We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pemba Lodge

98 reviews
Save
Traveller (99)
Pool & Beach (23)
Room & Suite (17)
Overview
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good11%
  • Average1%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“turtle beach”(7 reviews)
“octopus”(7 reviews)
“low tide”(12 reviews)
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Room Service
3.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (98)Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
61
9
0
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
61
9
0
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturtle beachoctopuslow tideuntouched naturefishcrablocal villagean adventurechef alifringing reefincredible viewsboat driveisolated islandsmall boatsea breezefull moonother guests
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

We were horizontal after our relaxing, stress-free time at the lodge .Ali, Becka, Masoud and all the staff looked after us so well and gave us great experiences. Our trip to Masali Island was definitely a highlight. Masoud was so patient with the snorkelling and...More

Thank BryonyThorn
Reviewed 6 days ago

We arrived by boat and the staff were waiting on the beach for us. Our room was huge, clean and airy. It was my first experience with solar panel heating, lighting and composting toilets and I am hooked. The food during the weekend was simple...More

Thank wifeinmidlifecrisis
Reviewed 10 November 2017

After considering several other lodging options in Pemba, I decided to stay at Pemba lodge because Khalid was the most responsive of all. He would reply to my questions within a very short time despite the time difference with California. I have no words to...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ka F
Response from Nassor M, Owner at Pemba LodgeResponded 26 November 2017

Dear Ka F, Thank you so much for your wonderful and very detailed feedback! It was a pleasure for our team to spend time with you, and of course they are very proud that you’ve mentioned some of them by name. You are right, Pemba...More

Reviewed 15 October 2017

This was a real Robinson Crusoe experience without the hassle ! The buildings were charming and all the staff friendly and helpful . The boat trip to and from the island was beautiful and really added to the overall experience .we loved the snorkelling and...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jowildgoose
Response from Nassor M, Owner at Pemba LodgeResponded 24 October 2017

Dear jowildgoose, I would like to thank you on behalf of our staff for your positive and valuable comment We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel services , environment and the boat trip. It was a pleasure having you and we would love to...More

Reviewed 16 September 2017

my stayed at pemba lodge was great . i really had a good time ,first we arrive at mpene Mr ali and captain was waiting for us ,they took us by boat to the lodge and own the way we had fresh coconut on the...More

Thank markfs1982
Response from Nassor M, Owner at Pemba LodgeResponded 26 September 2017

Dear markfs1982, Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay at Pemba Lodge. How great to know that you enjoyed everything we have to offer, from the pick up, our spotless clean rooms, walks in the village ,beach and all our services. We...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345616
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Room Service
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle Bus Service
Room Service
Free Parking
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 194 - US$ 297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 194 - US$ 297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (99)
Pool & Beach (23)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (9)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
cloHammamet
i would like to tell a few words to Mr Nasser who came in the lodge very quickly while we were there: 1- do you know that if you want to have clean ans unsmelling eco toilets you should separate urine and sheet 2- when you wetre there the whale was already smelling so badly that we change room, buried ourselves the whale body but the pieces of the whale were still al over the place , you did look like taking care of it 3- fortunately you have Ali trying to do as much as he can 4- the price is absolutely too high for what you offer ; bad food, smells , service, almost no lights in the rooms, water so little you cannot wash your hair or your teeth, plus this few water is dark brown well i am traveling a lot especially in these kind of places and i was very disappointed and i can see i am not alone in this case but you did not put any answer on my review ( nov 2014)
21 December 2014|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Nassor M | Property representative |
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your reply. Here are the detailed answers to the issues you have raised: Conservation laws say that we are not allowed to remove the beached whale. It is bound to take its natural course... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"All room are quiet"
Read review
"I liked the houses closest to the main building where we ate because the wifi signal was pretty strong..."
Read review
"All cottages are the same, spacious and beautiful."
Read review
"None required. Sound of surf lulls you to sleep. Enjoy."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing