We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Richmond Gate Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Richmond Gate Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

924 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Richmond Gate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 905: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I had one night here as we were meeting friends nearby the next day. The room we had was quite small with a small double bed, comfy and clean but glad we only had one night. Breakfast not that good really, poor standand of an English breakfast, presented in a small hallway type area, Luke warm and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Coronation11
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was of course disappointed to read that your experience was not a success. I understand you had booked a standard room type we do of course offer a number of room’s types and sizes at varying price range. I was of course sorry to learn you did not enjoy...

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We've celebrated my husband's birthday at this lovely hotel and we received a complimentary upgrade after letting them know in advance. Our room was a fantastic suite with a four poster bed, a very large, nicely furnished room with a bay window sofa. It was incredibly quiet and the room was very warm when we arrived but we turned the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mooney76
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I really do appreciate your feedback relating the hotel. I was also delighted to read about the team, and the great breakfast thank you, I will of course share your comments with all of the team It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you...

Guildford Surrey
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed an excellent time here last Sunday lunchtime. It was a family celebration and Ruksanda arranged for us to have a room to ourselves- such a godsend when there are babies and young children involved. Service was really great , thank you so much to Anna and Dasha, nothing was too much trouble. The brunch menu suited us perfectly,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hilary5071
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read how much you had both enjoyed your event with us. It was wonderful to read how we played a small part in making your event a little more memorable. It is always a huge honour to read comments about the service team members have provided...

felsted
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Walking down into Richmond the view is fantastic likewise in the opposite direction you are in the park in 1 minute Staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful Hotel is an old traditional building but very well kept Bar area a bit small but overall great place to stay if you are heading in this area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sjbones
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I really do appreciate your feedback relating to the hotel. I will of course share your comments with all of the team It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Richmond. Nick Henry General Manager

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016

We stayed for one night. The hotel is situated in beautiful part of London and coincided with our trip to the Rugby final. We had a lovely meal in the evening at the hotel. The next day we were able to leave our bag whilst we made the most of walking along the river in Richmond during the morning. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I really do appreciate your feedback relating to the hotel. I will of course share your comments with all of the team It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Richmond. Nick Henry General Manager

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Handy and reasonably priced parking at the front of the hotel. We received a warm and friendly welcome from Anusia on reception. Good to be back in this lovely hotel after a few years' absence. We stayed in a four poster room which was spacious and featured a large comfortable bed and quality furniture and fittings. Slept well and had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SheldonCole
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for a couple of nights to celebrate our anniversary. We were pleasantly surprised to find we had been upgraded after letting them know this prior to our visit. The room was spectacular, the staff really friendly and helpful and the food amazing. We felt very spoilt and would like to especially mention Chief who manned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pendan34
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. Congratulations on your Wedding Anniversary I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us in particular the standard of service in the bar . I was also delighted to read about the service individual team members provided it is always a huge honour to read comments...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Stayed the night of our wedding and was so disappointed - would never stay there again. There was no acknowledgement of it being our wedding day. Staff in the breakfast room were appalling: not greeted, had to get up and approach staff to get drinks, coffee was undrinkable as it was so strong, breakfast buffet had run out of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P3thjackie
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am fully aware of the circumstances regarding your stay; we have personally spoken about all aspects of your complaint in July after having contacted me personally as well as posting reviews on other sites. I also understand it is your right to have an opinion and I we fully admit your stay was...

Reviewed 2 November 2016

My husband and I have just returned home from a most enjoyable stay. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet but I must mention the helpfulness of all the staff we came across. They seemed genuinely happy to be working there, making for happy guests.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Had specified a ground floor room due to having difficulty climbing stairs. Was given room in basement after having to go up a small flight of stairs then full flight down to basement. Room was ok, decor a bit dated but adequate for purpose. We went as a group and room 113 looked out onto a wall and door and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion K
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was of course disappointed to read that your experience was not a success. I am sorry that you describe our rooms as dated. I understand you had booked a standard room type we do of course offer a number of room’s types and sizes at varying price range. As...

156 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (129)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 km away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#4 of 12 in Richmond
1,339 reviews
0.2 km away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#5 of 12 in Richmond
598 reviews
1.8 km away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
The Coach and Horses
0.7 km away
Bingham
Bingham
#6 of 12 in Richmond
393 reviews
2.9 km away
Kew Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The four star Richmond Gate Hotel is an elegant eighteenth century building situated at the top of Richmond Hill. Located in Surrey just 7 miles from London's West End and within easy distance from London Heathrow Airport. Richmond Gate is ideally located for visiting the attractions of West London and Surrey, including Twickenham Rugby Ground, Wimbledon Tennis, the new Wembley Stadium, Kew Gardens and Hampton Court Palace. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Richmond Gate Hotel

Address: 152-158 Richmond Hill, Richmond TW10 6RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond
Price Range: ₹ 6,464 - ₹ 18,384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Richmond Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Richmond Gate Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Richmond Gate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a front facing room, for a view across the river”
 of 5 bubbles PhilipO240, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“lower floors better, no lift- narrow stairs and long corridors.”
 of 5 bubbles Transpires, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for an upgrade”
  • View from Richmond Bridge
  • View from Richmond Hill. Lovely
  • Richmond Bridge
 of 5 bubbles AnastasiG, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Four poster rooms are large and well appointed.”
 of 5 bubbles SheldonCole, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing small garden are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles marionk999, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay