We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lawn Guest House

Hotwire.comUS$ 98*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 104*
US$ 98*
Great Deal
US$ 99*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Lawn Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 277: English reviews
Start your review of The Lawn Guest House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really enjoyed staying in this Guest House. It was close to Gatwick Airport and had adequate parking. The room was spacious with a private bathroom and internet. The breakfast was very nice and the service was excellent

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
Paignton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived on a cold, wet afternoon only to be left outside for some considerable time not knowing that the owner/host was on an airport run as he failed to explain this to us when we pressed the intercom button on several occasions. When we were eventually let in and expressed our displeasure at the way we had been treated...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank X8064HKkevinm
TheLawnGuestHouse, Guest Relations Manager at The Lawn Guest House, responded to this review

Dear X8064HKkevinm, It was typical that I had just left to go for an airport pick up when you arrived. I said through the intercom to let yourself in but since you didnt listen at the intercom you was left waiting outside. When you rang again you acknowledged that I will be back in 5 minutes. When I arrived back...

Islington, Massachusetts
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Quasim is a superb host. He is on his own but does an efficient job from checkin to breakfast and drove us back to the Gatwick airport. We had room 6 and its fabulous, he told us he decorated the room himself and talked us through all the future improvement plans he has for the place. I mean if its...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jamesfisher360
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 1 April 2017

The good: Rooms were good sized (compared to London) and had comfortable beds. I appreciated that we could get ice as well. I am surprised at how rare that is in Europe. Shower was good (plenty of hot water/good pressure), even if really small. The bad: If you need a ride to or from the airport, you're screwed. They offer...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank rebrophy
TheLawnGuestHouse, General Manager at The Lawn Guest House, responded to this review

Dear rebrophy, One would assume when you made your booking via expedia you'd have read that transfers are available at a surcharge, this is explained on expedia. It also clearly says on the homepage of my own website that free transfers are with direct bookings only. But after reading what you've written, the only reason you've gone and spent time...

Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Booked to stay here one night as had an early flight to catch. From the moment I walked in I knew it was a mistake as the place looked well run down but because we were only gonna stay one night it didn't bother me. Heating doesn't come on until 4pm and turns off 10pm. From the minute we walked...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank socolol79
TheLawnGuestHouse, General Manager at The Lawn Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Sir, On a mild rainy day it was not cold outside, you checked in at 2pm room comfortable in terms of temperature. At 7pm you call me to say the room is 'cold' so I come into the room, having noted that the heating had already been on for 3 hours the room was probably at 23 degrees so...

Reviewed 11 January 2017

We only stayed 12 hours but got our money's worth. 250 dollars for 3 rooms and 6 people, breakfast for 6 and a ride to the airport. The bathrooms have been redone and are sparkling and new, but the rooms are still a bit dated, and have small so-so beds. Hallway to rooms is a little stinky, not sure what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan Haines L
Eye, Peterborough
Reviewed 10 January 2017

As we had a fairly early Sunday morning flight we wanted somewhere close to Gatwick, where we could spend the night on New Year's Eve (and hopefully park two cars for the week). We arrived ahead of booking in time and were welcomed by the landlord, who not only explained the various local places we could eat that night, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EyesAbout
Vancouver BC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Only stayed one night, but was perfectly satisfied. Lovely helpful owner/proprietor. Very quiet and comfy rooms; loved their quirkiness (mine was on the top floor, with partially sloping ceiling). Good breakfast and very helpful host- got us access to a computer to check in with our flight and ensured we had a cab on time to get to Gatwick.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MisterPG
Margate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank marygX7091SZ
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Very good, hard to find due to roadworks and diversion but once we found it, it was better than i expected, the owner or employee met us at the door and was very helpful and polite and showed us to our room. It was very cosy and well decorated just like home from home! The double room was huge compared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen Y

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.5 km away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
1.2 km away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
0.2 km away
Gatwick Turret Guest House
0.5 km away
Cumberland House Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation

Additional Information about The Lawn Guest House

Address: 30 Massetts Road | Horley Gatwick, Horley RH6 7DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Price Range: ₹ 5,297 - ₹ 8,204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lawn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lawn Guest House Hotel Horley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lawn Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Lawn Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there are lots of stairs so make sure you say if stairs are a problem”
, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“No idea as our room was terrible.”
X8064HKkevinm, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The best room is next door in another hotel”
rebrophy, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“higher floors will be quieter or rooms at the end of the hallway”
susanhainesl, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The room was shabby - like the rest of this guest house. ”
marygX7091SZ, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$ 98* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$ 99
Booking.com
Hostelworld.comUS$ 104
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates