We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Stirling Highland Hotel

Traveller (457)
Room & Suite (82)
Dining (24)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good37%
  • Average17%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
The 19th Century, four-star Stirling Highland Hotel used to be the city’s high school and is just a few minutes walk from Stirling Castle and the attractions of the city. Its 98 bedrooms include 18 premium bedrooms and 2 deluxe rooms and Stirling is the gateway to the Scottish Highlands so majestic mountains and tranquil lochs are close by. Enjoy the Trossach’s National Park before sampling a single malt in the hotel’s new on-site Stirling Whisky Shop. Unwind in the spa, enjoy award-winning food in the 2 AA Rosette Scholars Restaurant then relax with a nightcap in the Headmaster’s Bar.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wheelchair Access
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Show more
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
142Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
60Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews (2,357)
There are newer reviews for The Stirling Highland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
2,248 results
Traveller rating
786
807
377
170
108
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
786
807
377
170
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old school high school leisure facilities spa treatments steam room steep hill premium room lovely hotel late check old building town centre course meal afternoon tea birthday treat short break ample parking buffet style
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 2,248 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

On the plus side: great location, good breakfast choices and an indoor swimming pool. On the minus side: the small swimming pool is quite a trek from the rooms and accessing it involves being outside, briefly. My room (319) was in need of a refurb;...More

2  Thank muilleachs
Response from FOHsupervisor1, Front of House Supervisor at The Stirling Highland HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear muilleachs Thank you for taken the time a write a review on your recent stay at the Stirling Highland Hotel. Firstly I would like to apologise about your stay, I am sorry to see that the room was not up to standard and I...More

Reviewed 31 October 2018

We stayed in Stirling, Scotland and this hotel provided a very nice place to stay. It's very close to Stirling Castle and provided a good central location to visit other sites. We were visiting our daughter who is studying at Stirling University for a semester....More

Thank John N
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

Me and my partner received a voucher for bed, breakfast, 3 course dinner and champagne plus spa use. The 3 course meal was beautiful, good selection to choose from. Breakfast was also good. Friendly staff throughout our stay. Spa was very relaxing, nice sized pool,...More

Thank lisamcewanx
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

On our tour of Scotland we stayed at the Stirling Highland Hotel, Stirling. This hotel exceeded all our expectations. All the staff were lovely, the room really nice and very comfortable. We dined at the Hotel restaurant that night and the food was excellent. We...More

Thank Nurse1955
Reviewed 30 October 2018

Great location on the hill up towards the castle. Very pleasant rooms and all the staff were very friendly, from reception right through to housekeeping. Excellent buffet breakfast as well. Would stay again without hesitation.

Thank Steve130558
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ScottishLass79
31 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from mikebrown9569 | Reviewed this property |
Unfortunately I can’t recommend a particular room. Our room was adequate for one night but if you are going for a special occasion I would phone and request. Don’t ask don’t get. They probably need the business and the... More
1
Vote
123McIntyre
17 February 2018|
Answer
Response from Stark92 | Reviewed this property |
the bed we had was huge for us. We are 5 ft 5 and 5ft 10.
1
Vote
thebells46
31 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from StewartBond01 | Property representative |
Yes no problem for baby to use the pool until 8pm. Regards
1
Vote
Room Tips
"We had a top floor room on third floor with three windows which gave us wonderful views."
I8592BZdavidm
3 weeks ago
Read review
"Arrive early on a Friday for parking."
Urwinrom
4 weeks ago
Read review
"Our premium room had windows on 3 sides with nice views of Stirling :)"
thelovesheep
26 Oct 2018
Read review
"All rooms lovely xx"
LondonRose1
26 Oct 2018
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$ 85 - US$ 142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo stirlingstirling highland hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandStirling
NUMBER OF ROOMS
96
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing