We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George Hotel

LateRooms.comUS$ 150*
View Deal
GreenLeadersGold level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 150*
US$ 150*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 81: English reviews
Start your review of The George Hotel
 Click to rate
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were greeted and served by a very new member of staff who had little support from her colleague who was flitting around. The food was lovely but there was no atmosphere in the restaurant where the fireplace was full of ash, nor in the bar area which we moved to after finishing our meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank londoner109
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. As you have made no direct criticism of the member of staff I fail to see the issue in her being new? Fireplaces tend to be full of ash by nature of having fires in them. We pride ourselves on our "Green" efforts and try to use wood. If you google the way a wood fire...

Cheddar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2017

A small family group, we booked ahead for an evening meal. If you like lively/noisy bars then this one will suit you fine but the restaurant is another matter. Candlelight rooms can be romantic but here it was just a half light. The Wooden tables were ok but the wooden chairs had no cushions and by the end of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We stayed for a night to break up the journey from Cornwall back to London but didn't want to leave! We had a lovely warm welcome when we arrived into the cosy pub entrance, with its roaring fireplaces and comfy sofas. The bar team couldn't have been friendlier. They had told us in advance that due to it being Sunday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirstmcpesch
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. Very pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

Langport
Reviewed 11 December 2016

New to the area, popped in for lunch ... great bar area with good selection of ales etc ... real fire going in the restaurant area ... good selection of food ... helpful staff ... prompt service ... free wifi ... will return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Germaine T
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks. Look forward to your return.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Upon arrival we waited 10 minutes for any member of staff to appear and when someone did the excuse was sorry we have a party upstairs and not enough staff !!!!! And it got worse the seating for the 14 of us celebrating my Daughters birthday was appalling only set for 12 and most of us with our backs to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pammy6227
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly very sorry that the evening did not live up to your expectations. In respect of the glasses we were indeed short of them as we had been let down by our supplier not delivering a case ordered. That said the problem should still have been dealt with properly and as we still had thirty odd glasses (I counted) I...

Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

I had my birthday meal here and I a fantastic local pub. Old style drinks, low ceiling and a great atmosphere. There were 8 of us in total which was prefect I think anymore and the place would be a little crowded. The bar area is small but great for this style of pub. Also this place would be great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blismore
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you

Stroud, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

This was an intrepid booking for a large family get together, as I had never been to the Hotel, let alone Wedmore! We were not disappointed, the room on the first floor oozed character, with a welcoming fire.....perfect for the younger members to potter around without disturbing other guests.. The staff were welcoming, contact prior to the day had been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra R
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Very kind comments. Look forward to seeing you again.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We spent a weekend afternoon in the bar eating and drinking. From the very start the bar was one of the friendliest I have ever been in. Everyone in the pub, both staff and customers made us feel welcome. We had the pies, steak and ale and chicken and ham hoc, at £12.50 a go they were fantastic and well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rowan E
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. Glad you had a good time.

Reviewed 2 October 2016

Nice Sunday lunch with helpful friendly staff in this wonderful central village pub/hotel and offers a good selection of beers. Also has a large outside garden ideal for children and large car park. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maurice S
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for the great comments.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

From someone that visits The George once if not twice a week.. The bar: The staff are always really friendly and know their drinks.. Can advise you in the right direction by giving you samples. It has an atmosphere which most pubs/restaurants lack around the area. You'll find all types of people, local, out the area, builders, bankers, butchers.. Everyone!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ep092016
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your super review and regularly visiting us. Hope to see you again soon.

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wedmore
6.5 km away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
126 reviews
9.2 km away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
829 reviews
9.5 km away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Swan
The Swan
#2 of 6 in Wedmore
183 reviews
5.8 km away
Bath Arms Hotel
Bath Arms Hotel
#1 of 11 in Cheddar
178 reviews
6.6 km away
The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Beautiful ' George Inn Wedmore', is a stunning 16Th-century coaching Inn, sitting in the heart of the historic village of Wedmore. The interior is a fusion of both old and new but with an overall contemporary feel.Drive into the car park though our historic archway. As you enter the bars you will be greeted with open fires,local ales straight from the cask and an amazing selection of continental lagers and wines.Our Chef sources local and sustainable products and offers a culinary delight fit for any pallet. Our rooms offer affordable luxury and are all en suite.Our ethos is to make every trip to the George a relaxing experience, Drink,Eat,Sleep,Enjoy ! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Church Street, Wedmore BS28 4AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wedmore
Price Range: ₹ 7,945 - ₹ 9,625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Cheddar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room Four is nice”
StephenD410, 5 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have their own amazing character. You won't be disappointed with any of them.”
AmandaW106, 14 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Only 5 rooms. Avoid the antique mahogany bed frame in room 3. Creaked and groaned even when you yawned!”
RagazzaElegante, 30 Jun 2015 | Read review
“All are unique so any one will be lovely.”
AmandaW106, 2 Apr 2015 | Read review
“We had a choice, all were lovely but my wife chose room 2, and it was perfect”
chriswA4839XM, 1 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
LateRooms.com
US$ 150* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 150
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates