We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bark - An Art Hotel

Plot No 5/6 Behind Fariyas Hotel, Tungarli, Lonavala 410401 India
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (56)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 3 hotels in Tungarli
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Bark – An Art Resort’ is one of the finest boutique hotel in Lonavala having a unique art theme. Our property showcases unique art and exquisite curios from around the world. We have more than 150 paintings and about 200 curios which have been collected from the Far East, Europe, America and Africa. Every nook and corner is a visual delight. We are located right at the heart of Tungar Valley, Lonavala. The hotel provides an elegant setting for both business and pleasure trips. We assure our guests a pleasant and memorable stay. We house 34 rustic yet luxurious rooms, an exclusive restaurant, a fine garden banquet venue adjoining the pool and conference facilities. This place is simply scenic and promises harmony with absolute comfort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Banquet room
24-hour security
Concierge
Newspaper
First aid kit
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Room types
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
26Reviews1Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 14
  • 6
  • 0
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Rhea NJ wrote a review Mar 2024
84 contributions28 helpful votes
This is indeed a charming little art hotel. Nice, quiet and quaint. Pet friendly too. Better for couples since it is secluded. It has a pool and a little garden with gazebo. If you like peace and quiet, this is the place to go. Lots of local dogs in the area who are fed and cared for by the hotel staff. That’s where the hotel gets its name. Good move by the owners. Well done.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bittoo S wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions
This hotel totally blew our socks away! It totally is a labour of the owner who is also an interior designer. Everywhere the eye can see there are beautiful art pieces beautifully curated throughout the property. Their gardens are b autodukly manicured! Beautiful flowers of every variety possible surround the property. They have a lovely swimming pool and indoor outdoor cafe and a beautiful fitness center. With the package deals they offer it truly is a great value in lonavala.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Revenue Manager, Revenue Management at The Bark - An Art Hotel
Responded 15 Feb 2024
Dear Guest, Namaste! We appreciate you taking the time to share your valuable feedback regarding your stay at our property. We are delighted to know that we could meet your expectations and it was indeed our pleasure to serve you. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you soon again. Warm Regards, Management - The Bark, An Art Resort.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anjali wrote a review Oct 2023
Pune, India1 contribution
There are no words to describe this amazing place. The art from all around the world is an absolute nayan sukh. The amazing library, pool and games did not let us get bored. With the yummy food, the cleanliness and the courteous staff our holiday turned out to be very memorable. I will be visiting again very soon.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Try going on weekdays to get the best rates.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Revenue Manager, Revenue Management at The Bark - An Art Hotel
Responded 7 Dec 2023
Dear Guest, Namaste!! Thank you for your glowing review. It was fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the delicious food, library, pool and games. We could impress you with the services by our courteous staff and the art from all around the world. We look forward to welcome you soon again. Best Regards, Management- The Bark - An Art Hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Abhishek Paul wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution4 helpful votes
I had the worst experience of my life while planning to stay in The Bark, Lonavala. I got some good reviews in various sites about the hotel, hence, booked a room from 14-16th Aug in The Bark Lonavala one month prior to the trip and got a confirmation that rooms are available. I immediately paid the booking amount and got a booking confirmation in mail and whatsapp. Suddenly after 9 days, I got a call in the evening that due to some system issue, the booking was wrongly made. All the rooms are completely sold out and they wanted to refund the money. I already had my train tickets booked for the entire family basis the hotel booking confirmation. Out of curiosity, I checked make my trip for the room availability on those dates and found that same rooms are showing as available with almost double the price where as I am being asked to cancel my booking and take back the refund. I wrote all these things over my booking mail and asked them to provide me a room since I know that rooms are available. The next day, I got an apology mail stating that they have sorted the issue and they won’t be cancelling my booking. The game starts at the 11th hour when my complete packing is done. I got a call at 9 pm from the hotel, just one day prior to my journey stating that there has been an emergency situation. The person who was staying in the room allotted to me got severely injured as the ceiling of the room fell on him and room had to be closed until repaired. There is no substitute room available and the nearby hotels are not receiving their call to make some arrangements there, hence they can refund the booking amount. A very lame photo was also sent to convince me that this was the photo of the broken ceiling which not even look like a hotel room I was supposed to start my journey next day morning at 6 am when I got to know that my hotel booking has been cancelled and there was no other hotel rooms available at the 11th hour due to weekend rush. The entire trip got cancelled for this irresponsible activity of the hotel and I incurred loss for cancelling my travel arrangements at the last moment. Any person who reads this will easily understand that everything was planned. The Bark, Lonavala is so commercial that they don’t even hesitate to cancel the confirmed bookings for their own sake. Even, there is no higher management contact details and escalation desks mentioned in their site to raise your voice, obviously to avoid such situations and customer grievances. I have never seen such unprofessional behaviour in my entire life. I strongly recommend not to make any bookings at The Bark, Lonavala as it may come up as a surprise at the last moment that the confirmed booking is cancelled.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Revenue Manager, Revenue Management at The Bark - An Art Hotel
Responded 8 Sept 2022
Dear Guest, Namaste! We are disheartened by reading your negative feedback as you had to cancel your trip. Please accept our sincere apologies due to the inconvenience caused. We would like to highlight that as per our investigation with the team, there was an incident at the last moment, and hence we had to cancel the reservation. Kindly treat this incident in isolation as such incidents do not represent our standards of services and we hope you give us another chance to serve you and visit us back again soon. Best Regards, Management - The Bark - An Art Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jeff demelo wrote a review Jul 2022
Muscat, Oman9 contributions6 helpful votes
I am writing this review while staying at the hotel. The food is excellent and room service is good. Now things that really upset me were: 1. Dogs all around the reception. Even if they are healthy dogs(which does not seem true specially for the oldest dog, who looks very sick), keep them away. Not all enjoy their company. 2. The front office staff are so serious about cost cutting that they dont even keep a/c nor lights on in the reception. Even the lift is 'under maintenance'. My point is that you are running a hotel and these things are not acceptable. 3. Every hotel room must have tissues, cupboards with hangers to hang clothes, mini fridge, slippers. The bark did not think these as essental in their deluxe rooms. 4. The bathroom does not drain water. Water logging is a big problem. Also, behind there is a dirty water body which stinks and the smell is always present in the room. Mosquitoes are plenty. Now, my request is to please have a look at the above and make an effort to improve. I dont want a reply from the management/owner stating that changes will be made because ive read most of these issues addressed by earlier guests and no change made till now. You are charging a normal 3 star hotel room rate. Please deliver at the same level at least. Jeff Demelo
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Revenue Manager, Revenue Management at The Bark - An Art Hotel
Responded 10 Aug 2022
Dear Guest, Namaste! We appreciate you for taking the time and sharing your detailed feedback on your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. We regret that our services and facilities could not meet your expectations. The same has been highlighted to our team and we assure you that prompt actions will be taken. We hope you give us another chance to serve you again. Best Regards, Management - The Bark - An Art Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Happy H wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
Overall a 4 star experience. We were 6 people and had taken 2 Deluxe Rooms & 1 standard room. Deluxe rooms are better, but the standard room is too small. The hotel is nice and well kept. It's good a good feel about it. I suggest booking directly with them. I have been told that if you book directly they ensure you get a room with a good view. One challenge though with the place is that it's surrounded by resorts. So if there is a lot of noise being made in another resort, it might distrub you. That will also ofcourse depend on the room you'll have. Their food is not great. I am basing it only on the breakfast we had at the hotel. The breadth of breakfast buffet is good, but the cooking can improved 5 folds. Love all the art in the different rooms and the lobby. Pool is great and they did a great job of keeping it clean. Lobby is great too, but maybe they can do a better job of keeping their games and discarding one's which don't have the necessary pieces.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Revenue Manager, Revenue Management at The Bark - An Art Hotel
Responded 27 Jun 2022
Dear Guest, Namaste! We are delighted to see you share your valuable feedback in regards to your recent stay at our property. We are glad to know that you liked the cleanliness of the property and had a great time. Also, we have noted your suggestions and taken your feedback constructively. We assure you that necessary measures will be taken and you will see a marked improvement on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Regards, Management - The Bark - An Art Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sanghita wrote a review May 2022
5 contributions
Stayed in studio room. The room is big with spacious balconies. The bathroom is large and clean. Very courteous staff. Special mention for Prateek who sits at the reception for his extremely polite and helpful behavior. The lift was under maintenance so we had to climb the stairs. Food quality and quantity both are great. Inroom dining experience was good. Would request the hotel to consider putting a fridge in the room. Liked the experience.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Revenue Manager, Revenue Management at The Bark - An Art Hotel
Responded 28 May 2022
Dear Guest, Namaste! We are delighted to see your review and to know that you enjoyed your stay at our property. It was our pleasure to serve you. We are glad we could impress you with good quality food, spacious rooms and prompt services of our hospitable staff. Our associates always try going out of their way to provide you with the best service possible and we are glad we could achieve the same. In addition, we will surely share your kind comments with our stars mentioned by you. Also, we have noted your suggestion and we assure you corrective measures will be implemented. Hope your plans bring you back soon again. Best regards, Management - The Bark - An Art Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Raju Chowdhri wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
It has good decoration of art. Pool side with adjascent garden area is open and nice. Comfy rooms. Staff is polite and service is good. Morning buffet breakfast is also sumptuous with lot of options. Few indoor games also available. Overall a satisfying experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Revenue Manager, Revenue Management at The Bark - An Art Hotel
Responded 21 Mar 2022
Dear Mr Raju, Namaste! We are delighted to know that we could meet your expectations and you had a wonderful stay at our property. It was a pleasure to serve you and to know that you enjoyed the pool, garden, cosy rooms, delicious food, and the service by our hospitable staff. Also, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us sharing your kind comments. We hope to see you soon again. Warm Regards, Management - The Bark, An Art Hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Indrajit M wrote a review Mar 2022
Mumbai, India147 contributions49 helpful votes
+1
Lonavala & Khandala have always seemed over crowded on weekends, and not being a fan of exotic sprawling typical Indian resorts like The Duke's & Fariyas, our visit to this popular Mumbai hill stn has been just in passing with stopovers for lunch at some nice eateries of hotels/resorts. This time in Feb, after a lovely glamping stay in Pawna, as we stopped by for lunch, we decided to stay back. On a Saturday it's difficult to get rooms in any descent place & luckily The Bark had one. I v always been curious about this place calling itself an art hotel, so it was an added bonus for me. Far away from the popular hotel zones, down a road, this hotel cum house is by a river/stream and immaculately maintained by its owner who is a friendly charming lady & an avid traveler and collector of art. And a dog lover too. The place is littered with arty objects & paintings. Is spacious, airy with a laid back attitude, polite staff and a library. The pool table unfortunately is no good, thanx to non-players trying to have fun with the balls all day. The pool & lawn & gazebo are the highlight here. One can just sit and watch numerous birds come and go. Being off the touristy zones, its unusually quiet and in the midst of old residential areas of Lonavala, which are quaint and peaceful. They have a nice buffet spread for breakfast, and their ala-carte menu is also quite good, although a bit pricey i thought. The owner has plans to start an Art Cafe soon, and that wud b lovely. Their basic rooms are quiet small but beautifully done and very well maintained. The rooms with balconies are very nice & given a choice i wud definitely stay in those. The suites are also spacious. And i personally felt it was great value for money, unlike the Dukes and Fariyas which have countless rooms and charge top dollar. If you are fond of Lonavala, stay here once atleast to know the difference from other hotels there.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Revenue Manager, Revenue Management at The Bark - An Art Hotel
Responded 28 Jun 2023
Dear Mr.Guest, Namaste!! Thank you for your valuable time and for sharing feedback and rating. We are delighted to know that you loved your stay at our property and liked our staff service. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our delicious food and well-equipped amenities. It's pleasing to know that you were impressed by the beautiful location and spacious rooms. We are delighted to know that you found our property worth your money and we look forward to welcoming you soon again. Best Regards, Management-The Bark- An art Resort, Lonavala.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Disha wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
The hotel is so beautiful it has a very good vibe The gazebo is the best place to chill The staff is so polite and helpful The deluxe room had a stream view to it and i just dont have enough words to describe how relaxing it was It was the best solo trip looking forward to visit the place sooon
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Revenue Manager, Revenue Management at The Bark - An Art Hotel
Responded 21 Mar 2022
Dear Guest, Namaste! We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We hope to see you soon again. Warm Regards, Management - The Bark, An Art Hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tungarli area.
PRICE RANGE
₹2,675 - ₹4,514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaMaharashtraPune DistrictLonavalaTungarli
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE BARK - AN ART HOTEL (₹̶5̶,̶5̶1̶7̶) ₹4,431 (Tungarli) Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison

Frequently Asked Questions about The Bark - An Art Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Bark - An Art Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Kalote Lake (1.1 km) and Lonavala (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Bark - An Art Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Bark - An Art Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Bark - An Art Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Bark - An Art Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Bark - An Art Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Asian Fusion Restaurant, Mulaqaat, and Girivihar Dining Club.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Bark - An Art Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Bark - An Art Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, The Bark - An Art Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Bark - An Art Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Bark - An Art Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a banquet room and conference facilities during their stay.