We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong

Save
Share
Jl. Raya Kedewatan, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571 Indonesia
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$196
View deal
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (579)
360
Panoramas (20)
Dining (83)

About

#9 of 14 hotels in Kedewatan
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
For travelers who want to take in the sights and sounds of Bali, Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong is the perfect choice. Set 4 km from the excitement of the city, this 4-star hotel commands an excellent location and provides access to the city's biggest attractions. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Hiking
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Butler service
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Minibar
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Indonesian, Japanese
407Reviews13Q+A40Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 233
  • 90
  • 53
  • 18
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jeremy D wrote a review Mar 2020
4 contributions1 helpful vote
We had an amazing stay at Jungle Retreat. The facilities of the hotel and the personnel were magnificent. The room was clean and beautiful, three pools are available for you to chose from so you will never get bored. Spa was also amazing, really nothing to say as everything was perfect. 1000% recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
sheefster wrote a review Mar 2020
Nusa Dua, Indonesia6 contributions
Jungle Retreat is a very relaxing place for travelling as a couple as well as solo. I am really amazed and happy with the service provided by the staffs, service at spa is excellent and restaurant is exquisite. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my family and friends!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
NealVictoria wrote a review Jan 2020
4 contributions
Our room was set up beautifully with a welcome message in rose petals in bed prior to arrival. Staff was very friendly and quick to help with anything. Breakfast buffet overlooking the jungle was super nice. Make sure to pack mosquito repellent if you stay here as we got bit several times just in the outdoor hotel lobby during our wait to check-in since our room was not ready. Also a little bit away from the town where there are many shops and restaurants. Food at the hotel was a bit overpriced for the area, Overall a great stay and would recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from KupuKupuResorts, Manajer at Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong
Responded 13 Jan 2020
Dear NealVictoria, Thank you for staying with us at Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong and thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I am especially happy to hear that our associates delivered friendly, helpful and attentive service during your stay. Thank you for your nice review of our service quality. We do try to please all palates and preferences. Furthermore, as you discovered, the resort is set inside the green jungle. We have also taken note of your remark in regards to the pricing at the restaurant. Please do recommend us to family and friends and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever you plan your next visit to Ubud. If I may be of further assistance, please do contact me via om.jr@kupubarong.com. My team and I remain at your service. Kind Regards, Sheefa & The Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong Team
Read more
Rudy wrote a review Nov 2019
4 contributions
We went 6 nights in jungle retreat kupu kupu barong and it was great. You have a feeling to be in the jungle, the room are verry Nice and clean with a great bathroom . When you take breakfast you have a superb view on the jungle and ayung river and you can eat everything you want. Every hour there is a shuttle bus to ubud and they also have a free 3 hours walking and 2 hours hiking trip where you learn a lot about the life in the village, temples and fauna and flora. All staff was also very kindly and friendly. Rudy and lieve from belgium
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from KupuKupuResorts, Manajer at Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong
Responded 19 Nov 2019
Dear Belgium123456, It was a pleasure to have you staying at Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong during your holidays here in Ubud! Thank you very much for your amazing comments about our facilities, the view, the food and the service offered by the hotel. Indeed, we are very blessed to have an exceptional view at our main restaurant which is overlooking the beautiful jungle and the Ayung River down below. We look forward to welcoming you back to Jungle Retreat in the very near future. If I may be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me via om.jr@kupubarong.com, my team and I remain at your service. Kind Regards, Sheefa & The Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong Team
Read more
Arjen R wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution
We stayed at the Jungle Retreat for three nights and it was simply heavenly. The room was amazing, the view of the jungle and river at their main restaurant was breathtaking. Be prepared to walk up and down the hill to get there, though they have the buggy service to give you a ride if you prefer. They also have a few rooftop pools to choose from which is cool. We had purchased a one hour massage at the L'Occitane spa and it was simply wonderful. You could tell the quality of the brand and the service is definitely top notch. The "jungle" atmosphere was just so relaxing that we didn't want to leave! BUT what made our stay very special was the level of customer service and attention that was given to us, from each and everyone of them that made this property truly stand out. Special thanks to the manager Ms Sheefa who runs not only a tight ship but a truly amazing team of people at the Jungle Retreat. I will come back to this marvellous place and will definitely recommend it to all of my friends.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: we recommend a room with pool view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from KupuKupuResorts, Manajer at Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong
Responded 31 Oct 2019
Dear Arjen R, We sincerely appreciate you taking a moment to write about your stay with us at Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong. It is wonderful to read how much you enjoyed the service our colleagues were able to provide you with, along with your experience at our renowned Spa by L'Occitane. Allow me to share this delightful news with the rest of my team. We hope to welcome you back again on a future visit to Ubud. Kind Regards, Sheefa & The Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong Team
Read more
Wafflebox wrote a review Oct 2019
Watford, United Kingdom39 contributions40 helpful votes
Difficult to review this hotel because it really is a mixed bag. Location wise it's great, you really are staying in the middle of the jungle which is an experience worth having. The hotel have a transfer service to the main area of Ubud which is handy, but you have to get a taxi back if you're out for the evening as it doesn't run late. The rooms are big and nice but I recommend keeping the air conditioning on as there is a slight feeling of damp without it. Breakfast is nice with an incredible view but there are a lot of flies around the food which isn't all covered. The pool areas could do with a bit of TLC as they are quite tired. We didn't like the rooftop pool at all so went to the main pool. Ubud isn't exactly a pool holiday as there's so much to do in the area, but it's nice to have a pool to chill by some days. The main pool was fine and very quiet so perfect for kids to be wild but it's very rustic. I've never been sat on a lounger next to the pool and had a chicken stroll passed me before! The restaurants at the hotel weren't great at all and any food we had there was vastly overpriced and I would recommend heading to Ubud where there is so much to choose from at much more reasonable prices. The food wasn't great and the facilities are very tired and a bit dirty. I think this hotel could be absolutely stunning if the rooms were modernised and the reception area, pools and restaurants were updated. Room cleaning was okay, though our bathroom really looked like it needed a good scrub and often we were left without any towels, but then early evening they would drop in some clean warm towels which was a bit unusual.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from KupuKupuResorts, Manajer at Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong
Responded 31 Oct 2019
Dear Wafflebox, Thank you for your recent review of Jungle Retreat. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are, of course, saddened that you did not fully enjoyed your experience. Again, we value your feedback and will take it to heart as this only improves our hotel. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again. Warm regards, The Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong Team
Read more
Bruce Bunn b wrote a review Sep 2019
Menai, Australia26 contributions11 helpful votes
We stayed three nights in the Jungle Retreat. It’s tide and a bit run down, could do with some maintenance. The two roof top pools aren’t as big as the brochure photos and the rooms were in only had views of the village dump. The Villas had tarps over them to keep out the rain. But no a positive note the food and staff were very good. It’s a bit far from Ubud as you have to get cabs or a driver every time you want to go anywhere although they do have a shuttle bus which only runs until 6.00pm. Not really a place I would revisit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from KupuKupuResorts, Manager at Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong
Responded 6 Oct 2019
Dear brucebunnb, Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following you recent experience at Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong. We deeply regret to read how much your experience was disappointing. Please accept our apologies for the discomfort this may have caused and know that your remarks have been shared with our team in order to improve our service. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again for another experience. Sincerely, The Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong Team
Read more
R3093TIlindat wrote a review Aug 2019
Auckland Central, New Zealand7 contributions2 helpful votes
We understood this to be a 5 star luxury destination... however, we found 2 star service and facilities. Checking I found bathroom light did not work, sink plug did not work, we had two skinny little towels, no bath mat, hand towels or face cloths, a torn and dirty shower curtain, over and outdated bath, and were promised a spa inspired bathroom! Our private terrace, was a deck that had dirty glass, covered with some hanging vines, overlooking what looked like a building site or garbage dumping area. The pool was dirty, No pool towels, later we were told that pool was not the one to use, yet at checkin were told to use the pool on the roof top! Breakfast was a 5 minute walk down a dirty steep cracked concrete track and up another steep dirty concrete track, with smelly drains. The walls were dirty old steel, and there were caged roosters behind a wall. It was a challenging walk, and was like walking through a disaster zone before you reached the other resort where you had breakfast! Same to use restaurant, spa, or even leave resort as you had to walk to other resort to get out! We found another pool to use, and the walk to that was equally as bad, and you toured passed the laundry to find this pool, this was also the yoga “ studio”.. the pool deck, that was old cracked and past it’s use by date. For us, it ruined our Ubud experience!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from KupuKupuResorts, Manager at Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong
Responded 28 Aug 2019
Dear R3093TIlindat, Thank you for staying with us here at Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong and for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We value your time and appreciate your support. I would like to express our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and uncomfortable experience that you had during your stay with us. It is important for us to provide the best service to all our guests. In regards to the concerns that you faced in your room, I believe that these concerns could have been immediately recitifed if you would have informed us directly after noticing these faulty and missing items. As we did not have the luxury to change your rooms due to full occupancy during that period, it would have given us a chance to take action on the things that could have been repaired on that instant. Unfortunately, these were only highlighted to us at the end of your stay, which we showed you our empathy followed by a complimentary dinner for four person at our main restaurant. I also regret to learn that our resort style is not what you expected. Jungle Retreat is a sister hotel of Kupu Kupu Barong which you may have noticed consisting of the breakfast area and the L'Occitane spa. Should you prefer a closer walk or more convenient access these areas, you may opt for Kupu Kupu Barong which location is more strategic and its rooms are private villas to enjoy. Our team are continuously enhancing the service and facilities of the resort, therefore your feedback is very important to us. We do strive to give every guest a wonderful and memorable stay, but clearly, we failed to meet expectations on this occasion. We are currently taking the necessary actions to prevent any occurrences of such in the future and we do hope to get the chance to welcome you back to our resort, to leave you with a more favorable impression then. Kind Regards, The Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong Team
Read more
Eamonn C wrote a review Jul 2019
Dublin, Ireland20 contributions7 helpful votes
Funny one this as we liked it-great location in the jungle,near the centre of Ubud,amazing views at breakfast but it could really do with some TLC-all seems a bit jaded-rooms,pool areas etc.The staff are friendly but there seems to be a definite lack of organisation/direction.It is not 5 star but with a little investment it could be(we stayed 4 nights)...has huge potential!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from KupuKupuResorts, Manager at Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong
Responded 29 Jul 2019
Dear Eamonn C, On behalf of all Jungle Retreat Team, I would like to thank you for staying with us for your holiday in Bali. We thank you very much for your feedback with regards to the view from the restaurant, we are privileged to have our site overlooking the Ayung River and the beautiful jungle across it. Thank you also for your constructive feedback regarding our lack in TLC and we are sorry to hear that it was not up to your expectations. Kindly note that we always take our guests comments very seriously in order to improve our service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Jungle Retreat in the future! Kind regards, Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong Team
Read more
kneehall wrote a review Jul 2019
El Segundo, California27 contributions
+1
Overall: If you are looking for an affordable place in Ubud that is highly rated, tons fo charm, outstanding service, and not far from the main sites: Ubud Center, Bali Swing, River Rafting, Campuhan Ridge Walk, Sacred Monkey Forest, Goa Gajah, and Tegalalang Rice Terrace, then Jungle Retreat is the place to be! The original place that we booked fell through two days before our trip to Bali so I had to rush to find another spot. I stumbled upon the Jungle Retreat and once I saw the pictures and read the reviews, I booked it. Lo and behold, we came to find out later, that we had booked the last room available...whew! On the Jungle Retreat site, I mentioned that we are traveling on our 10yr Anniversary trip and was looking forward to our first trip to Bali. Service: Spectacular! Everyone was very warm, inviting, friendly, and made sure all of our needs were taken care of. They even surprised us by laying out a welcome flower and towel arrangement along with a cake celebrating our anniversary! Oh one incident to mention: My wife had dropped her small pen that she writes with on her Samsung Note and it fell below the La View restaurant. She was very annoyed by this and the waiters came over to see if we were ok. We told them what happened and one of the groundsmen crawled under the floor and found it! Very sweet of him! Loved the free shuttle to and from Ubud Center where you can shop, eat, drink and explore. We checked out their spa services and came away very refreshed! I could go on and on about their services! Rooms/Resort: Loved our quaint room in where they paid attention to many details. It had a feel of escaping to the past, but with modern facilities. I liked the various pool options as well. The views of the jungle and river below from the La View restaurant was grand! We had a good view of the jungle from our room. I liked the overall layout of the resort as each portion looked different. Though you do need to be prepared to walk up and down the hill when you go to the main restaurant and lobby (though they will give you a ride in the buggy if it's available). Food: You had choices of Indonesian, Italian, Indian, Japanese, and Western. They didn't have tons of options within each food group, but what they lacked in options, they made up in taste! We loved their breakfast buffet which included any form of eggs along with a variety of Indian/Italian/Indonesian/Western breakfast items. BTW...their hash browns rocked! I also loved their fresh juices and fruits. Looking forward to coming back for another visit!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Higher floored rooms have a better view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from KupuKupuResorts, Manager at Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong
Responded 11 Jul 2019
Dear kneehall Thank you for staying with us at Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong and thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I am especially happy to hear that our associates delivered friendly, helpful and attentive service during your stay. Their commitment to take initiative with selfless sincerity and thoughtful courtesy has allowed them to fully recognize the needs of our guests. From this villa also you can enjoy the night light of Seminyak and Jimbaran look like stars lite from Ubud. Thank you for your nice review towards our service quality. We do try to please all palates and preferences. Furthermore, as you discovered, the resort is set inside green jungle,. Please do recommend us to family and friends and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever you plan your next visit to Ubud-Bali. If I may be of further assistance, please do contact me via nia@kupubarong.com, my team and I remain at your service. Kind regards, Nia & Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$123 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndonesiaBaliGianyar RegencyUbudKedewatan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong
Which popular attractions are close to Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong?
Nearby attractions include Toekad Rafting (0.1 km), Bali Tours (Ngurah Alun) (0.1 km), and Bali Nirwana Tours (Gede Sumar) (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sawah Terrace at Mandapa, Kubu at Mandapa, and Balinese Home Cooking.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong have airport transportation?
Yes, Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Kedewatan.
Are any cleaning services offered at Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.