We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel

Traveller (642)
Room & Suite (107)
Dining (35)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel is one of few hotels steeped in so much history. It offers the ambiance of a beautiful 16th-century manor house with parts of the hotel dating as far back as the 13th century, together with all the facilities you'd expect of a modern hotel. You can relax in the stunning conservatory bar overlooking the lake, take a walk around the walled gardens or just settle down in the library. The hotel can be easily reached from junction 4 of the M54 and is only 4 miles from Telford Railway Station.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Room service
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
55Somewhat walkable
Grade: 55 out of 100
10Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
1,373Reviews
695Photos
10Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 528
  • 396
  • 207
  • 117
  • 125
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed here for 2 night and the hotel itself is very historic and beautiful, the staff were fantastic!! A lovely young girl Dana was on the bar who was so funny! The new night porter John was fantastic and very lovely, Connor was great keeping in communication with my emails and
Read more
If I'd have known this was a treasure chest of history, I'd have arrived earlier! I had a lopsided attic room that looked like something out of Elizabethean England. Amazing! Not all mod-cons but you can't expect that in a listed building. Room was clean and staff were welcoming
Read more
Response from General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Anne, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am glad you think that the staff was welcoming and helpful and you really enjoyed your stay and liked the setting. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Yours Sincerely, Nina Dicken Deputy General Manager
Read more
Today I took my parents for afternoon tea. Although my experience was ok (wouldn’t recommend the afternoon tea) my review is based on something I witnessed. A young couple complained at reception that their shower wasn’t working. There was apparently no maintenance on site which
Read more
Response from General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I am disappointed to hear of the fact you found one of my staff members to be offering very poor customer service, I will speak to my staff about the situation and offer training so that they are able to offer the best customer service possible. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Yours Sincerely, Sam Higgs General Manager
Read more
We had stayed here previously a few years ago and having decided to explore further in the area decided this would be a good base. Last time we were in an old art of the hotel; this time in the new part. The room was adequate but being on the ground floor next to the entrance
Read more
Response from General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I am sorry that there were things during your stay in which you believe made your stay only okay. I am pleased however that you feel the staff were pleasant and that you would visit again if you visited the area. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Yours Sincerely, Sam Higgs General Manager
Read more
Well where do I begin: 1. The driveway is in desperate need of repair to avoid guests damaging their cars with all of the potholes. 2. Upon checking in I was asked to pay in full, despite me having provided my credit card details when I booked. 3. Was given a courtyard room
Read more
Response from General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I truly apologise for the negative experience you had at the hotel, I am extremely disappointed in my staff and I am sorry about the issues you had with your room as well. I will find out who this member of staff was and hold a meeting to see their side of the story then decide what my actions with the staff member will then be. I will also be speaking to other staff members about all the other concerns you have raised with me so that we are able to offer the best experiences possible to our guests who decide to stay at the hotel. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Yours Sincerely, Sam Higgs General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
East wing room
Bedroom
"Lakeside"
layout of bath with shower screen meant that if you wanted the shower screen in the correct position, you had to slide up the side of loo to step in to the bath, also, water would collect on the wooden windowsill, making it rot quickly.
PreviousNext
12345622
Hi thankyou very much, if you leave a review and mention her by name she gets a box of chocolates and a £10 amazon giftcard :)
-3 votes
Having stayed in a four poster room in May and given the extremely poor condition of the hotel (see photos that I posted) I would seriously think of a different venue. If they were to start all of the necessary refurbishment and repair works now, they definitely would not be finished until 2019! I think it is terribly unfair for this hotel to present themselves in a condition to host a wedding and that does not take into consideration the poorly trained staff.
5 votes
Show all answers
do they have interconnecting rooms
Ours wasn't. So, sorry, no idea if they're available. Why not just ask the hotel ?
-1 votes
Show all answers
Hi does the hotel accept one well behaved dog?
Hi there. I don't think they do. I would call them direct to confirm. Sorry I can't be of help. But knowing the hotel I don't think they do x
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"For atmosphere ask for a room in the old part of the hotel."
"Ask to stay in main building"
"We had room 43 at first which is in a separate building, but we moved to room 24 and this was bigger and a bigger bathroom"
"Avoid this hotel"
"Avoid room 18 and avoid conference weekends in Telford"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$ 61 - US$ 186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
madeley clarionclarion madeley
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandTelfordMadeley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing