We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Albany Hotel

Traveller (66)
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (2)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Albany Hotel is owned and run by the Slate Family, which consists of Richard & Lisa (Brian & Janet have recently retired from the day to day operation of the hotel). Their aim is to make it feel like a home from home to make their guests feel welcome. Situated just off the North Beach and minutes from the main square in the centre of Tenby, this makes The Albany Hotel the ideal place to stay. Tenby is the ideal location to also visit the rest of Pembrokeshire with its beautiful coastal walks, and many attractions such as Folly Farm, Oakwood, Colby Gardens. Heatherton, Manor Park, Saundersfoot and many more ....
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
96Great for walkers
Grade: 96 out of 100
65Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
20Attractionswithin 0.5 km
425Reviews
74Photos
8Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 130
  • 152
  • 67
  • 41
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Just visited Monday to Friday allthough hotel is very tired and needs a resvamp .don't be disappointed as it's a little gem .Richard and Jan and all staff where amazing .funny happy nothing to much trouble we thank you very much for our stay great fun on a evening one of the
Read more
Beautiful friendly staff. Had a great welcome. Food was lovely. Intertainment brilliant. I loved it. Going there in March I would recommend this place for sure. I had a brilliant stay. Hotel was clean n warm. Family run. A few yards from beach and shops. Five stars from me.
Read more
Response from Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Thank you for taking the time in leaving this review following your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you back Kind regards Richard
Read more
After receiving our lecture from the hotel commandant, which was not a warm and friendly experience for sure!!! We were given our key to the FILTHY, well used run down and in general Horrible room. The owners should be absolutely ashamed of the service and quality provided,
Read more
Response from Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Ian M, Thank you for your review and sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I will answer your points raised. I don't understand the 'lecture' as when you were checked in you were given information such as : which room you were in, smoking policy, wifi code, bar closing time and that there was a key for your room and one for the front door that you would need to use if coming back in after 11pm as we lock the front door when the bar closes at 11pm. We are not ashamed of the service that we provide infact we are proud and it is always an area that we score highly in. The hotel does date back to the mid 1800's and therefore isn't a modern building but I disagree with your comments relating to its cleanliness. Once again if our hotel did not meet with your expectations and it appears that the group that you stayed with all have the same opinion after reading other reviews that have been posted by them. Personally if it had been as bad as you have stated in your review I would have made a point of speaking to the hotel during your stay instead of writing a review after your departure. Kind Regards Richard Slate Drector
Read more
This hotel needs to be closed down!!! A group of 12 of us went (6 couples aged 40 to 60) We are so disgusted with the cleanliness of the hotel and the attitude on the staff!! Upon arrival the lady at the desk was very rude no help with bags or where our room was!! After finding
Read more
Response from Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. This is your opinion and I am sorry that you were disappointed. I would like to answer your points raised. Firstly upon check in guests are made aware where the rooms are and as a general rule we do not offer guests luggage unless help is required and then we are only too happy to assist.. The beds are freshly made for all guests arriving with linen that is hired in from a local company so I do not accept that there were hairs in the bed. A couple did mention that they could smell urine in their shower area....I immediately attended and spoke to them and said that I could not personally smell anything (I had personally cleaned that bathroom that morning and they had already used the shower as well......) but I would give it a further clean as soon as they left that afternoon and put a clean bathmat in as well as they said they could smell something on that. Our 2 star hotel is old as it dates back to the mid 1850's but surprised that you say it was cold as comments usually made are that people sometimes get too hot. We pride ourselves on our service and to be fair you didn't get much of an opportunity to experience our service in the hotel as you left to go into town immediately after checking in and arrived back late at night following the rugby and didn't have breakfast as you had booked on a room only rate. I appreciate your comments and apologise for any shortcomings that you experienced but to reassure you and others that will be reading this review that we have had a recent hotel inspection and meet with all requirements of our 2 star status. Kind regards Richard Slate Director
Read more
A dated but extremely pleasant Hotel, Proactive manager / staff Food excellent, entertainment funny. Clean and tidy, Ideal location for visiting surrounding areas. Not to forget Tenby is senic just like tv series. Saundersfoot beautiful.
Read more
Response from Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Thank you for your review following your recent visit and delighted that you enjoyed and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Richard
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Very comfortable bed
beautiful room at the albany
Purely unacceptable.
Not the view I was interested in here - it was the state of the window again.
I don't know what that thing in the 'cuboard' is I'm afraid.
PreviousNext
1234568
Does it have single rooms and what are they like
Answer above
0 votes
Show all answers
Wat time is evening meal?
Wat time is the evening meal at this hotel?
Usually 6.30pm
1 vote
Does the albany have parking for if I were to drive down?
No, but since Tenby is such a small town there's a multi-storey about 5 minuets walk away, and that's where the majority of visitors park
1 vote
Show all answers
Do you have any ground rooms suitable for a disabled person?
Sorry they dont.They will take suitcases up to the rooms for you.There`s no lift either
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"Take antibacterial wipes if you decide to stay"
"All rooms via some stairs."
"No lift,so a lot of stairs"
"Top floor quiet"
"first floor at the front"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$ 60 - US$ 99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
albany hotel tenby
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesTenby
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing