We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Richmond Gate Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

950 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Richmond Gate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 931: English reviews
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 May 2016

We have stayed twice now, some years apart and were impressed both times with the service. The first time we were in a standard room with a small child and a baby. There was room for the standard luxurious bed, camp bed and a cot. This time we up graded to the cottage, which is amazing, like a home from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScottAbroad_11
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that your visit in the main was a success thank you for choosing to stay again. It was fabulous to learn about the service an individual team member has provided. I will of course communicate your comments to Chris and the rest of the team....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Amazing deal, found on travelzoo.com 1 night stay in the hotel for 2 persons with dinner, spa access and breakfast in the morning, all for £125. Rooms were clean and big. Staff were helpful. The dinner was dreadful, a total waste of our evening. I wish we had eaten elsewhere as this did ruin our night. The breakfast in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hanick11
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was pleased to read that overall you had enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the standard of service team members provided. I certainly take on board your comments relating to dinner and I was extremely disappointed to read that you felt that dinner was not to standard....

Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016

We took advantage of a special weekend offer. Super location close to Richmond Park and river walks along the Thanes. Within walking distance also of Richmond town centre with a good choice of bars and restaurants. Leisure complex with pool if you are feeling energetic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madeline878
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read how much you had enjoyed your recent break with us especially from a returning guest. I do hope you choose to come again would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Richmond. Nick Henry General Manager

southampton
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

Check in smooth, room fine although small but all seemed good until we entered the dining room that evening....where a gentlemen who I thought was the security guard waved at a table across the room ....then we ordered our food and wine although I would hardly describe the person taking the order to be a waiter! We then enjoyed our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank katiecrunch007
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website .We do place a high level of focus on staff training and service , and I have to say that I was extremely disappointed and by some of the content of your review. I was pleased however to read that you did like many aspects of the hotel and its...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely weekend away with my 3 friends on a secret escapes deal. We had two nights b&b two evening meals and two bottles of wine great value. The staff were very helpful and friendly with good service too. We hired bikes and cycled around the park, went to Richmond theatre to see an inspector calls and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linda n
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was extremely pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us again. I must admit we do have a great location which allows you to enjoy many of the local sites and attractions. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

We checked in early, as we were off to London to see a show, so were able to park from 11. Receptionist was very helpful and also booked us in for dinner, leaving us just to collect our key on our return from the show in Theatreland. The room was very nice and a good size (305) although we were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lord_Cowdray
Brentford
Reviewed 26 April 2016

This hotel has a lot going for it. Unfortunately, it is does not quite pass muster. We gave a tea for about 60 people and the food was passable, but unexciting and not very generous. The cost was quite high for what was provided. The atmosphere in the conservatory was very nice, with the garden, looking attractive outside. But getting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tiskerman
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on the tripadvisor website. As a team we were all very sorry to read how you have described your event in particular the standard of food and your comments relating to disabled access. In my experience hotel prices remain a hot topic for discussion; therefore we regularly review our pricing and carry out regular...

Finikounda, Greece
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Four couples met up for a weekend at the Richmond Gate. This was an all inclusive deal of bed and breakfast, two course dinner and bottle of wine. Very good value with great breakfast and very reasonable room although public areas a bit faded. Dinner was very ordinary but the portions were good and we had plenty of wine! It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ginny L
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was pleased to read that overall you had enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the standard of service team members provided. I certainly take on board your comments relating to to dinner and acknowledge that you felt this was not a gourmet experience or fine dining I...

liverpool
Reviewed 26 April 2016

This hotel is the ideal base to explore a fascinating and beautiful part of west London. The staff are very helpful without being intrusive, the self-service breakfasts are great, the rooms comfortable and clean, and the rates competitive. Turn left out of the hotel and you're almost in Richmond Park. Go right, enjoy the wonderful views down over the Thames...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blueaardvark
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was extremely pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us again. I must admit we do have a great location which allows you to enjoy many of the local sites and attractions. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you...

Ballinamore
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful location. Very unique, lots of character. Very freindly staff. Short bus ride to richmond town centre. Ideal for an overnight stay. Reasonably accessible to London. Tube nearby. Cant fault it in any way. Would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was extremely pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us. I was also delighted to learn that you felt our team are friendly they one of our greatest assets. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Richmond...

393 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (62)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (236)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Executive Room (30)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Suite (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 km away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Richmond
1,418 reviews
0.2 km away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#5 of 12 in Richmond
625 reviews
1.8 km away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
The Coach and Horses
0.6 km away
Bingham
Bingham
#6 of 12 in Richmond
409 reviews
2.9 km away
Kew Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The four star Richmond Gate Hotel is an elegant eighteenth century building situated at the top of Richmond Hill. Located in Surrey just 7 miles from London's West End and within easy distance from London Heathrow Airport. Richmond Gate is ideally located for visiting the attractions of West London and Surrey, including Twickenham Rugby Ground, Wimbledon Tennis, the new Wembley Stadium, Kew Gardens and Hampton Court Palace. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Richmond Gate Hotel

Address: 152-158 Richmond Hill, Richmond TW10 6RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond
Price Range: ₹ 7,172 - ₹ 15,004 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Richmond Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Richmond Gate Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Richmond Gate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check whether they are sticking you in a basement room.”
jcannon60, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our Room 40 . very comfortable and quiet with a large flatscreen tv”
rogersH368LZ, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Front facing down to the river”
linkeo, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a front facing room, for a view across the river”
PhilipO240, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“lower floors better, no lift- narrow stairs and long corridors.”
Transpires, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5