Grand Hotel Royal

Traveller (1032)
tramonto dal balcone della camera
Room & Suite (320)
Grand Hotel Royal
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
₹15,071
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#3 of 54 hotels in Viareggio
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
See why so many travelers make Grand Hotel Royal, their hotel of choice when visiting Viareggio. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you. For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Viareggio, Grand Hotel Royal,is located Sea front. You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV 44p, a minibar,Tea and coffe facilities and air conditioning, and you can stay connected during your stay as Viareggio Grand Hotel Royal offers guests free wifi. The hotel features a concierge and room service. Plus, Grand Hotel Royal, offers a pool, garden and free breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, limited parking is available. While in Viareggio be sure to experience local Italian food . During your visit, be sure to check out popular attractions like La Passeggiata (0.3 mi), Cittadella del Carnevale (1.1 mi), and Villa Argentina (0.3 mi), which are all within walking distance of the hotel. At Grand Hotel Royal, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Viareggio.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Children's television networks
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Hiking
Bicycle tours
Table tennis
Tennis court offsite
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 2 more
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,731 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
The Grand Hotel Royal garners acclaim for its exceptional value and reasonable pricing, particularly the half-board package and wine selection. Nestled in an ideal location, guests are delighted by the easy access to the beach and the complimentary sunbeds. The hotel exudes a timeless elegance appreciated by guests, alongside spacious rooms with breathtaking views, despite some finding the bathrooms to be on the smaller side. While the service is generally celebrated for its friendliness and professionalism, a few guests have encountered inconsistencies. The hotel's cleanliness and amenities, including the pristine pool and gardens, receive high marks from visitors.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Pristine
Service
Professional
Amenities
Well-appointed
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
1,731Review73Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,159
  • 411
  • 105
  • 36
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
heyho_lets_go_onhols wrote a review Oct 2023
Crewe, United Kingdom4 contributions8 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a lovely week at the Grand Hotel Royal.
It's a gem of a hotel which provided our base for a weeks stay. This was our second stay in Viareggio having previously stayed at the Grand Hotel Principe Di Piemonte which is a 5 star hotel close by. The Grand Hotel Royal was pretty much a match and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel and the friendliness and help of all the staff who went out of there help to provide excellent service. I had the need to attend a local hospital and the concierge staff were quick to advise and arrange for transportation to the hospital. We had a couple of days staying local, enjoying the hotel pool and table tennis and a few days taking day (train) trips to Florence, Sienna and Cinque Terre which was a fantastic day out and worth the 18 Euros day card available from the station at La Spezia which enables you travel between all of the 5 beautiful villages on the line. We did all of the villages in about 6 hours using the trains. All in all a fantastic holiday in a quality hotel with super helpful staff all within the beautiful towns and villages of Tuscany. What more could you ask for?
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Use the train and/or buses to visit the many fantastic towns
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marino Patruno, Agenzia/Consulente at Grand Hotel Royal
Responded 25 Oct 2023
Dear guest, It was a pleasure to welcome you to Royal recently and thank you for your kind words which I have shared with everyone who helped make your stay memorable and who look forward to welcoming you back to us whenever your travel plans permit. With all good wishes,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ann S wrote a review Oct 2020
Gravesend, Kent19 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Like so many other people our original travel plans for this year were cancelled but we were so lucky to spend a week at The Grand Hotel ! The service was fantastic, the food delicious, the pool beautiful and all the staff were so welcoming and hardworking adopting very safe covid measures throughout the hotel. I can highly recommend the half board option, the breakfast is one of the best we've experienced & the choice and quality of the evening meals was amazing. Room towels were changed daily & a fresh beach/pool towel was left in our rooms each day. The hotel has a private beach but we tended to stay by the lovely pool most days. The rail station is a short walk from the hotel and we easily travelled to La Spezia & took a boat trip to the beautiful Cinque Terre villages. There is so much to explore in this area, we will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marino Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal
Responded 25 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review and for choosing to stay with us here at the Royal. I am delighted that you had such a wonderful experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal again soon. Best Wishes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
original_gaby wrote a review Jun 2020
London, United Kingdom13 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just coming back from my business trip to Viareggio; first time staying with Grand Hotel Royal. The most important thing I would like to highlight the Hotel took seriously the safety of its guests: strict hygiene and sanitation protocols.Technology to support interaction with staff to encourage social distancing.Healthcare coverage valid for the entire duration of the hotel stay.
Although I booked a classic room I was immediately upgraded to a Sea Front Room with balcony, very relaxing to work on the balcony enjoying the promenade facing the sea. The Hotel has an excellent location, right next to seaside promenade, elegant and stylish Restaurant; I had a nice dinner accompanied by Tuscany wine. WI-FI connectivity works perfectly and staff is professional and helpful in a friendly way. I would have stayed more to enjoy the outdoor pool, the weather was absolutely gorgeous, however my business trip was over. Perhaps next time will return with my family to enjoy the Tuscany treats.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal
Responded 7 Jun 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide such positive feedback following your recent stay at the Royal. We are thrilled you enjoyed everything about your stay, and were looked after by our attentive team. I will make sure your kind comments are shared with the staff I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JAT77 wrote a review Sept 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom655 contributions172 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 7 nights and absolutely loved it.

We contact the hotel in advance of our arrival and booked a return transfer from the airport (costing €160 and taking half an hour) and requested to upgrade to half board (costing €35 pppn excluding drinks). The hotel were very helpful and prompt at responding.

We were met at arrivals, transported to the hotel and check in was very easy. The hotel itself is beautiful with grand decor and is spotless throughout. It was very reassuring to see hand sanitiser throughout the hotel and good covid-19 measures in place without ruining the experience.

The room was great. Lovely size and we had a sea view room which we’d definitely recommend. The view of the sunset is beautiful.

Pool is a good size and has a poolside bar. There are also gardens where there were sun beds.

Food was a real highlight.

Breakfast is buffet style but understandably not self service at present. However, rest assured that portions sizes are good and I had to ask for a smaller portion some days. There was fruit, cakes, pastries, breads, cereals, yoghurt, hams and cheeses. Plus bacon, sausage, scrambled egg (you could ask for fried etc which they did to order), omelette and mushrooms.

Evening meal consists of a 4 course menu with the option of salad to start if requested. Very varied choice and all beautifully presented. You get the evening menu at breakfast and can order there or in the evening if preferred. The evening meal is outside in a marquee type setup in the garden which is very pretty.

Location is great with the beach opposite. We decided to do day trips to Pisa, Lucca and Massa. All of these were 20 minutes away by train and the train station was about a 20 minute walk from the hotel. We did consider a day trip to Florence but decided against it in the end but feasible as it’s an hour and a half away.

There is a supermarket 5 mins walk away which was good for provisions for the room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Sea view room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marino Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal
Responded 21 Sept 2020
Dear Guest, I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at The Royal and hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel on another trip to Tuscany and Viareggio. Thank you for your kind words. Best Wishes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RetfordNottsSpurry wrote a review Oct 2022
retford notts31 contributions32 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I am quite reluctant to write this review but I feel future customers should be aware of the rooms. We arrived after a early morning flight by Jet2 .We were informed our room would not be ready for 3 hours and we could go in the garden to wait. I have never been abroad to a hotel and had to wait this long .I Understand staffing is difficult but with planning surely the holiday makers going early in the morning obviously on our return flight there rooms could be cleaned first. When we eventually got our room I could not believe it.We were allocated a room no view at the rear of the hotel overlooking a flat roof so disappointing our Golden Wedding Anniversary and this is what we got. We asked to be moved as they said after much argument this is what we paid for .I went to my local travel agent to book this special holiday for us with Jet2 after looking in the brochure with the travel agent booked a side view room .Not a box overlooking a flat roof. We were eventually given a side view room which we had to pay £210 euros extra . The room was big but the bathroom was a joke. The smallest bathroom ever you sat on the toilet with your knees against the wall next to the shower .This was so tiny it would never be allowed health and safety in England.We had to put any toiletries in the bedroom as there was no shelf. Room number 211. This was our special Anniversary holiday and they knew as Jet2 had emailed them so disappointing. We were given a bottle of Prosecco which was nice but the attitude of reception staff who kept saying it was our fault we didn't have a better room not nice. That is the negative part of my review .Our stay was good when we got over the room. The food is really nice and presented well the restaurant staff especially Barbara are exceptionally wonderful friendly efficient nothing to much trouble.The bar staff again very good and looked after you. The pool and gardens are lovely relaxing . The hotel public rooms are beautiful and very atmospheric of a bygone era. The location is superb and we went on two day trips to Pisa and Lucca use the local trains and buses very easy. The beach is great with a brolly 2 chairs and 1 sun bed provided by the hotel. This was our special Anniversary and yes we enjoyed it but could have done without the upset over the room. All I can say to anyone booking. Make sure you get a room on the side or the front with a bathroom you can use especially if you are a larger person or unsteady on your feet .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marino Patruno, Agenzia/Consulente at Grand Hotel Royal
Responded 3 Oct 2022
Dear Guest, It is such a shame that you are left with this feeling and we would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We would like also to clarify a couple of comments that you made in your review. You stated that the Classic room which was the one you booked was with view on the back of the hotel. This is well explained in the room description on the Jet 2 brochure; Guests always have a choice of rooms with various tariffs, larger rooms are available, with or without Sea view, etc. We would suggest that guests pay attention to their requirements at the time of booking, of course to dont' be disappointed and not to blame the hotel and the staff. We do hope you enjoy a better experience on your next visit and look forward to welcoming you again at the Grand Hotel Royal. Once again accept our apologies. Best Wishes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kemcho123 wrote a review Jul 2022
leicestershire90 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited the hotel from 25th June with husband and disabled sister, this was a holiday cancelled from 2020, so anticipation was great. Everything was wonderful at the hotel and all the staff were very helpful. I was with my sister in the adapted room which was adequate for her needs, I have attached a photo to show the facilities as it may help other disabled people selecting this hotel. Clean towels every day as well as additional towels for the pool/beach. The cleaning staff were excellent

Breakfast - choice was good, including fresh pancakes, you can always ask for a cappaccino instead of the filter coffee (which was good) and fresh orange juice, we only discovered this on the last morning, all at no extra charge. No problem with requests for eggs fried/poached/omlette..

Evening meals were served outside under a verandah , waiter service, choice of 4 items per 3 courses with a great salad/starter selection including prawns etc. Quality was 5 star

Olga at the pool was so helpful, especially getting the sunbeds sorted for my sister, assisted by her helper. Always had a smile

Marco at the pool bar was friendly and again had a smile at any time of the day

Great location opposite the beach, Jet2 includes two deckchairs with the price, beautiful clean beach, and lovely beach bar.

Hotel is only a short walk from the station and the town centre, but plenty of shops on the promenade to meander down in the evning

Market day on Thursday - right opposite the hotel, not the normal rubbish, good selection of bags & clothes

At the back of the hotel is the park and if you go at aboutr 4.00pm - a hut sells the most amazing doughnuts, a must for an afternoon treat.

I have given the hotel 5 stars as we enjoyed our stay so much but would like to suggest that you have a disabled toilet downstairs/make the path through the garden much easier to use for wheelchair access/make a path through the gravel so that pushing the wheelchair is so much easier.

We would certainly come back to the hotel again.

Thankyou to everyone for looking after us
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Good to disabled
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marino Patruno, Agenzia/Consulente at Grand Hotel Royal
Responded 16 Jul 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide such positive feedback following your recent stay at The Royal. We are thrilled you enjoyed everything about your stay, and were looked after by our attentive team. I will make sure your kind comments are shared with the staff I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kaye J wrote a review Jul 2020
London, United Kingdom330 contributions144 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a nice 4 star with an incredible 25m swimming pool. Breakfast was great.
However...
Air conditioners are so loud that it is impossible to sleep & leave it on at night so anytime July-Sept it would be impossible.
Also 4* up hotels should understand that single beds are for children & teenagers so penalising single travellers & making them pay more for a double bed unacceptable.
Best Western should be doing something about both of these things.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marino Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal
Responded 19 Jul 2020
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for having posted your rating on our hotel after your stay and we apologise for the inconvenience of the noisy air conditioning. I hope you informed reception so we were able to resolve the problem. In cases such as this, after having been made aware of the situation, we would undoubtedly change the room to allow the guest a comfortable stay. Regarding the single bed in the single room of your choice, we are sorry. We do believe, however, that if guests prefer more comfort or space, it can certainly be made available but it is only fair that they should pay the difference. To clarify this, we would like to add that Best Western is a hotel chain of independent properties that apply their own pricing policy. Best Western do not make this decision. Anyway, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the future. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hannah J wrote a review Sept 2020
London, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 3 nights here but enjoyed it to much we extended the stay! The hotel building itself is beautiful and all the rooms are super comfortable and spotless. Over the time we were there we ate breakfast, lunch (by the pool!) and dinner there and all the food was delicious. The location is perfect for the beach, pine woods and travelling around the town or wider Tuscany and the staff are able to tell you all the best places to go. The hotel has the benefit of having a garden and a pool making it ideal for families and makes an amazing dinner setting.

We stayed in September 2020, in spite of the current covid situation felt extremely safe, with plenty of precautions in place and all staff wearing masks.

The best part of our stay was all of the staff, who are incredibly friendly and helpful and want you to have the best stay possible. I can't wait to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marino Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal
Responded 21 Sept 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your review of our Grand Hotel Royal It was a pleasure to learn that you had a thoroughly enjoyable experience and I was delighted to read that our team helped to ensure a wonderful stay with us. Rest assured that I will share your feedback with the team who will be delighted to read your compliments and learn that you plan to return soon. In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Royal in the near future. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AL313 wrote a review Jul 2022
Kenilworth, United Kingdom12 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from a wonderful two week stay, having stayed at the hotel twice before. The hotel is spotless and the staff great. We had a sea view room which for us is worth the supplement. The cleanliness of our room was outstanding. The hotel is in a great location for the beach, shopping locally and sightseeing - train and bus. The train station is about a 20 min walk and if you walk through the park at the back of the hotel you can stay out of the sun to stay cool. We used the Trainline app on our phone to book tickets which were added to the Apple wallet, so no printing required, and the service was very reliable.
We stayed on a half board basis and the food was great with excellent service from everyone, especially our waiter Marco who really looked after us. The hotel bar was an amazing experience with some great drinks and service from Giada and Nicola. We must give a special shout out to Nicola as he’s a great barman, very knowledgeable and his cocktails are fantastic - some of the best we’ve had. We tried a number of new cocktails and some amazing interpretations of classics, the coffee infused negroni was a favourite as was the espresso martini… He’s an asset to the hotel.
We plan to return here again as it was a magnificent 2 weeks.

Grazie mille
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marino Patruno, Agenzia/Consulente at Grand Hotel Royal
Responded 11 Jul 2022
Dear Guest, It is very satisfying to read such a positive review from a guest and yes, we hope you will return up! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Grand and Royal. Best Wishes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bridgerobe wrote a review Jul 2022
Bergamo, Italy378 contributions251 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is well kept and very clean. It is truly a “grand” looking at its history and belle epoque style. My room was small and looking a roof but really well appointed. Nice bathroom as well. The hotel is in front of the beach and walking distance to the center. The pool area is well kept, but most of all, being an “old pool” it is deep 2.30 meters which I really enjoyed. Breakfast is good for italian standard, keeping in mind that in Italy we don’t offer what most countries expect.
Parking at 20 eur a night is very expensive but it is possible to park on the raods around at 8.60 eur/day.
What went wrong then ? The dinner. They don’t offer half board for short stays (why ????). So I spent 16 eur for a plate of spaghetti just out of the half board menu and they really not worth a “a la carte” menu. Unless you are half board, do not stay for dinner, I felt a bit ripped off.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marino Patruno, Agenzia/Consulente at Grand Hotel Royal
Responded 4 Jul 2022
Dear Customer, thank you for your feedback. First of all we apologize if the dinner was not to your liking, it is certain that the term you used ripped off is a little offensive and let's say unacceptable. Why not half board for short stay? Because the half board supplement has a reduced cost compared to the complete a la carte menu, so this it is dedicated only to those who, in our case most of the customers, stay long. If you did not like the spaghetti dish, we apologize, but keep in mind that the cost includes the service in our beautiful outdoor pavilion, including the splendid atmosphere, including the waiter in uniform etc. etc etc. You have to think before using certain expressions. Best Wishes P.s Parking cost is not very expensive if you can park your car in a place safe, closed and guarantee, but yes in the street parking is cheaper
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from sc0tn0r
Norwich, United Kingdom19 contributions6 helpful votes
Yes it’s well easy 20 minute walk to the train station then 20 minutes on average to Pisa at a cost of between €8-€18. Florence takes on average 1 and 1/2 hours at a cost of between €20-€30+ dependant on train type. Both enjoyable days out.
Marjorie C asked a question Sept 2023
3 contributions3 helpful votes
Do guests have to wear a swimming cap in the hotel pool?
Answer from Marino P
viareggio52 contributions20 helpful votes
Dear guest, no, in the private hotel pool is not mandatory, till now! Best Regards
Answer from Marino P
viareggio52 contributions20 helpful votes
Dear Guest, no problem for breakfast but during dinner need a long trousers, especially if we are inside in our Liberty room! Best Regards
Susan L asked a question Jan 2023
Congleton, United Kingdom106 contributions53 helpful votes
Can I request twin bedded room after booking?
Answer from Marino P
viareggio52 contributions20 helpful votes
Dear Guest, yes of course Best REGARDS
Answer from Marino P
viareggio52 contributions20 helpful votes
Dear Guest, only long trousers are mandatory. Thankyou Best Regards
David J wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a lively street market that happens every Thursday on the boulevard in front of the hotel."
Read full review
heyho_lets_go_onhols wrote a tip Oct 2023
Crewe, United Kingdom4 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Use the train and/or buses to visit the many fantastic towns"
Read full review
travelkat317 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Jacksonville Beach, Florida74 contributions47 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You have to make reservations if you would like to have dinner at the hotel restaurant. We didn't realize how popular it was. "
Read full review
IrishFan-80 wrote a tip Sept 2023
Lancaster, Pennsylvania4,746 contributions799 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We felt that by not including the dinners that the front desk was of limited help dining at other nearby places. "
Read full review
Kevin L wrote a tip Sept 2023
Harrogate, United Kingdom15 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sea view rooms on the front of the hotel are great but come with the inevitable intrusion of main road noise."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Viareggio area.
PRICE RANGE
₹11,415 - ₹30,412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western viareggio, viareggio best western, grand hotel royal viareggio
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Grand Hotel Royal, Best Western Premier Collection
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of LuccaViareggio
NUMBER OF ROOMS
114
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GRAND HOTEL ROYAL (Viareggio) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Hotel Royal
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Hotel Royal?
Nearby attractions include Bagno Maurizio (0.2 km), La Passeggiata (0.5 km), and Bagno Nido (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Hotel Royal?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Hotel Royal?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Hotel Royal?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Hotel Royal?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Hotel Royal?
Conveniently located restaurants include L'ottavo Vizio - Street Food / Food Porn Gourmet, Villa Grazia, and Ristorante del Bagno Il Sole.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Hotel Royal?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Does Grand Hotel Royal have airport transportation?
Yes, Grand Hotel Royal offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Grand Hotel Royal located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Viareggio.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Hotel Royal?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grand Hotel Royal offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Viareggio HotelsViareggio Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ViareggioHotels near Grand Hotel Royal
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire