We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Balmoral Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 359: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

A very warm welcome by the gentleman at the desk who we presume was the owner- he was down to earth and very friendly. The room was generous with high ceilings- cosy and clean. Fantastic value out of season and no disturbances during the night- quiet road outside and no noise from other rooms/ corridors. Complimentary wifi- code was given... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heidi D
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you with your excellent review, we are sorry if the chambermaid was a little brusque with you, it was not her intention but it is always a little stressful to have the rooms ready on time for the next customers as it was nearly midday. Kind regards More 

Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

As a base for a short stay in Southport, The Balmoral Lodge was ideal. Warm room, comfortable bed, good breakfast and friendly staff. It would be rude to give a long list of negatives as some reviewers are prone to do, but as the price was very attractive and we had no complaints whatsoever. If you want champagne but want... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review, it is all we want to be : value for money. Kind regards More 

Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

But do not expect modernity. Tired and patched up decour and a strong smell I'd cigarette smoke upstairs. Hot water plentiful but be prepared to make tea whilst you wait for it. Comfortable bed and good cooked breakfast. Sadly tea from a machine, white bread only and no plain yoghurt. That said it is cheap, comfortable and the staff welcoming.

Helpful?
Thank Granny347
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are sorry that everything was not up to your standards but as you said, good bed, good breakfast, hot water and friendly staff and the machine does not do tea but just boiling water and you make your tea as usual! Kind regards More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped at this hotel for one night on a groupon deal. The lady at reception was friendly and checked us in quickly and efficiently. We had room 9 that was a family ensuite room, it was a lovely large room, with high ceilings, nicely decorated with a french country style. The bathroom was massive with plenty of hot water... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review, it has been a real pleasure to have you here. Kind regards More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

read some reports and people must go about with eyes shut this is the worst hotel i have ever stayed at had it not been paid upfront i would have walked out the minute i arrived. the room was poor the bathroom had more mould than anything else the bed linen was stained and soiled. the carpets on the landing... More 

Helpful?
Thank alexandermZ888NQ
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

You could have done, it would have been a pleasure to refund you! Do not insult my guests because they stayed here like you did and what you said is untrue. We are not a luxury hotel but my hotel is not dirty and certainly not my bed linen. Next time save money and afford a 4 * hotel but... More 

Leicestershire
Level Contributor
150 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ok ,so this hotel is not a boutique hotel. BUT it is clean and tidy and for the money you cannot beat it. The Staff try their best to accommodate and we had quite a lengthy discussion on life in general. The breakfast was really a plate full. The smoked bacon was delicious. I thought I would try a smaller... More 

Helpful?
Thank seasoneddiver
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review, it has been a pleasure to have you here. Kind regards More 

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Balmoral Lodge is a bit dated but it is clean& tidy.The staff were very nice and we were made welcome.The breakfast was very nice and served quick .Parking is off street .We will go back if we are in Southport again.

Helpful?
Thank Sue H
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice comments, we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards More 

Prestatyn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We were not expecting the Ritz and didn't get it. What we did get though was a cosy, clean room with a comfy bed and a friendly, helpful host. We had breakfast which we found to be perfectly adequate with a good selection on the buffet and an English breakfast for my partner. The lovely lady serving breakfast was always... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angela Y
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review, we appreciate your honest feedback and ere very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Kind regards More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Was wary after reading trip advisor reviews but what a lovely reasonably priced hotel . Owners and staff friendly and helpful. About 3- 5 mins walk from town center. Rooms clean - was surprised shower was only with mixer taps but hot and powerful so no problem. Some areas need updating as it is old and tired but for what... More 

Helpful?
Thank pas3106
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review, we are very pleased that you found the hotel value for money and enjoyed your time with us. Kind Regards More 

Wirral
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We stayed for one night only Room No:3. Bed comfy, bedding and room clean, nice breakfast and very friendly French lady who was the only member of staff we saw in our 24 hours there. So not horrible, however room 3 and it's bathroom in particular really needs a thorough make over to bring it into the 21st century. Hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fetlar13
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed Line's company during your stay. The refurbishment of our rooms is an ongoing progress and every year a certain amount of money is spend. Kind Regards More 

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
1.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
1.3 km away
Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#6 of 27 in Southport
567 reviews
0.9 km away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 27 in Southport
2,462 reviews
1.1 km away
Vincent
Vincent
#3 of 27 in Southport
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Balmoral Lodge Hotel is a very friendly hotel where you can relax in your room, the lounge, the restaurant or even the garden. We have 15 en suite-bedrooms with flat tv, wifi, tea and coffee facilities.Some bedrooms are on the ground-floor with access to the garden.We are 10 minutes walk from the city-centre and the promenade. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Balmoral Lodge Hotel

Address: 41 Queens Road, Southport PR9 9EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Price Range: ₹ 3,137 - ₹ 6,682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Balmoral Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Balmoral Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Southport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Balmoral Lodge Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Balmoral Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in room 5, and it was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles heidid734, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 is huge!”
 of 5 bubbles , 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 was clean and cosy”
 of 5 bubbles angelay601, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“if you have poor mobility request low floor room”
  • Bed was extremely comfy. x
 of 5 bubbles pas3106, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles Angiemat47, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay