We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,416 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,415: English reviews
Start your review of Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
 Click to rate
midalnds UK
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Shame there isn't a "less than 1" on the score blobs! But i guess you have to put something in order to enter a review! I have read all the reviews since staying at this hotel, or more importantly the responses by management and i can honestly say this place needs to get it's act together or CLOSE! Management responses...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank escapees
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I booked in for two days but departed one day early having had no sleep on the Monday night. The room was extremely warm and we were unable to turn off one of the radiators and could not open the windows as they were jammed with paint. The hotel is rather tired and showing its age but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnrenwick77
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We turned up here after a long day of travelling. We had booked our room on laterooms.com a few days prior and had received confirmation that our payment would be taken from my card using the details I'd provided online upon arrival. When we arrived we were told that our room had been given away as they had been told...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TMurphy89
GMPrinceofWales, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences to Trip Advisor. We are sorry to hear that you had a disappointing visit to our hotel. Our hotel staff are trained to a high standard and we are always looking at further ways we can improve their skills be that in-house training through to sending staff on third party...

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel was really historic and welcoming , for 60 pound a night we were thrilled , me and my partner enjoyed relaxing in the lounge with a couple of drinks watching the tv . Around midnight we decided to go up to our room and order a few more drinks , the young men working there were sitting on the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank melbell617
GMPrinceofWales, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences of our Hotel on TripAdvisor. We value all feedback and were delighted to hear you had a pleasurable stay with us. We strive hard to make every stay as enjoyable as possible and your comments are a welcome reward for the hard work of all the staff here at the...

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the hotel is very tired looking inside and out the parking is £4 a day. clear glass window and broken tiles in the bathroom. sticky kids toys stuck to the ceiling in the bedroom windows didn't work , food was bland and tasteless the bar attendant kept getting bored and wandering off ,all the heating was on making it stifling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank purpleprincess2016
GMPrinceofWales, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences of the Hotel on TripAdvisor. We value all feedback and were disappointed to hear that on this occasion you did not enjoy your whole stay with us.

Pickering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for a 60s weekend,t he hotel is like stepping back in time. There was a hugh fire burning in the welcoming entrance, with lots of seating for meeting and chatting. The staff are extremely welcoming and professional, Our room, though a little dated, was very clean and warm, with an entrance and large bathroom with bath and shower.The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patty96_108
GMPrinceofWales, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences of our Hotel on TripAdvisor. We value all feedback and were delighted to hear you had a pleasurable stay with us. We strive hard to make every stay as enjoyable as possible and your comments are a welcome reward for the hard work of all the staff here at the...

Liverpool
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is a bit dated & in need of a bit of work. However overall I have no complaints. Good location close to the train station. Didn't dine at the hotel but enjoyed a few drinks in the bar. I would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 07cinta
GMPrinceofWales, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences of our Hotel on TripAdvisor. We value all feedback and were delighted to hear you had a pleasurable stay with us. We strive hard to make every stay as enjoyable as possible and your comments are a welcome reward for the hard work of all the staff here at the...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

room was good but asked for walk in shower as my friend just had knee surgery but they said no walkin showers available also food not to good on Friday night breakfast was good plenty of choice we went with national holidays

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cynthia029
GMPrinceofWales, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences of the Hotel on TripAdvisor. We value all feedback and were disappointed to hear that on this occasion you did not enjoy your whole stay with us.

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Went to the Carvery at this hotel today - £4 to park! We met a friend in the front lounge, furniture was dated, dowdy and much in need of refurbishment, and chilly. Despite this you can still see this has been a wonderful building in its day - shame they didn't light the fire which would have definitely lifted the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sufielding
GMPrinceofWales, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

During lunch and dinner service we serve a selection of hot and cold dishes including a soup, salad bar, full poached salmon, cold starters, hot fish dish, roast meat, several meat entrees, vegetarian dish, gateau, ice cream and a hot sweet. We also have a chef on hand each service to help with any special requests/requirements. I was sorry to...

Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for our Mums birthday. The hotel seriously needs updating. Our adjoining room had a radiator that did not work. A lovely young lad from the hotel came up to try and put the radiator on for us but as it was that old there was no knob on the actual radiator for him to adjust, so he...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NicFisher
GMPrinceofWales, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

Being an old building the heating system is a vast network of pipes that weave through the hotel and when turned on it can make the building uncomfortably hot in warm weather and in order to keep the majority of the hotels guests happy will only put on the system when required. The does unfortunately occasionally lead to problems when...

298 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (291)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (138)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.7 km away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
2,681 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.2 km away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#5 of 28 in Southport
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
1,112 reviews
0.8 km away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
444 reviews
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Prince of Wales Hotel in Southport is a beautiful reminder of our Victorian Heritage, an elegant building with landscaped gardens. Throughout the reception, lounge area and bedrooms, the decoration has been kept in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 154 en-suite bedrooms of the Prince of Wales hotel have been tastefully designed to preserve the Victorian style of this Southport hotel. Many of the rooms overlook Lord Street, the main shopping and entertainment area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport

Address: Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Price Range: ₹ 3,027 - ₹ 13,664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Prince Of Wales-Southport Hotel Southport
Southport Prince Of Wales
Hotel Prince Southport Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Southport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Dudley, United Kingdom
Manchester, United Kingdom
Manchester, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“travel lodge across the road”
 of 5 bubbles purpleprincess2016, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“fairly quiet we was on 2nd floor”
 of 5 bubbles cynthia029, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good.”
 of 5 bubbles margaretl17, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“lord street rooms are at the front of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 251keithc, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“My tip for choosing a good room - go somewhere else!! Try the Premier Inn.”
 of 5 bubbles paulines290, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5