We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ardea Purpurea Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Ardea Purpurea Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 17: English reviews
Faro District, Portugal
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We were a group of 2 families 4 adults and 5 kids. We all stayed in one of the large bungalows. The place is very simple and quite nice. It is very nice to come from a long journey, late at night and be hosted with such friendliness.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jspereira2015
Ardea Purpurea A, Director de Recepción at Ardea Purpurea Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much. Our objective is to became the lodgement in a place to relax and enjoy it. I wish to see you again at our hotel on another occasion.

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2016

We stayed here for a week whilst visiting the Coto Donana area, which it is ideal for. The lodge is set in beautiful natural grounds with visiting Storks, Bee-eaters & Black Kites just outside the small town of Villmanrique. The rooms we had were delightful with a terrace at the front and private patio at the rear. We were on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JohnnMoyra
Ardea Purpurea A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ardea Purpurea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jhon, Thanks a lot for your words. We are very happy to hear that from you. About english spoken, you are right, the people wich speak properly english is on holidays. I can help with the language but we are only in the morning and lunch time. But anyway, please visit us again, and all our staff will speak...

Newport
Reviewed 16 February 2016

We have visited Ardea Purpurea for dinner several times over several years and have never been disappointed. During our most recent experience the management went above and beyond to help intercede in correcting a mistake made by a Flamenco performance group that had mistakenly booked our private show for the wrong night. Aside from the usual excellent food, perfect service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James P
Ardea Purpurea A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ardea Purpurea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Tranks a lot for your words. All the staff are very happy to hear you were so good. You have your home in Ardea Purpurea. We would like to see you again¡¡¡

Wokingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2015

This hotel is in the middle of the countryside. It's accessed via a dirt track. At night, you can hear strange animal calls. The hotel provides a nuber of separate chalet style rooms. They're very quiet. Fittings were excellent in mine. Nice staff, reasonable rates. Restaurant quite good, but I thought its ambition exceeded its skill level.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John A
Ardea Purpurea A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ardea Purpurea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sir, TRanks for your words and your time. We would like to see you again in our home

Orcheta, Spain
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Located on the edge of a very nice town and not far from El Rocia which is a very interesting place. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable but if I visited this hotel again I would book a Lodge not a Double Bedroom as they are larger and have more facilities. Breakfast is very good and all the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarenVez
Ardea Purpurea A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ardea Purpurea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Tranks a lot for your words. We would like to suggest a bungalow the next time

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2015

On arrival we asked if our two single rooms could be changed for one of the bungalows and, as soon as they checked, there was no problem for us. The bungalow was very comfortable, with air conditioning in every room. The bungalow was very well equipped but if anything was missing, we only had to mention it and it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
Ardea Purpurea A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ardea Purpurea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very happy with yours words. It was a great pleasure to share our home with your and i would like to see you again

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 3 September 2015

We stayed more than a week in a cottage. The resort is located just outside tiny Villamanrique and is well signposted even though the GPS did not recognise the hotel itself. Access is via a dirt road of about 800 metres. The hotel has a characteristic outlook: a thatched main building which houses the reception, the restaurant and the few...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Budgetglasgow
Ardea Purpurea A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ardea Purpurea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Fist all, Tranks a lo for your extense and details about the hotel. I would like to explain you about your clothes, all the staff was looking for it, the chambermaid, the waitress, the recepcionist, the maintennance and we are asked to the another guest and the laundry but we dont have news about it, About the details,...

Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights to go birding in Coto Doñana. We were skeptical on the dirt road approach, but it was wonderful. The art, architecture and grounds were beautiful. The room was great. We requested a double bed, but the room (#3) had two twins, they said they'd change it the next day, but didn't and we didn't pursue it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PipperDog
Ardea Purpurea A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ardea Purpurea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Simon, Tranks a lot for your words. As you know we have just one or two king size beds and if we didnt you this bed was because we dont have availability, i apologize for his disturbed. We were very happy with you and i would like to see you again

Stirlingshire, Scotland
Reviewed 24 May 2015

Rooms are large and comfortable but can be a bit dark due to the dark wood used. Bathrooms are great with a walk in shower and very unusual wash bowl made of local looking pottery basin. Grounds of hotel are nice and there is loads of birdlife around. Pool is small and not that deep but a very nice place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hamishhow
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Reviewed 18 October 2014

We loved the remoteness, the whole setting, the room/bungalow, the very accommodating staff. All very good. Being in a remote place, we didn't go out for diner and that was not needed. Good meal for a fair price. And they serve a great gin tonic. Good place for bird watching The pool was a bit too small and shallow to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peteronium

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villamanrique de la Condesa
20.8 km away
Pequeno Rocio
Pequeno Rocio
#1 of 3 in El Rocio
43 reviews
35.2 km away
Gran Hotel del Coto
Gran Hotel del Coto
#2 of 8 in Matalascanas
1,125 reviews
34.9 km away
Carabela Beach & Golf Hotel
Carabela Beach & Golf Hotel
#3 of 8 in Matalascanas
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 km away
Hotel La Malvasia
Hotel La Malvasia
#2 of 3 in El Rocio
112 reviews
20.5 km away
Hotel Palacio Donana
Hotel Palacio Donana
#2 of 10 in El Rocio
16 reviews
8.3 km away
Hacienda Olontigi
Hacienda Olontigi
#1 of 4 in Aznalcazar
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"Ardea Purpurea" is surrounded by nature, located in an area of a Mediterranean forest, 5 minutes away from Villamanrique de la Condesa, at the doors of the Donana National Park.Its design and construction is based on traditional and typical marsh cottages of the area known as "chozas marismenas", each with exquisite and impeccable decoration.The complex consists of a 9-hectare farm with wide outdoor leisure areas, a beautiful lake, a central building with a restaurant, the reception, a big garden, private parking and large, warm bedrooms where the sunlight plays an essential role. The bedrooms are equipped with bathroom, air-conditioning, central heating, TV, Internet access, safe-deposit box, minibar and a private terrace with lake and forest views.The complex also contains 2 self-catering marsh cottages situated in a forest grove. They can accommodate from 4-6 people each. They are equipped with fully fitted kitchen, bathroom, air-conditioning, central heating, TV/DVD, Internet access, safe-deposit box and a private terrace with lake and forest views.All our common areas are adapted for disabled peopleFor lovers of rich gastronomy, our restaurant, open to the public, delights our clients with an exquisite Mediterranean cuisine. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ardea Purpurea Lodge

Address: Vereda de los Labrados s/n | Estamos en plena Naturaleza a 800 m. de Villamanrique de la Condesa, 41850 Villamanrique de la Condesa, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Villamanrique de la Condesa
Price Range: ₹ 6,042 - ₹ 12,015 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardea Purpurea Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Ardea Purpurea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ardea Purpurea Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Ardea Purpurea Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is a restaraunt review”
 of 5 bubbles jamespN6064GX, 16 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are all separate form the restaurant and bar area so quiet and they have larger cottages in the grounds. The main gate is locked at night and so even though rural you have no worries.”
 of 5 bubbles KarenS774, 11 Oct 2013 | Read review
“All rooms are the same so far as I am aware. Motel style ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles creavey, 4 Dec 2011 | Read review
“If you are a large group or family, choose one of the chalets”
 of 5 bubbles shahpur1, 23 Sep 2011 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay