We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Penrose Guest House

Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Macclesfield
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

8 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 8: English reviews
Start your review of Penrose Guest House
 Click to rate
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed here in September, the owner was rude and unco-operative when we arrived. We had ordered full English breakfast for both days booked but ended up rather reluctantly cooked by the owner having the breakfast one morning only. When our credit statement arrived after our stay, the owner had taken the full amount including the extra cost for the full...

1Thank joan f
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 14 November 2012

For the past 18 months I have been in Macclesfield on business 5 days a week. Initially, for a few weeks, I tried a few B&Bs - but wasn't happy. Then a friend recommended Penrose. WOW - huge rooms - beautifully furnished, soooo comfortable and sparkling clean - WIFI throughout - even when sunning myself in the summer and working...

Thank Paul D
Cheshire UK
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I had occasion to stay in this matchless, local to me, Guest House for 11 nights whilst building work was carried out in my property. Although late I received a warm welcome, as did my visitors, and experienced a most comfortable and highly recommended stay. Finding early mornings a difficult time, nothing was too much trouble to Peggy. I chose...

1Thank AlisonCheshire
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2011

This will be my 6th visit and I will return , I had a lovely cooked breakfast on two occasions and continental on 4 occasions both were great. My room was at the rear looking over the garden and wildlife feeding station where there were an amazing variety of birds which feed in the garden I even saw two baby...

2Thank JennyL646
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I arrived at Penrose Guesthouse on the 14th of November 2011, i was welcomed into a warm and cosy environment. I was swiftly shown uo to my room, as you go upstairs you take a right and its the one on your right (I would recommend this room). Here on work terms i did not expect this visit to be...

2Thank Bella S
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I wish I had found the comments regarding penrose guest house before I had actually made my booking! I made my booking by phone and was asked for credit card details to secure the room. At no time during the phone call was I told that I would be charged for my entire stay which was basically none refundable. The...

4Thank Freddie2011
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2011

This is an ok B&B but if you book do ensure that you have documented evidence of your booking as you will have to provide your bank card details. I stayed here while looking for a room to rent in Macclesfield. At the start of my second week I enquired about availability for the following week however the next day...

4Thank Toby R
CheshireWatchdog, Guest Relations Manager at Penrose Guest House, responded to this review

Toby - We were delighted that you were so happy here that - after initially booking in for just four days - you then stayed for a further three weeks. And, we so enjoyed all of the little chats we had. You know we did explain our cancellation policy to you when you made your initial reservation. And we reminded...

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Booked three nights got taken vary ill had to cancel, gave three days notice lady vary rude on phone said if she couldnt fill room would charge me £90 but wouldnt do anything stright away that was at 5.20 at 5.30 I rang my bank and bang on 5.30 she had put my card number through be warned.

3Thank mingcat
CheshireWatchdog, Owner at Penrose Guest House, responded to this review

On 25th Oct 2010 Alison Barrington alias Mingcat - reserved a room for 3 days from 27th. She was told about our cancellation policy which is printed on our website. She agreed to our terms and conditions, authorised us to charge her MasterCard and gave us her credit details so that we could do this - and her mobile phone...

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Always a warm welcome to greet you at this popular, cheerful, immaculately clean and extremely comfortable B&B. WIFI throughout.Refurbished 1930s detached house with unusually spacious designer bedrooms, offering the luxury of hypo-allergenic mattresses, duvets and pillows dressed in Egyptian Cotton, upholstered arm chair and multi channel TV+DVD. Generous courtesy tray, a range of toiletries and soft towels. Thermostatic controls on radiators ensure your comfort. Close to motorway network, intercity trains and Manchester international airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Penrose Guest House

Address: 56 Birtles Road | Whirley, Macclesfield SK10 3JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield
Price Range: ₹ 2,901 - ₹ 7,460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Penrose Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?