing overly fancy, but had a great large shower and bathroom area, wifi isn't powerful so do your research before you go, staff did all they could to help, even preparing a picnic breakfast as we were leaving at 5am on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ellie64
LocandaVolterra, Receptionist at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this review

Dear ellie64, Thank you for your detailed review! We are waiting for you again, maybe for Andrea Bocelli's next year exihibition?! With Our Best Regards.

Rhode Island
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I rather liked this old hotel. Our room was HUGE but had multiple steps which is a bit dangerous in the middle of the night. I did not care about the wi-fi (many folks spent a great deal of time frustrated by this, which made me happy we decided to completely "unplug" and actually experience a vacation!). The lobby was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JulietRhodeIsland
Denver
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This hotel was more luxurious than we're accustomed to. Nicest bathroom ever. The wi-fi stunk - very slow when it was up and running, which was a rarity. The hot water heater was not functioning during our first night, repaired the following day. The air conditioning was weak - cool enough for us, but probably not cool enough for some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raymagee
LocandaVolterra, Responsabile reception at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this review

Good evening, Thank you for your review. A lot of things are changed from 2012 to now. Hot water and air condition aren't a problem now and wi-fi is better than three years ago. For this reason we will wait you again for a fantastic week end. Kind regards, Jenny

Lebanon, New Hampshire
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel as part of our hiking tour of Tuscany. Volterra is a great place to stay and the hotel Locanda is right in the heart of the village. Our room was a good size with beautiful windows opening onto the street. Our bathroom was a little odd. There was a heavy door(almost like a fire door)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
LocandaVolterra, Receptionist at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer B, Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry for the "heavy doors" of your room and for the bad cappuccino! You must come once (or twice!) more, so we can remedy! With Our Best Regards.

Tennessee
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Our hiking/walking trip to Italy included a two-night stay in Volterra at this hotel. It was a perfect choice, both the city and the hotel. We especially appreciated that Volterra is "less-traveled" meaning that it was NOT loaded with tourists, making it ideal for a more authentic Italian experience. There is a lot to see in Volterra, and the city...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tenntravelers
LocandaVolterra, Receptionist at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this review

Dear tenntravelers, Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate you enjoyed your stay here, so we are waiting for you soon! Thank you also for your suggestion, we think that the others "Tripadvisors" will appreciate it! With Our Best Regards.

Memphis, TN
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed at the Hotrl La Locanda during our Rick Steve's trip. The room was large and the bathroom the biggest we had in Italy. The room offered two windows that opened to the street below. We were on the third floor. Overall the hotel was extremely good for an ancient city. This hotel was more than expected and we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thomas I
LocandaVolterra, Receptionist at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this review

Dear Thomas I, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you had problems with wi fi during your stay here; unfortunately it does not depend on us, because the strenght of the signal is not so powerful everyday. We are waiting for you once more! With Our Best Regards.

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#1 of 24 in Volterra
212 reviews
0.6 km away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 24 in Volterra
443 reviews
1.2 km away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#3 of 24 in Volterra
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#4 of 24 in Volterra
543 reviews
0.4 km away
San Lino
San Lino
#8 of 24 in Volterra
405 reviews
4.3 km away
Fattoria Lischeto
Fattoria Lischeto
#7 of 24 in Volterra
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel la locanda is situated in the historical centre of the town.we are in proximity to the roman theater and to the porta fiorentina.our hotel is new and has been converted from an ancient monastery of nuns.the former owner of this palace, in the second half of 1700s, was anton filippo giachi, historically and culturally famous for his studies of etruscan history.in remembrance of him, you can find today a memorial plaque over the entrance of the hotel. In those days he fixed onto the front of the building some urns, boxes for urns and the tops of urns from the etruscan time, with representations of fantastic animals and scenes of the trip to the inferno.he found all this here when he excavated the site.to decide to stay at the hotel la locanda means discovering the wonders of the culture of a remarkable town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel La Locanda

Address: Via Guarnacci 24-28, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Price Range: ₹ 5,042 - ₹ 7,886 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Locanda 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Locanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Hotel
La Locanda Volterra
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel La Locanda staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel La Locanda staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“very nice place !”
765teric, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for renovated room and bathroom”
annetteapproved, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room towards the rear of the hotel to avoid the road noise”
BladderedBath, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Our window (105) faced the Main Street, which was a little noisy on and off during the night. Ask for a room that doesn't face the street.”
Backberner, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go there you won't be disappointed.”
terence111390, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5