We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bath House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Bath House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Bath House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 197: English reviews
Lincolnshire
Reviewed 25 April 2015

We chose this hotel as the price was good, and the location was opposite the wedding we were attending at The Tunnels Beaches. Malcolm (the owner) had already emailed me with clear descriptions of how and where to park – which we shared with other wedding guests and proved very useful. When we arrived we found parking at the back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sally-Ann56
Reviewed 22 April 2015 via mobile

We just spent two great nights in the bath house hotel. The outside of the hotel could do with a lick of paint. The room was clean. Well equipped and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, a cheerful "good morning" welcomed us into the restaurant for breakfast. Service was good and we had a hearty breakfast. A very pleasant stay.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Eddiexx
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2015

The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful. The hotel was let down by the poor quality breakfasts (cheap ingredients and not well cooked) and cleanliness (dust and dirt ) . I you need a stopover it's fine.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rob H
MalcolmtheOwner, Owner at The Bath House Hotel, responded to this review

I note that the previous review says how clean the hotel is. It may be that we occasionally miss spots but we work very hard to ensure the hotel is clean and tidy. As for our breakfasts, this may be your opinion but here are the facts. We provide 5 cereals, all names brands such as Kelloggs. We use large...

Bristol, UK
Reviewed 4 April 2015

Chose this one as the price was ok, location was handy and had the added attraction of a spa bath and gym downstairs. When we arrived we found convienient parking at the back of the hotel, however it is on a first come first served basis, and we ended up parking next door, which was free until 10am the next...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank flissw
MalcolmtheOwner, Owner at The Bath House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind and descriptive review. It's nice that somebody has taken the time to leave a positive review. We have many, many satisfied guests but unfortunately, only a few express this on tripadvisor.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2015

Toilet seat broken and couldn't be put up without it falling down, shower leaked, window rattled and whistled in the wind. Creating get a draft so big, it was blowing the curtains. Just dated and not particularly well maintained. Our friends shower in the room next door didn't work at all. Even the teabags in the room tasted weird. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Chris D
MalcolmtheOwner, Owner at The Bath House Hotel, responded to this review

If you had problems you should have come to see me rather than complain to the world. Firstly, I'd like to point out that there were near hurricane level winds on the night in question and we have sash windows in keeping with the original style building. Unfortunately, very high winds do come through. Your friends next door mentioned they...

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2015

Stayed here for 1 night while on recent trip to the area. Easy to find and free car parking on site which is always a BONUS !! The rooms are nothing special but adequate. Did not eat in as there are plenty of places to dine out but the breakfast was OK. Good for anyone on tight budget My only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yokum67
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2015

We have been using The Bath House Hotel very regularly since 2010 to host volunteers for The Forces March and The Veterans Charity. Many are elderly and need comfort and a good nights rest. Malcolm and his staff provide a great breakfast, very comfortable rooms and the recent refurbishments are great. The prices are highly competitive for Ilfracombe and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Danny G
Reviewed 1 November 2014

I think this must have been my 8th trip and tried staying different places each time. I must say that staff were friendly but the room I had was the most tired looking ever. A little modernising of the reception area and the breakfast area would make a world of difference. If the owner is trying to keep it character...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MPT1974
MalcolmtheOwner, Owner at The Bath House Hotel, responded to this review

I notice this around your 8th visit to Ilfracombe and you stay at a different place every time. I suspect you have got us mixed up for one of the others. Our rooms are redecorated at least on a bi-annual basis or more often if needed so I really don't know how it can look tired. The reception area was...

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2014 via mobile

There are simply too many points to raise in this paragraph to say why I or any of the other 32 guests that stayed at the guest house this weekend will never visit again or recommend it to anyone! Basically Malcolm the owner is a very rude & unprofessional hotel owner & really hasn't got a clue about creating a...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Joy B
MalcolmtheOwner, Owner at The Bath House Hotel, responded to this review

As the owner who has been lambasted here, which I thought was against tripadvisor rules, I feel the need to respond to this review. This review has come about because I closed the bar at 12.30 at night. I was very professional and never rude about the way I attempted to close the bar. However, the group, of which only...

Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed here on a few occasion now, great comfy rooms, excellent breakfast, evening can be supplied if you don't venture out, but we always have meal out as there are good pubs & restaurants 5-10 mins walk either direction. Ideal for long weekend or weeks stay reasonable rates and Malcolm & Nina are great hosts, hotel is very clean &...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jenfw2014

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.0 km away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
343 reviews
1.2 km away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
323 reviews
0.8 km away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
242 reviews
1.6 km away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
375 reviews
0.5 km away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bath House hotel has 22 en-suite bedrooms and is ideally situated opposite the Tunnels beaches, close to the High Street and just a few minutes walk from the harbour. If you feel like a work out or simply want to sweat it out in the sauna, the fully fitted gymnasium, sauna, solarium, steam and power showers are available free of charge when staying at the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bath House Hotel

Address: Runnacleave Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Price Range: ₹ 4,500 - ₹ 8,672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bath House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Bath House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Hotel Ilfracombe
The Bath Hotel
The Bath House Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bath House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Bath House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms were modern and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles 84colinb, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“whichever room you choose - keep the windows closed. The seagulls will keep you up all night.”
 of 5 bubbles 807Vivienne, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“wifi in reception”
 of 5 bubbles 69JACKAL, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Really the best tip is be up front, tell the management your needs and you will get what you require.”
 of 5 bubbles vince-evans, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We always book room 104 with a balcony and sunny position”
 of 5 bubbles Esher_SurreyRussell, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5