We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Swan Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The White Swan Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

638 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 638: English reviews
Start your review of The White Swan Inn
 Click to rate
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here a while ago but enjoyed it very much. We had a great room separate from the main building which. Gave us privacy and independence. You can part right outside your door. Food in the hotel was very good. The hotel is in a central area of Pickering, a small market town which is interesting to wander around....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LJD1250
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Food excellent something for everyone. Grandchildren chose macaroni cheese not usually on a children's menu, and ate every bit. Relaxed atmosphere and good service, especially from the young man who soaks the cherries in brandy for the chocolate mousse!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jbee45
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sometimes you learn more about a place when things go wrong - we had a few hiccups here but the way in which they were resolved more than made up for the mistakes. Excellent staff and customer service, very good food (especially breakfast) comfortable room - not perfect but definitely where I'd return to in Pickering. Really great place for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dick C
Durham
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night at the white swan. Our welcome was warm, informative and immediately we felt at home. Our room was good, number 3. There was tea, coffee and home made biscuits in the room. The bed was comfortable, plenty of wardrobe space, a TV and windows that opened to let in the lovely Yorkshire air. The bathroom had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank n0rthern_belle
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review. It was a pleasure welcoming you to The White Swan Inn. Thank you for your kind comments and for your kind recommendation. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

WASHINGTON
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Competition prize from best loved hotels I would like to say that my wife and I have UK mini beaks about every 6 weeks also travel overseas regularly and stay in some very nice hotels all over the world so we have very high expectations form hotel and restaurant's and I am very glad to say this hotels rates very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ELLY3535
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review

And thank you for such a great review. Really pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and how much you enjoyed discovering the town of Pickering. We look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked weekend away advising we had a dog and then on arrival a mistake had been made on booking and was given a vintage dog room!!!!!! No refund offered. Headboard loose, thin walls and tea making facilities in the wardrobe. The price we paid wasn't justified in the accommodation. It states on website all food allergies catered for . Meals...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Wolcroft
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you were disappointed by your stay with us. Unfortunately we were unaware that your dog was also staying. Normally dogs and their families are allocated Hideaway rooms for comfort, but it wasn't an issue to still provide you with the vintage room you booked. Please rest assured that you weren't downgraded in any way. We have a...

Cleveland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We've stayed at the White Swan on a number of occasions and absolutely love it. The hideaway rooms are beautiful especially the 'Treat' but have stayed in the main building too. The food is always lovely but on this occasion my hubby thought the bacon chop was too salty but perhaps that's just down to personal preference. Sipping real ales...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FantasticFourLeeds
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review

Pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere and the welcome of our staff. We'd agree that there are few pleasures as great as sipping real ales by an open fire. Thank you for such great comments. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Easy to park, stayed in Hide Away room 22 based in courtyard. Stylish surroundings with modern fittings and underfloor heating. Cosy bar with log fires and easy chairs - great food and staff friendly and attentive. A very short but memorable stay. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chriscribb
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review

Great to hear you describe your time with us as 'memorable'. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope it won't be too long until your return. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely welcoming cosy Inn in the beautiful location of Pickering . Nice room ,excellent evening meal and breakfast. Friendly staff . We stayed in the main part of the in and the bar areas although small have cosy log fires ,ideal on our wintery evening.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. Great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us, how much you enjoyed the food you ordered, and how much you enjoyed the cosy log fires. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Yorkshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just come back from this amazing hotel we went with some friends unfortunately only stayed one night, but from booking in with the lovely friendly receptionist (the blonde curly hair ) to the spotless clean room gorgeous towels, and most importantly the amazing food we have stayed in top class hotels but this beats it all we will go back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for such high praise. It's very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back as soon as possible. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
0.4 km away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
209 reviews
18.5 km away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
469 reviews
28.4 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,906 reviews
21.7 km away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome awaits you at this proper family run Inn. Next year will be our 30th at The White Swan and we have just about got things organised. From the moment you walk through the doors you'll feel at home. We aim to keep things simple and just let you relax ...Tom Parker Bowles reckons 'Every market town should have a White Swan' and the Daily Telegraph described us as 'God's own Country Pub' on a recent visit. If you read the reviews here you will get a flavour of what we are trying to do. We are an Inn with a lovely restaurant and 2 rosette food but not the plastic fine dining you find in many four star properties. Real food, real people, lovely rooms and great value for money.And by the way if you are not delighted I will give you your money back so long as you tell us at the time.Victor Buchanan - Owner ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Swan Inn

Address: Market Place | North Yorkshire, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Price Range: ₹ 11,180 - ₹ 14,281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Pickering
The White Swan Inn Pickering, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Swan Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The White Swan Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“hideaway rooms very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles ELLY3535, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stayed in main building room 7”
 of 5 bubbles carolc34, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a Hideaway Room”
 of 5 bubbles sjpbriefing, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We understood that the 'cottage' rooms had been recently renovated but we were perfectly happy staying in the hotel rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Anthony1905, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Probably quieter at the back. Also our room had stairs which may not suit everyone.”
 of 5 bubbles 295attica, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5