We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Balmoral Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 361: English reviews
Witney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really dog friendly the breakfast for me was great but my husband who is vegetarian didn't have much choice the cheese was really hard and looked out of date the lady who served breakfast was really lovely and friendly the room was fantastic opened out onto a beautiful garden only problem was shower wasn't very hot and the plug didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tina K
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we are really sorry about the little problems yu encountered during your stay. Kind regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my wife have just come back from other amaze stay at Balmoral lodge hotel the room was lovely we both enjoy breakfast what way to start day it was delicious the owner and staff were friendly very helpful not to far away from loads shops and transport links we can't wait to get back in February c u...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James D
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review. It is always a pleasure to have you here. See you very soon for your next visit. Kind regards

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fab little b&b on the outer fringe of Southport centre. Owner was very welcoming and friendly, ensuring we had everything we needed for our stay. Our room was clean, slightly out-dated, but comfy. Big sliding doors led to a communal garden. Beds were comfy and shower was just what I needed to help me wind down after a long night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katiesophia77
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again. Kind regards

Reviewed 28 November 2016

A very warm welcome by the gentleman at the desk who we presume was the owner- he was down to earth and very friendly. The room was generous with high ceilings- cosy and clean. Fantastic value out of season and no disturbances during the night- quiet road outside and no noise from other rooms/ corridors. Complimentary wifi- code was given...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heidi D
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you with your excellent review, we are sorry if the chambermaid was a little brusque with you, it was not her intention but it is always a little stressful to have the rooms ready on time for the next customers as it was nearly midday. Kind regards

Bath, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2016

As a base for a short stay in Southport, The Balmoral Lodge was ideal. Warm room, comfortable bed, good breakfast and friendly staff. It would be rude to give a long list of negatives as some reviewers are prone to do, but as the price was very attractive and we had no complaints whatsoever. If you want champagne but want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review, it is all we want to be : value for money. Kind regards

Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016

But do not expect modernity. Tired and patched up decour and a strong smell I'd cigarette smoke upstairs. Hot water plentiful but be prepared to make tea whilst you wait for it. Comfortable bed and good cooked breakfast. Sadly tea from a machine, white bread only and no plain yoghurt. That said it is cheap, comfortable and the staff welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Granny347
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are sorry that everything was not up to your standards but as you said, good bed, good breakfast, hot water and friendly staff and the machine does not do tea but just boiling water and you make your tea as usual! Kind regards

Reviewed 19 November 2016

We stopped at this hotel for one night on a groupon deal. The lady at reception was friendly and checked us in quickly and efficiently. We had room 9 that was a family ensuite room, it was a lovely large room, with high ceilings, nicely decorated with a french country style. The bathroom was massive with plenty of hot water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review, it has been a real pleasure to have you here. Kind regards

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016

read some reports and people must go about with eyes shut this is the worst hotel i have ever stayed at had it not been paid upfront i would have walked out the minute i arrived. the room was poor the bathroom had more mould than anything else the bed linen was stained and soiled. the carpets on the landing...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank alexandermZ888NQ
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

You could have done, it would have been a pleasure to refund you! Do not insult my guests because they stayed here like you did and what you said is untrue. We are not a luxury hotel but my hotel is not dirty and certainly not my bed linen. Next time save money and afford a 4 * hotel but...

Leicestershire
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Ok ,so this hotel is not a boutique hotel. BUT it is clean and tidy and for the money you cannot beat it. The Staff try their best to accommodate and we had quite a lengthy discussion on life in general. The breakfast was really a plate full. The smoked bacon was delicious. I thought I would try a smaller...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seasoneddiver
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review, it has been a pleasure to have you here. Kind regards

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2016

The Balmoral Lodge is a bit dated but it is clean& tidy.The staff were very nice and we were made welcome.The breakfast was very nice and served quick .Parking is off street .We will go back if we are in Southport again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice comments, we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.9 km away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 27 in Southport
2,530 reviews
1.5 km away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#6 of 27 in Southport
585 reviews
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
1.3 km away
Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport
1.1 km away
Vincent
Vincent
#3 of 27 in Southport
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Balmoral Lodge Hotel is a very friendly hotel where you can relax in your room, the lounge, the restaurant or even the garden. We have 15 en suite-bedrooms with flat tv, wifi, tea and coffee facilities.Some bedrooms are on the ground-floor with access to the garden.We are 10 minutes walk from the city-centre and the promenade. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Balmoral Lodge Hotel

Address: 41 Queens Road, Southport PR9 9EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Price Range: ₹ 2,390 - ₹ 6,145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Balmoral Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Balmoral Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Southport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Balmoral Lodge Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Balmoral Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in room 5, and it was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles heidid734, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 is huge!”
 of 5 bubbles , 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 was clean and cosy”
 of 5 bubbles angelay601, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“if you have poor mobility request low floor room”
  • Bed was extremely comfy. x
 of 5 bubbles pas3106, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles Angiemat47, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay