We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Albany Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Albany Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 321: English reviews
England
Level Contributor
212 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

As Richard, the owner, has said, more than once, this is a 2 star hotel in a very old building, it is not the Ritz. So yes it has its quota of uneven floors and occasionally noisy plumbing but it is warm and comfortable, with decent food. Others have remarked on the decor, and I have to agree that it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Traveller1999
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time in writing this review following your recent stay. As you acknowledge it is an old building and if any human could reach the same age as the building I am sure that they too would have problems with standing up evenly and have a few plumbing problems (but it wouldn't stop you loving... More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What can i say.....friendly barman Richard. Hotel very run down. Probably one of the worst I've stayed in. Bathroom awful lid missing of the macerator on sanilav. Mouldy silicone and shower hose. Clean sheets and towels warm rooms .won't be staying again stayed in much better for same price in Tenby. Location good. Party of six all bathrooms were bad... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I am pleased that you found myself friendly and the rooms lovely and warm and clean. The saniflows are not missing any lids (as they would not be able to operate?) The rooms are in keeping with our 2 star status, however I agree that the silicone in some of... More 

Travellers are raving about these Tenby hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

From being welcomed by Richard, to leaving I enjoyed this small hotel very much ,in places it could do with a little tlc,but at the price we payed for our national holidays tour it was well worth, the meals were excellent, service first class,meals were very good and served pipping hot ,we enjoyed the entertainment that Richard provided , and... More 

Helpful?
Thank michael v
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Many thanks for leaving your review following your recent stay and it is great to hear that although our hotel is just 2 star you have had worse service and food in 5 star hotels that you have stayed in. It also shows that if you mention an issue during your stay it can be resolved as it was... More 

Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is desperately in need of updating. I realise it is only 2star rated but their prices are certainly not. £65 for a twin room not including breakfast is more 4star. We stayed on an extremely cold, wet and windy evening and the heating went off at midnight. Because of the single glazing and ill fitting windows, the bathroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nigelb777
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your feedback and sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Had you mentioned that you were cold then we could have arranged for a heater to have been brought to your room. With regards to the internet/wifi we only advertise that it is available in the public areas on the ground floor and is free... More 

Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very dated place with not much time/effort/money spent on it by the owners who actually were very nice people so it's shame the rooms are so generally poor. Not so much dirty really but blackened around the windows & seriously needing a revamp. Poor showering in tiny bathroom with a shower that was really difficult to get right. Quite noisy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Huw J
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time in writing this review following your recent stay and sorry that you did not enjoy. The rooms as you say are clean and we are just now starting our winter redecoration programme now that we are a little quieter. I disagree with your comment regarding not much time/effort/money as we work tirelessly (you... More 

Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for just one night and to be honest it was one night too many Hotel needs a major referb Hotel very old shabby and dirty in places Couldn't turn the shower off and ended up flooding the bathroom Changed rooms and there was just enough room to walk around the bed Bathroom very dated All I could smell... More 

Helpful?
Thank samanthasimonjrees
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review and sorry that our 2 star hotel did not meet with your expectations. Due to the issue you had with the tap you were allocated our last room which is smaller than the one you had originally been allocated. Kind Regards Richard More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely staff comfy bed but really needs updating. The bathroom in room 24 had loads of hair in plughole. The bath was disgusting. The ceiling in the bedroom looked like it could cave in at any time. We will be paying the extra money to stay in premier on next visit. This hotel would never win 4 in a bed

Helpful?
Thank Donna L
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review following your recent stay. Apologies if you came across any hair in the bath (this is certainly not our usual standard) and I can assure you that the ceiling is perfectly fine... Our hotel is an old 2 star hotel and you were paying £22.50 per person. If you want a purpose built building... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Albany as part of a National Holidays trip,i can't praise this beautiful hotel highly enough, Richard certainly knows how to keep people happy & his small army of staff are a credit to his unique approach. If you like old & quirky then this hotel is a must with its many original features. The room we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank callieali
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your 4 night stay in our old and quirky hotel and I will pass your thanks on to John and Amanda. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future (and will try and organise some sunshine) Kind Regards Richard More 

Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here for my grandmothers birthday in November, the staff were friendly and rooms nice and clean... I throughly enjoyed my two night stay. The bar stopped serving at 11pm which was great and ps the breakfast was delicious

Helpful?
Thank Lucy J
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Many thanks for taking the time in leaving this review following your recent stay. Delighted that you found the rooms to be nice and clean and that the breakfast was delicious. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Richard More 

Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent location as you're not in and amongst the noise of the nightlife but within a nice walking distance. Friendly staff were only happy to help. The Albany is not a high end hotel but has everything you need and is kept clean and tidy. As the title says, it really is value for money. We stayed for the weekend... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Diggitydawg
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Many thanks for taking the time in writing this review following your recent stay and pleased that you had a great time and would return. As you say we are not a high end hotel but our 2 star hotel does offer a friendly welcome and good value. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind... More 

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.7 km away
The Clarence House Hotel
0.5 km away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#9 of 24 in Tenby
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#12 of 24 in Tenby
333 reviews
0.7 km away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#5 of 24 in Tenby
391 reviews
0.8 km away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Albany Hotel is owned and run by the Slate Family, which consists of Richard & Lisa (Brian & Janet have recently retired from the day to day operation of the hotel). Their aim is to make it feel like a home from home to make their guests feel welcome. Situated just off the North Beach and minutes from the main square in the centre of Tenby, this makes The Albany Hotel the ideal place to stay. Tenby is the ideal location to also visit the rest of Pembrokeshire with its beautiful coastal walks, and many attractions such as Folly Farm, Oakwood, Colby Gardens. Heatherton, Manor Park, Saundersfoot and many more .... ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Albany Hotel

Address: 22-23 The Norton, Tenby SA70 8AB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Price Range: ₹ 3,694 - ₹ 5,498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Albany Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel Tenby
The Albany Hotel Tenby, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Albany Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Leeds, United Kingdom
\manchester
over a year ago
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Albany Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hotel does not have lifts so disabled persons might have difficulties”
 of 5 bubbles W1717BAmichaelv, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I don't think there were any 'good' rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles HuwJ_12, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you have to use this Hotel and you are 6 foot like my Husband , ask for a king size bed or have your feet dangling over edge of a double.”
 of 5 bubbles paulines743, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 had the least stairs to climb (no lift)”
 of 5 bubbles MaureenD31, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are not good with stairs ask for room 1.”
 of 5 bubbles dawnsnook1, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay