We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Sam Sand Dunes, Sam 345001 India
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (51)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (25)

About

#33 of 134 Specialty lodging in Sam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Spirit Desert Camp & Resort . Jaisalmer is a land of love, luxury and lavishing cuisine and with these 3 services Mr Singh, a 2 time award winning resort manager, has opened Spirit Desert Camp to offer his services for you. The Sam Sand Dunes in Jaisalmer is a perfect gateway for traveller who want to spend a holiday away from the noisy streets of metropolitan cities and enjoy the famous desert safari of Jaisalmer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Children's playground
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Valet parking
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Outdoor fireplace
Picnic area
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Seating area
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
54Reviews2Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 34
  • 8
  • 7
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ankit wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
+1
Thought to have best camel and desert safari with family! Now I suggest all my friends and relatives to stay in Spirit Desert Camp and experience the activities you'll never forget. Must visit staffs and services were supportive and Frank ;)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sridhar wrote a review Jan 2022
2 contributions
It was new year’s eve we’ve been to this place expecting a memorable experience which turned out to be a terrible and bitter one. Firstly, tents were not equipped with heaters to sustain the chilly weather resulted in uncomfortable and insufficient sleep. The heater provided upon request was of no use. Programs and food is average and not up to the mark. Finally, the Jeep safari is a gamble here. Though it’s optional and say it’s not part of the camp they all are part of the game. Safari guy will lure the guests with an album having impressive photos of the desert and gets the money in advance for the following day’s trip. In our case he charged Rs 4200 that too after bargaining which is a loot and they completely exploited the situation.The person who took us for this ride in his jeep is so pathetic that we didn’t even realised that the safari is over and returning to the place where we started.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Karthik B wrote a review Oct 2019
Bangalore District, India191 contributions29 helpful votes
Spirit desert camp is right beyond the sand dunes in Sam. The check in was smooth. There was no hassles. Please remember that the camp provides very basic amenities, so consider this when you book this one. We booked in at Oct 1st week in 2019 and there were barely a few visitors apart from us. As for the amenities, the camp provided an A/C tent and the finish etc. will be very basic cemented structures. The camp doesn't provide any warm water at all. The bathroom doesn't even have a soap stand, however was clean with a western toilet. The lowlight was that when we got there the generator wasn't working and there was a considerably power cut for 45mins or so and when asked they said this is the 1st week of the season, which didn't seem like a good response. Also, once in the night the power went away, however it was restored in 10-15mins. The food provided was decent, basic Rajasthani native cuisine. The breakfast had Poha and Paratha, they obliged to provide it early. Coming to the jeep safari, they charged 2500/- whereas outside one could get 1500/- a considerable difference. THis could have been moderated and did not feel good at all. The camp provided some dance and music in the night prior to dinner. Overall this is a very basic camp and I recommend this for people who don't bother much about the comforts etc. I suggest you go in good season where you know there will be many tourists, may be that way you will get good service and may feel more comfortable with a family. If you stayed at the city hotels which are star rated, they may not be the camp for you, may as well book a better one.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Pick A/C tents and go when there are many guests.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SpiritBalwant, Owner at Spirit Desert Camp
Responded 7 Feb 2020
Dear Guest Khamma Ghani Thank you for taking out time and posting a review on our Camp and its services. The entire team is delighted to know that they came up to your expectations. It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and to have been of service to you. Positive feedback encourages our team to strive to perform better. It has always been our focus to provide our valued guests with personalized service. It will give me great pleasure to share your gracious praise with the entire team - the team will truly appreciate your generous comments. We take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times and look forward to your future visits. Look forward to having you with us again at Spirit Desert Camp, during your next visit to Sam Sand Dunes, Jaisalmer. With Warm Regards Team – Spirit Desert Camp 8619077482 / 9588831732
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samidha wrote a review May 2019
3 contributions
We had been to Sam Sand Dune on 10th May 2019 and stayed at Spirit Desert Camp for one night As we were travelling with a joint family we booked two AC cottages one cottage costing Rs.4000 for a night. The night we stayed there was power cut the whole night with no AC working. While checking out they promised they would refund the money (they have a policy of accepting payments in advance while booking the cottage ) But even after repeated follow ups they haven't refunded any amount. They are cheat. They don't provide listed services. Their cultural programs are also not upto the mark. Please don't choose spirit if you don't want to spoil your holiday
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SpiritBalwant, Owner at Spirit Desert Camp
Responded 7 Feb 2020
Dear Guest Khamma Ghani Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the problems that you encountered during your last stay. This is not the type of review that we like to see, and I assure you that I will be looking into each point that you have made. If it is convenient, I would like to discuss your experience further, so that I might learn more about how to improve our property and service for you and our other guests. Please feel free to call me at the office number below. Moreover due to natural disaster at midnight we had to face all the problem, as a Human Being we need to understand the situation, even after the same we had committed to refund the said amount as per the Camp Policy but you didnot have any patience for the same & stopped communicating with us & reviewed us negatively in Tripadvisor. Look forward to having you with us again at Spirit Desert Camp, during your next visit to Sam Sand Dunes, Jaisalmer. With Warm Regards Team – Spirit Desert Camp 8619077482 / 9588831732
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ladu Singh wrote a review Feb 2019
Jhunjhunu District, India6 contributions
In the month of sept 2018 I visited here. It was really a great place for tourist with excellent service.specially the views and weather is touched to my heart.will love to come back with my friends.once again thank you all for your assistance.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SpiritBalwant, Owner at Spirit Desert Camp
Responded 23 Apr 2019
Dear Guest Khamma Ghani Thank you for taking out time and posting a review on our Camp and its services. The entire team is delighted to know that they came up to your expectations. It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and to have been of service to you. Positive feedback encourages our team to strive to perform better. It has always been our focus to provide our valued guests with personalized service. It will give me great pleasure to share your gracious praise with the entire team - the team will truly appreciate your generous comments. We take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times and look forward to your future visits. Look forward to having you with us again at Spirit Desert Camp, during your next visit to Sam Sand Dunes, Jaisalmer. With Warm Regards Team – Spirit Desert Camp 9829791349/9587016282
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pabal wrote a review Jan 2019
Toronto, Canada39 contributions27 helpful votes
We stayed here for one night. This is the actual picture: 1. Location: 45kms from the city. So you are heavily dependent on either self drive or hired vehicle. Sam is great and there are loads and loads of desert camps on this road. As you are dependent on hired vehicle, the owner and local drivers conspire and heavily loot you. Plz hire your own vehicles and don't do it via this camp. They won't tell you the cost of the cab and the local drivers are absolute gundas who would do anything to you for the money. We were mugged and hence warning others. Also, these drivers with try selling camel rides, force you to get off the vehicle to try other activities. Don't get down. Just tell them you have a package with the camp and you don't wish to do any siteseeing. The camp is a shared camp with another camp called Royal jaisalmer or something. Spirit had only 3 camps occupied when we went but royal was completely occupied. 2. Once you reach the camp, the check in is smooth. The camp workers are hard workers. They aren't very friendly but they are nice. The tents are great, clean and well done. Hot water and regular water was available which is exceptional coz the locals don't get any water in the desert. For Dec, it was freezing cold, you won't have any heater etc but the blankets are warm and clean and no worries safety wise. 3. After site seeing Rajasthan completely, we do not recommend solo woman trips to Jaisalmer(specifically). Its a very old fashioned India where people are violent, no rajasthani women would be outside and men would not talk or help women travelers. Eve teasing, cat calls etc were very common So be extremely careful if you are alone. Hence, this camp is also not recommended for any solo travelers as its in a remote place and you get heavily dependent on your driver or vehicle who may not be trust worthy always. 4. Food and entertainment : excellent. Very nice rajasthani cuisine, excellent dinner and breakfast. Wonderful camp entertainers with who perform very nice and dangerous acts. Excellent music, dance and other programs. 5. There were loads of men drinking, smoking or working their hookahs. Nothing wrong with it bcoz There was no misbehavior or issue but don't expect it to be perfectly indian "family" environment. People are allowed to get their liquor stock and even they sell to customers and have fridge for storing these things. 6. The jeep safari - usually in other camps the price is 1500 rs. If you travel in Dec it will not be less than 2500 Rs coz almost 500-1000rs is camp's commission in it. The jeep safari is highly recommended and an excellent thing. Our driver was awesome and we had a great time. 7. The camel package: you will not be asked to be paid anything but the camel guys do expect you to tip generously like at least a rs100. Its a good ride of ten mins with pictures clicking. Be cautious that the teat thats offered, the dancers offered all are charged so depending on if you want to pay, then go ahead an dive in. 8. Sunset in the desert is a once in a life time experience, must try Would recommend the camp, the jeep safari, food and entertainment. The camp is value for money but remember that everyone is looking to make money of you.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book your own vehicle and go to this place. All tents seem good although we saw only ours from...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SpiritBalwant, Owner at Spirit Desert Camp
Responded 23 Apr 2019
Dear Guest Khamma Ghani We are grateful to you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to our property. It is extremely disappointing to hear about your experience as we endeavour to consistently deliver quality to our guests and thrive to maintain high standards comparable to the best of Camp and the series of appreciation stands testimony to the same. We value the feedback we receive and would like to discuss your concern in greater detail and request you to send us your coordinates for us to get in touch with you directly at (spritdesertcamp@gmail.com) as per your convenience. We can only help & assist you with the service & activities that we provide to you at the Camp, we donot have control on the outside vendors that Guest deal directly. So we always suggest the Guest to take complete service from the Camp only. Look forward to having you with us again at Spirit Desert Camp, during your next visit to Sam Sand Dunes, Jaisalmer. With Warm Regards Team – Spirit Desert Camp 9829791349/9587016282
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sherpa41196974123 wrote a review Nov 2018
1 contribution
It was my pleasure to stay in Spirit Desert Camp n enjoy their hospitality. Special care was taken of us from check in to check out. Even during this peak season n busy time they have shown their hospitality to all of their Guest. All appreciation to total team n special thanks to owner Balwant Singh. Thanks a lot, we will surely come back n refer our friends to visit Spirit Desert Camp.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SpiritBalwant, Owner at Spirit Desert Camp
Responded 23 Apr 2019
Dear Guest Khamma Ghani Thank you for sharing your comprehensive review about us, I am delighted to note that you had a pleasant stay with us. Our greatest award lies in the knowledge that your stay was satisfactory and all our efforts are aimed in that direction. It is indeed our pleasure in fulfilling a guest’s needs, especially by providing a comfortable stay experience as well as fabulous dining experience. On behalf of the whole team, we thank you for your compliments on the service. Endorsements such as yours are highly motivating and encouraging for my colleagues to ensure authentic hospitality. Look forward to having you with us again at Spirit Desert Camp, during your next visit to Sam Sand Dunes, Jaisalmer. With Warm Regards Team – Spirit Desert Camp 9829791349/9587016282
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
akshubr wrote a review Oct 2018
Bangalore District, India5 contributions
Excellent property to stay and very helpful staff. Thanks to Mr. Venkatesh and his staff for such a warm hospitality. Recommend travelers to try this camp as this is priced right with required amenities. Also, try out the camel ride and jeep desert ride once you get into this camp. Staff here are humble and honest with respect to requests from guests (especially on the activity rates). Cultural events were well organised and motivated staff help customers on their requirements.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SpiritBalwant, Owner at Spirit Desert Camp
Responded 9 Nov 2018
Dear Guest, Khamma Ghani Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sparing time to share your review online. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed our services and offerings. We always aim to surpass our guest’s expectations and nothing makes us happier than a confirmation that we are meeting this goal through comments such as yours. It was pleasure to host you and we trust you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you in the not too distant future. Your kind words of appreciation for Mr Venkatesh has been a great source of inspiration for him & to the entire team and this has motivated them to serve better, thus ensuring our guests take back fond memories. We have communicated your feedback to the entire team and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are greatly appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future. We look forward to having you with us again at Spirit Desert Camp, Sam Sand Dunes, Jaisalmer. Thank You With Warm Regards Team Spirit Desert Camp
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Navigator825483 wrote a review Oct 2018
11 contributions
+1
It was really an amazing experience staying there. Staff is very much supportive and co-operative. Thank u Mr. Venkatesh for all the support. We surely recommend our friends and relatives about your resort. It was really fun. Thank u so much
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SpiritBalwant, Owner at Spirit Desert Camp
Responded 9 Nov 2018
Dear Guest, Khamma Ghani It was a pleasure to have you stay at our camp during your recent visit to Jaisalmer and we appreciate your time to review us. We are very happy to read your review. Also, it is our endeavour that every guest who leaves the resort, is delighted with their stay and food experience. Your feedback is a reward for the team who is always striving for perfection. Thank you for your generous praise. The team look forward to welcoming you back. We look forward to having you with us again at Spirit Desert Camp, Sam Sand Dunes, Jaisalmer. Thank You With Warm Regards Team Spirit Desert Camp
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
monendrasingh6 wrote a review Oct 2018
Jaipur, India1 contribution
Visited in October with my family, oh my god it was wonderful n amazing in spending a night in Thar Desert with Spirit Desert Camp. Amazing Camel ride Wonderful Jeep Safari Helpful staff Nice Camp Excellent Service Delicious food What more one wants in a desert. Special thanks to Mr Balwant Singh for his excellent Hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SpiritBalwant, Owner at Spirit Desert Camp
Responded 9 Nov 2018
Dear Guest, Khamma Ghani It was a pleasure in welcoming you to our Camp. We thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on Tripadvisor. We entire team is simply enthralled and grateful to you for your kind words regarding our service offerings. My thoughts coincide with yours about the very capable and friendly associates who believe and imbibe our core philosophy of spirit to serve. I thank you once again for rating us as your choice. Thank you again for your kind words and certainly we look forward to hosting you again soon with better services. We look forward to having you with us again at Spirit Desert Camp, Sam Sand Dunes, Jaisalmer. Thank You Warm Regards Team Spirit Desert Camp
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$26 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaRajasthanJaisalmer DistrictSam
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SPIRIT DESERT CAMP (Sam, Rajasthan) - Lodge Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Spirit Desert Camp
Which popular attractions are close to Spirit Desert Camp?
Nearby attractions include Desert Art Gallery (2.2 km), Hari Om Jewellers (2.1 km), and Jai Shankar Handicrafts (2.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Spirit Desert Camp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Spirit Desert Camp?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a desk, and extra long beds.
What food & drink options are available at Spirit Desert Camp?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Spirit Desert Camp?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Spirit Desert Camp?
Conveniently located restaurants include Prithvi Restaurant, The Traveler's Cup Premium Coffee Shop, and Jaisalmer Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Spirit Desert Camp?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Spirit Desert Camp have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Spirit Desert Camp offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Spirit Desert Camp have airport transportation?
Yes, Spirit Desert Camp offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Spirit Desert Camp?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Spirit Desert Camp?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Hindi.