We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spirit Desert Camp

Save
Share
Sam Sand Dunes, Sam 345001 India
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
Agoda.com
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (25)

About

#52 of 95 Speciality lodging in Sam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Spirit Desert Camp & Resort . Jaisalmer is a land of love, luxury and lavishing cuisine and with these 3 services Mr Singh, a 2 time award winning resort manager, has opened Spirit Desert Camp to offer his services for you. The Sam Sand Dunes in Jaisalmer is a perfect gateway for traveller who want to spend a holiday away from the noisy streets of metropolitan cities and enjoy the famous desert safari of Jaisalmer.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Children's playground
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Valet parking
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Outdoor fireplace
Picnic area
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Seating area
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
52Reviews2Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 33
  • 8
  • 7
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Karthik B wrote a review Oct 2019
Bangalore District, India174 contributions26 helpful votes
Spirit desert camp is right beyond the sand dunes in Sam. The check in was smooth. There was no hassles. Please remember that the camp provides very basic amenities, so consider this when you book this one. We booked in at Oct 1st week in 2019 and there were barely a few visitors apart from us. As for the amenities, the camp provided an A/C tent and the finish etc. will be very basic cemented structures. The camp doesn't provide any warm water at all. The bathroom doesn't even have a soap stand, however was clean with a western toilet. The lowlight was that when we got there the generator wasn't working and there was a considerably power cut for 45mins or so and when asked they said this is the 1st week of the season, which didn't seem like a good response. Also, once in the night the power went away, however it was restored in 10-15mins. The food provided was decent, basic Rajasthani native cuisine. The breakfast had Poha and Paratha, they obliged to provide it early. Coming to the jeep safari, they charged 2500/- whereas outside one could get 1500/- a considerable difference. THis could have been moderated and did not feel good at all. The camp provided some dance and music in the night prior to dinner. Overall this is a very basic camp and I recommend this for people who don't bother much about the comforts etc. I suggest you go in good season where you know there will be many tourists, may be that way you will get good service and may feel more comfortable with a family. If you stayed at the city hotels which are star rated, they may not be the camp for you, may as well book a better one.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Pick A/C tents and go when there are many guests.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from SpiritBalwant, Owner at Spirit Desert Camp
Responded 7 Feb 2020
Dear Guest Khamma Ghani Thank you for taking out time and posting a review on our Camp and its services. The entire team is delighted to know that they came up to your expectations. It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and to have been of service to you. Positive feedback encourages our team to strive to perform better. It has always been our focus to provide our valued guests with personalized service. It will give me great pleasure to share your gracious praise with the entire team - the team will truly appreciate your generous comments. We take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times and look forward to your future visits. Look forward to having you with us again at Spirit Desert Camp, during your next visit to Sam Sand Dunes, Jaisalmer. With Warm Regards Team – Spirit Desert Camp 8619077482 / 9588831732
Read more
Samidha wrote a review May 2019
3 contributions
We had been to Sam Sand Dune on 10th May 2019 and stayed at Spirit Desert Camp for one night As we were travelling with a joint family we booked two AC cottages one cottage costing Rs.4000 for a night. The night we stayed there was power cut the whole night with no AC working. While checking out they promised they would refund the money (they have a policy of accepting payments in advance while booking the cottage ) But even after repeated follow ups they haven't refunded any amount. They are cheat. They don't provide listed services. Their cultural programs are also not upto the mark. Please don't choose spirit if you don't want to spoil your holiday
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from SpiritBalwant, Owner at Spirit Desert Camp
Responded 7 Feb 2020
Dear Guest Khamma Ghani Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the problems that you encountered during your last stay. This is not the type of review that we like to see, and I assure you that I will be looking into each point that you have made. If it is convenient, I would like to discuss your experience further, so that I might learn more about how to improve our property and service for you and our other guests. Please feel free to call me at the office number below. Moreover due to natural disaster at midnight we had to face all the problem, as a Human Being we need to understand the situation, even after the same we had committed to refund the said amount as per the Camp Policy but you didnot have any patience for the same & stopped communicating with us & reviewed us negatively in Tripadvisor. Look forward to having you with us again at Spirit Desert Camp, during your next visit to Sam Sand Dunes, Jaisalmer. With Warm Regards Team – Spirit Desert Camp 8619077482 / 9588831732
Read more
Ladu Singh wrote a review Feb 2019
4 contributions
In the month of sept 2018 I visited here. It was really a great place for tourist with excellent service.specially the views and weather is touched to my heart.will love to come back with my friends.once again thank you all for your assistance.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from SpiritBalwant, Owner at Spirit Desert Camp
Responded 23 Apr 2019
Dear Guest Khamma Ghani Thank you for taking out time and posting a review on our Camp and its services. The entire team is delighted to know that they came up to your expectations. It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and to have been of service to you. Positive feedback encourages our team to strive to perform better. It has always been our focus to provide our valued guests with personalized service. It will give me great pleasure to share your gracious praise with the entire team - the team will truly appreciate your generous comments. We take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times and look forward to your future visits. Look forward to having you with us again at Spirit Desert Camp, during your next visit to Sam Sand Dunes, Jaisalmer. With Warm Regards Team – Spirit Desert Camp 9829791349/9587016282
Read more
pabal wrote a review Jan 2019
Toronto, Canada39 contributions26 helpful votes
We stayed here for one night. This is the actual picture: 1. Location: 45kms from the city. So you are heavily dependent on either self drive or hired vehicle. Sam is great and there are loads and loads of desert camps on this road. As you are dependent on hired vehicle, the owner and local drivers conspire and heavily loot you. Plz hire your own vehicles and don't do it via this camp. They won't tell you the cost of the cab and the local drivers are absolute gundas who would do anything to you for the money. We were mugged and hence warning others. Also, these drivers with try selling camel rides, force you to get off the vehicle to try other activities. Don't get down. Just tell them you have a package with the camp and you don't wish to do any siteseeing. The camp is a shared camp with another camp called Royal jaisalmer or something. Spirit had only 3 camps occupied when we went but royal was completely occupied. 2. Once you reach the camp, the check in is smooth. The camp workers are hard workers. They aren't very friendly but they are nice. The tents are great, clean and well done. Hot water and regular water was available which is exceptional coz the locals don't get any water in the desert. For Dec, it was freezing cold, you won't have any heater etc but the blankets are warm and clean and no worries safety wise. 3. After site seeing Rajasthan completely, we do not recommend solo woman trips to Jaisalmer(specifically). Its a very old fashioned India where people are violent, no rajasthani women would be outside and men would not talk or help women travelers. Eve teasing, cat calls etc were very common So be extremely careful if you are alone. Hence, this camp is also not recommended for any solo travelers as its in a remote place and you get heavily dependent on your driver or vehicle who may not be trust worthy always. 4. Food and entertainment : excellent. Very nice rajasthani cuisine, excellent dinner and breakfast. Wonderful camp entertainers with who perform very nice and dangerous acts. Excellent music, dance and other programs. 5. There were loads of men drinking, smoking or working their hookahs. Nothing wrong with it bcoz There was no misbehavior or issue but don't expect it to be perfectly indian "family" environment. People are allowed to get their liquor stock and even they sell to customers and have fridge for storing these things. 6. The jeep safari - usually in other camps the price is 1500 rs. If you travel in Dec it will not be less than 2500 Rs coz almost 500-1000rs is camp's commission in it. The jeep safari is highly recommended and an excellent thing. Our driver was awesome and we had a great time. 7. The camel package: you will not be asked to be paid anything but the camel guys do expect you to tip generously like at least a rs100. Its a good ride of ten mins with pictures clicking. Be cautious that the teat thats offered, the dancers offered all are charged so depending on if you want to pay, then go ahead an dive in. 8. Sunset in the desert is a once in a life time experience, must try Would recommend the camp, the jeep safari, food and entertainment. The camp is value for money but remember that everyone is looking to make money of you.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book your own vehicle and go to this place. All tents seem good although we saw only ours from...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SpiritBalwant, Owner at Spirit Desert Camp
Responded 23 Apr 2019
Dear Guest Khamma Ghani We are grateful to you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to our property. It is extremely disappointing to hear about your experience as we endeavour to consistently deliver quality to our guests and thrive to maintain high standards comparable to the best of Camp and the series of appreciation stands testimony to the same. We value the feedback we receive and would like to discuss your concern in greater detail and request you to send us your coordinates for us to get in touch with you directly at (spritdesertcamp@gmail.com) as per your convenience. We can only help & assist you with the service & activities that we provide to you at the Camp, we donot have control on the outside vendors that Guest deal directly. So we always suggest the Guest to take complete service from the Camp only. Look forward to having you with us again at Spirit Desert Camp, during your next visit to Sam Sand Dunes, Jaisalmer. With Warm Regards Team – Spirit Desert Camp 9829791349/9587016282
Read more
Sherpa41196974123 wrote a review Nov 2018
1 contribution
It was my pleasure to stay in Spirit Desert Camp n enjoy their hospitality. Special care was taken of us from check in to check out. Even during this peak season n busy time they have shown their hospitality to all of their Guest. All appreciation to total team n special thanks to owner Balwant Singh. Thanks a lot, we will surely come back n refer our friends to visit Spirit Desert Camp.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from SpiritBalwant, Owner at Spirit Desert Camp
Responded 23 Apr 2019
Dear Guest Khamma Ghani Thank you for sharing your comprehensive review about us, I am delighted to note that you had a pleasant stay with us. Our greatest award lies in the knowledge that your stay was satisfactory and all our efforts are aimed in that direction. It is indeed our pleasure in fulfilling a guest’s needs, especially by providing a comfortable stay experience as well as fabulous dining experience. On behalf of the whole team, we thank you for your compliments on the service. Endorsements such as yours are highly motivating and encouraging for my colleagues to ensure authentic hospitality. Look forward to having you with us again at Spirit Desert Camp, during your next visit to Sam Sand Dunes, Jaisalmer. With Warm Regards Team – Spirit Desert Camp 9829791349/9587016282
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$41 - US$82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaRajasthanJaisalmer DistrictSam
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Spirit Desert Camp
Which popular attractions are close to Spirit Desert Camp?
Nearby attractions include Desert Art Gallery (1.9 km), Hari Om Jewellers (2.1 km), and Ali Baba Boutique (2.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Spirit Desert Camp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Spirit Desert Camp?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a desk, and extra long beds.
What food & drink options are available at Spirit Desert Camp?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Spirit Desert Camp?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Spirit Desert Camp?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Traveler's Cup Premium Coffee Shop, The Lal Garh, and The Turban restaurant and cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Spirit Desert Camp?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Spirit Desert Camp have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Spirit Desert Camp offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Spirit Desert Camp?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Spirit Desert Camp?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Spirit Desert Camp?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Jaisalmer Fort (2.8 km), Kothari's Patwaon-Ki-Haveli (2.3 km), and Maharaja's Palace (2.2 km).