We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Colonial

TripAdvisorUS$ 104*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 104*
US$ 104*
US$ 104*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Old Colonial
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 268: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Colonial
 Click to rate
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The OC referring to Oh Crap! Ordered drinks and they had no idea how to make one of the drinks so we had to order a simpler drink. We ordered food with the drinks, should have known, it came without customer service and a friendly smile. The staff here are really not happy and show this with the lack of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristel M
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Hi Kristel M Thanks for leaving us a review. I am sorry that you felt your visit with us was so poor. It would be great to know a bit more detail about the type of drink that could not be made as this seems rather strange. Also I am sorry that you feel the staff were grumpy and had...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have recently returned from a lovely stay at the Old Colonial, From check in to check out the staff were friendly and accommodating. For the price i paid, the beds were comfy and i had a lovely stay with a great breakfast each morning. Previously i have had a couple of bad experiences with hotel stays and one particularly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Hi Neil M Thanks for the cracking review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I shall be sure to let the staff know. I do hope you choose to come back and stay with us, we are actually soon to have work done on our patio area which will make it a great space...

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was so pleased with everything from check in to check out at The Old Colonial. First off it was really easy to find & it was also easy to find a parking space. We went in through the nearest door that lead us into the bar, the bar staff were very friendly & pointed is in the direction of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam F
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Hi Sam F Thanks for the great review. I am very pleased to hear that all aspects of your visit were to your expectations. I am also very pleased about the man as that was actually myself... Thanks for the recommendation and I do hope you choose to stay with us again in the future. If you do please book...

Atherstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we got to the hotel early but was allowed to park car in allocated bay, friendly helpful staff room very spacious and nice sea view, large bathroom,only we ate in restaurant in the evening food reasonably priced and wide selection. Hotel is ideally situated with free parking which is a bonus in Western will stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UncleSpud57
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Hi UncleSpud57 Thanks for your review. Its is great to read your comments about the room and great location. I shall also make sure I pass on to the staff about their friendliness and helpfulness. I hope you choose to stay with us again in the future and if you do please contact me directly and I will sort you...

Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my girlfriend and daughter. It's in a great location right on the sea front and is a short walk away from the pier. We decided to eat in the restaurant part of the hotel in the night as the food was very reasonably priced. A couple of the items we requested off the menu weren't available but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank show888
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Hi show888 Thanks for leaving us a review. We are located in a great position and I hope you had fun at the Pier with your daughter. I apologise a couple of items were not available when ordering but I am pleased that you thought the food you had was good. Once again thanks for the review and next time...

wales
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Restaurant was busy but there are plenty of tables. Negative points were slow service at the bar as there were only 2 people serving. Other negative was dirty glasses that needed to be changed Positives were good food, family friendly, good location and good value. I will definately return here when next in Western

 Report
Helpful?
Thank picassotriggerfish
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Hi picassotriggerfish Thanks for the review and what an interesting username you have. Must be a story behind that one. It is always good to see a mixed review showing what a guest liked and did not like about their visit. I apologise for the slow service as we do try our best to serve customers as quickly as possible....

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

My husband, daughter and I stayed here recently and had a very comfortable stay. Lovely big bed and a sofa bed for our daughter, although staff qere disorganised about what bed linen was needed and hadnt supplied any. .On arrival I was concerned that there was scaffolding present, but Inwas assured it didnt deter from the views too much. Also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pumpkin0866
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Hi Pumpkin0866 Thanks for taking the time to leave us a 5 review. I am pleased that you had a good stay and though the beds were very comfortable. However I do apologise that we had not sorted the bed linen out correctly for your daughter and it is something I shall be discussing with the staff. The scaffolding while...

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

Had a great time at the old colonial with my 2 little ones! I usually dread taking them anywhere alone but our server Zoe could see I was having a difficult time with my little one and came over to take our order instead of me having to go the bar, Luke brought our drinks over so I didn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DellaEvans
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Hi DellaEvans Thanks for leaving us a fantastic review. It is always great to read about the staff and get feedback on the great work the do. I shall make sure to pass on your comments to Zoe and Luke. I am really pleased that you enjoyed the food and thought it was good. If you come back again please...

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

The old colonial in a Great value pub food, warm welcome. Located on Weston super mare sea front next to the car park. Free after 8pm. Friday night should be busier. I chose an ale I hadn't had in ages, Newcastle Brown Ale and other draft ales loved them. The food I had was well worth it with two 8oz...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob73w
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Hi Rob73w Thanks for leaving us a great review. Its great to hear that you liked the food, drinks and price. Next time you come into the pub make yourself known to me and Ill happily buy you a Newcastle brown ale on the house to say thanks for the review. kind Regards Sean General Manager

rugeley
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Had a voucher for a free drink from Marstons so thought I'd give here a try while in Weston. Wasn't particularly busy on a Thursday evening but a few in and I got a good window view seat. Standard Marstons menu - hunters chicken was quite acceptable and despite a couple of desserts being unavailable found a tasty crumble one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulMobberley
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Hi PaulMobberley Thanks for the review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit with us and I shall pass on to the staff your compliments about their service. I am sorry that a couple of desserts that you wanted were not available. Would love for you to come back and you can have a couple of desserts on the house....

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.2 km away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
785 reviews
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#5 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
1,341 reviews
0.0 km away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
596 reviews
0.2 km away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#14 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
163 reviews
0.2 km away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#11 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Old Colonial

Address: 30 Knighstone Road, Weston-super-Mare, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Price Range: ₹ 6,460 - ₹ 8,268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Colonial Weston-Super-Mare, Somerset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Colonial staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Worcester, United Kingdom
11 days ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Colonial staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great rooms”
25neilm, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“all rooms have sea front view”
UncleSpud57, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“room 3 family room overlooks the prom”
C2618HDlisar, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room at the back for peace, front for sea views. Not sure you can have both!”
milomilo1, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms upstairs but hotel allowed us to store mob scooter in reception and first floor. No lift.”
885marilync, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$ 104* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 104
PricelineUS$ 104
LateRooms.comUS$ 104
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates