We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 87: English reviews
London
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed at The Stuffed Doormouse for 1 night, the rooms are clean and tidy with lovely clean towels. The rooms are dated but the price reflects this. The rooms had shower gels, shampoo bottles, tea and coffee with a clean kettle. The biscuits help fill a gap in the morning for my 2 half year old before we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saffron531
Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2016

After a 4½ hours in the car, I was looking forward to checking in to my room and unpacking. On arrival I was greeted by the receptionist who went to check my room was ready whilst I parked my car. I was given my key and directions to my room - "Room 12, up the stairs turn right and it's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Readie1965
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

Have never been disappointed here - 2 wonderful courses for a tenner - first class steak. Favourite place. Staff are really chirpy and bright and actually look as if they are enjoying themselves. No incentive to go anywhere else!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
Simone A, Receptionist at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very Much for your kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future! Many Thanks Mel

Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

Beautiful room, Friendly staff who couldn't do enough to make the stay as perfect as possible from booking taxi's to and from the train station to ensuring Breakfast was to our liking. Will definitely be booking into this hotel on my next visit to Wales.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John R
Simone A, receptionist at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this review

thank you very much for your kind review,we hope to have you here again in the near future, regards Chandra

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 May 2016

Upon arrival at the Stuffed Dormouse noted an issue with the accommodation booking, After seeing us comfortable in the bar at no expense to us they re ordered the booking, with the duty manager moving out of his temporary lodgings (they were renovating) allowing us the room, the icing on the cake was a complimentary breakfast the next morning. their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mdelacey
Simone A, receptionist at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the lovely review, we are hoping to see you soon in the near future, regards Chandra

Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Party of 9 of us from Ireland plus half a dozen Scots were here for the weekend. Rooms ranged from average to phone box - ours had a fridge but no wardrobe!. Hot water not always constant. Restaurant had a good reputation - so good in fact that we couldnt [even as residents] get a table on a Friday or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happy53Camper
Simone A, receptionist at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this review

thank you very much for your review,it was a pleasure have you all here. At the time of booking we did ask the organizer if you needed a table in the restaurant as it get really busy,but they said there was no need. We also agree on early breakfast just for you on Saturday and Sunday only,no Monday request,but to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2016

We had our concerns about staying here having read other reviews, but thought we'd give it a try. I wish we hadn't! The room was probably the worst we've stayed in; the sort of carpet where you don't want to walk barefoot. The bathroom had cracked tiles, an uneven floor and wasn't very clean. It rained while we were there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank katykatykaty86
Simone A, Guest Relations Manager at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this review

good morning, we are sorry you didn't like your stay with us,we are in the process to renovate the rest of hotel rooms,but as you can imagine it will take time to do them all...some of them are being refurbished already,so if you mentioned to me that you were not happy about your room i would have try to sort...

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2016

We stayed here twice for Wales rugby matches. The hotel rooms are undergoing renovation our daughters room was completed and was lovely. We had a family room which was waiting to be done but was still clean. Tea and coffee making facilities are available in rooms. There was an iron and ironing board on the landing for guests to use....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
Simone A, Guest Relations Manager at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind review ,it was a pleasure to have you here with us,we hope to see you soon again !!!!

Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Myself and my daughter stayed at this hotel during our recent visit to watch Wales play Scotland in the Six Nations. It was our first visit and were thrilled with the standard of accomodation. Despite the website saying that check in was not before 4pm we were able to access our room before leaving for the match. There was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DAVINA T
Simone A, Guest Relations Manager at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this review

thank you very much for the lovely review and we will taking on board your comment so we will provide a breakfast menu as soon as possible. hope to see you soon , regards

Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

Couldn't have picked a better restaurant, excellent service, excellent food for adults and children. Very welcoming owners and staff, thank you all for a fantastic evening. Me and my family we definitely be coming again, Sunday dinner will be next 👍🏻💯😃 xx

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rowan J
Simone A, Guest Relations Manager at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this review

pleasure to hear that you had a nice time,looking forward to welcome you again soon

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caerleon
1.3 km away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
9.9 km away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
4.2 km away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
3.8 km away
Gateway Hotel
Gateway Hotel
#15 of 18 in Newport
58 reviews
6.2 km away
The Old Barn Inn
The Old Barn Inn
#1 of 2 in Llanmartin
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel

Address: Ponthir Road, Caerleon, Newport NP18 3NY, Wales (Formerly Roman Lodge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport > Caerleon
Price Range: ₹ 3,435 - ₹ 5,446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Hotel Caerleon
Roman Hotel Newport
The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel Caerleon, Newport, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Yeppoon, Australia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not Room 9”
sharopic, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“do not go near room 12 (106) I was in room 8 which was average, I didnt see any other rooms.”
davidcS7869DL, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't book at this hotel”
ADS92, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't accept room 12!”
  • This is room 12!
  • The camera has made it look bigger
  • Nowhere for my clothes?
  • Sat on the bed to take this
  • The bed......
  • The bed was a camp bed!!!
Readie1965, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ensure after an on-line booking you phone them before arrival”
mdelacey, 15 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
LateRooms.com
* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates