We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 94: English reviews
Adelaide, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This place is located on a quiet reserve which is good. However, their dinner portions are very small for R195/meal. For dinner, a braai will be better and much filling than theirs. The breakfast is quite sizeable The middle room in the Kudu does not have windows and becomes very hot in summer. They need to mention this when people...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank T7855OGcharlesh
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a private reserve without any of the big 5. They do have two giraffes that are very scared of people. It is a good hideout in the middle of nowhere with hardly any animals to see. Due to the isolated location you are kind of forced to eat at their restaurant which is pretty pricey. The menu is...

Thank jrsmg4
Urk, Nederland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location was very nice, we saw al lot of wild animals while hiking. Breakfast was nice, diner was ok. The staff was very friendly and available to give advise. The rooms were good and comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mjonkie
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Reviewed 8 December 2016

What a gem! I was in Addo for some business with San Miguel and we got to spend part of one day at Addo Bush Palace. The owners, Emilio and Laura, treated us not only like royalty, but like family. They gave us a tour of the place and had the staff show us some of the cultural presentations they...

Thank Federico L
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

We had a few nights with our parents here and the staff could not have been more helpful. They went out of their way to make sure that we were comfortable, including rearranging a room for my mother's needs without hesitation. The food is lovely and the setting is wonderful - truly in the countryside. You need to take a...

Thank Callum C
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

We took a trip to addo for my birthday and thought it would be nice to stay overnight at one of the lodges. Unfortunately we chose this place. It was apparently 4 star, but I assure you it isn't even close! The waitresses and general staff are great, but the management staff have absolutely no clue about efficiency or proper...

1Thank Khavish H
Addo P, General Manager at Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve, responded to this review

Hi, We are really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our lodge. We were extremely busy at the time of your stay and I think we were probably not able to look after all our guests needs as well as we would have hoped to. Our dining area is usually big enough to accommodate all our guests...

Tellingstedt, Germany
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Nice place, nice people, comfortable rooms, best service. We have had very good days in Addo Place. Thanks for good looking after us. Special degrees to Angelique, and thanks, that she had save our Sibuya-Tour. It was an unforgettable day.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gabrieler708
Reviewed 21 October 2016

PARADISE! if you want to have a taste of africa and you love nature, you need to stop here. this place took my breath away from the moment the car pulled in the driveway. Emilio, the owner, was amazing we got to do a mini private safari with his jeep around the property and seeing wild zebras walking around was...

Thank Camilla M
Naas, Ireland
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Getting to this lodge is a little challenging but it is worth it. It is 15km from main road, accessable by ordinary car. The africian theme throughout the lodge is wonderful from the bright coloured art design on outside to the details in the rooms right down to the food on the menu. The scenery is fabulous, the lodge has...

Thank decdeasy
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 31 August 2016

My fiancee and I stayed at Addo Bush Palace this past August for 7 nights. Right at the beginning, the staff made us feel at home. We were welcomed with a complimentary drink and nice warm towels (It was a bit cold). Since then everything got even better. We had booked 4 nights at the lodge itself and 3 nights...

Thank Ignech

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (102)
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Room/Suite (4)
View from Room (5)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Bathroom (2)
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (23)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Room/Suite (7)
Dining (1)
Family/Play Areas (2)
Bathroom (1)
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greater Addo hotels
14.3 km away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
384 reviews
28.9 km away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
261 reviews
19.6 km away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.0 km away
Africanos Country Estate
29.8 km away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
28.8 km away
Chrislin African Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently opened, Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve offers luxury accommodation on a spectacular and peaceful 2,500 acres private property close to the Addo Elephant National Park. On arrival our guest are impressed by the magnificent colours of the African Ndebele painted thatch lodges, situated in a beautiful and natural area. Addo Palace has a total of thirteen luxurious rooms distributed amongst three magnificent buildings. Our interiors have been carefully decorated with high standard colonial antiques to create a perfect balance between the African bush and luxury. We offer our clients a choice of accommodation only, bed and breakfast or full board. We are located one hour from Port Elizabeth, close to the world-renowned Schotia and Shamwari Game Reserves. We can arrange all your excursions in the area including Elephant Back Safaris, Private Plane Charters, Big 5 Game Drives, Mountain Bike Trails, Hiking Trails and much more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve

Address: | Kromrivier Valley, Paterson, 6105, South Africa (Formerly Addo Palace "Ndebele Bush Lodge")
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo
Price Range: ₹ 4,147 - ₹ 4,947 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room with a front view”
 of 5 bubbles 931candiceh, 20 Jan 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in zebra lodge which is removed from the main lodge and restaurant, so somewhat quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles I6151QHcharlottec, 1 Jan 2016 | Read review
“a room in the main building seems a good option”
 of 5 bubbles PGH1010, 31 Dec 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are great, but i will choose the main lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles fernandonavarropelae, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Away from the Main Lodge, then you get a patio included!!”
  • Bathroom
  • View from room
  • Bedroom
  • Bathroom
  • Room
 of 5 bubbles MackyDs, 23 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay