We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Via Amerigo Vespucci 121, 55049 Viareggio Italy
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (60)
Dining (16)
Room & Suite (16)

About

#17 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Viareggio
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The newly run Hotel Cilene is managed by Massimiliano and Francesca and offers its customers kindness and cordiality combined with typical Tuscan cuisine. The Hotel is located in the heart of Viareggio, in front of the Pinewood of Ponente where you can find bike rentals, tennis courts, children's games, the bowling alley, restaurants, bars and more, just 3 minutes from the sea and the promenade of the seafront, 10 minutes from the train station and 5 km from the motorway.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
Italian
41Reviews1Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 19
  • 12
  • 6
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
SDU1969 wrote a review Aug 2020
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom33 contributions21 helpful votes
I chose this due to the proximity of the beach (3 blocks) but my room was very basic with a horrible to use wet-room rather than a proper shower. The shower curtain was held up with metal rods that fell onto me when I used the shower. The hotel had very little sound proofing and there was noise until very late at night from other guests. I slept badly both nights of my stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Not sure if there are quiet rooms.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Massimiliano Ricci, Direttore generale at Hotel Cilene
Responded 25 Aug 2020
I am sorry to see that you are such an unfair person, if you have had noisy neighbors it is not the fault of the management, consider that you have chosen to spend little and have turned to a 2-star hotel, next time if you want soundproofed rooms please contact to hotels like hilton (4 or 5 stars). The bathrooms are small because they are obtained from a space in the room, the rooms of 2-star hotels must have (by law) 1 bathroom every 6 rooms, to avoid having shared bathrooms, private bathrooms have been created over the years, which, however, are small and obviously cannot have a shower cubicle, they have a drain on the ground, however this information was there on booking, and I am surprised that he did not read them. Also I checked and there is no trace of humidity in the room, perhaps the air conditioner or the smell of the ozone we use to disinfect the rooms bothered her because of the "covid". Anyway, having said that, I'm sorry he didn't feel good, but it was still good manners when he left. Best regards Maximilian
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TimmyWs wrote a review Aug 2019
Brighton, United Kingdom143 contributions111 helpful votes
In a decent location for Viareggio, about 10 mins from train station and opposite a big park with stuff for children. Close to the beach clubs (you have to pay), but not close to public beach. However be warned that public beach is small (maybe 8 metres wide), ugly and 20 min walk away. Not fault of hotel, but beach club situation and public beach much worse than Rimini (we were expecting them to be similar). Not much to do in Viareggio although is nightlife with loud music at weekends quite close to hotel. Not massively loud in room though. We were there in late May/early June Daytrips to Luca and Pisa were done by us and in hindsight would have been better to stay in these and daytrip to the beach as both great destinations. Due to proximity to the park you have to be careful with leaving windows open as can let mozzies into the room. View from balcony nice. Room was exactly as described and as per the photos, so although small with no kettle, desk etc, and shower with no proper way to close, it is as per the photo, so you get what you see. For two of us and travel cot with baby, and pushchair was a bit of a squeeze, but manageable. No lift (again as advertised, so not a complaint, just something to be aware of). Breakfast very good and when we ate in the hotel it too was decent value for money. We would eat there more, but don't need to eat that much food and its associated cost. A smaller 10 Euro menu would get our custom, but these are rare to find it Italy. Other issue with meal (in common with other small hotels in Italy) is that you have to prebook the day before, so doesn;t allow for flexible dining. Staff were very friendly and helpful, with child friendly places marked on a map for us etc. If you wish to come to Viareggio I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Katherine s wrote a review Jun 2019
4 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel is nearby the park and the beach. They clean your room daily. The breakfast is top plus you have a choice to book a lunch or dinner with quality and great price. The owner massimilliano is a great hosts and the rest of the staff are very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sarah C wrote a review Mar 2019
10 contributions2 helpful votes
Excellent position, close to the sea front where carneval takes place. Nearby there are plenty of restaurants and bars. The owners are very helpful and the rooms are clean and comfortable . Breakfast was great....plenty to eat and drink....would certainly recommend to anybody coming to Viareggio
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
PRICE RANGE
$65 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of LuccaViareggio
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL CILENE (Viareggio) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Cilene
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Cilene?
Nearby attractions include Bagno Irene (0.4 km), Centro MATTEUCCI (0.3 km), and Bagno Nido (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Cilene?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Cilene?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Cilene?
Conveniently located restaurants include L'ottavo Vizio - Street Food / Food Porn Gourmet, Osteria l'Imbarco, and Ristorante Amaro Braceria.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Cilene?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Cilene?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Casa natale di Ippolito Ragghianti (1.1 km), Albergo Garden (0.6 km), and Palazzo della Croce Rossa (0.7 km).