We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ocean Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ocean Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ocean Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 80: English reviews
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

I stayed here recently and thought it was good value, the room was clean and shower worked well. It is in a very good location just by the harbour. There is free parking, but you do get blocked in, so you are at the mercy of other guests, which was slightly disappointing. At the end of the day its a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimbob00721
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you had a positive experience at Ocean Backpackers and would return. We do try to offer free parking to as many guests at Ocean Backpackers as possible. Unfortunately, this does involve guests parking in a way that they "block" other guests in. Whilst we endeavour to manage this situation as...

Reviewed 21 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here twice never had every problems, nice big kitchen and lounge right in the centre of ilfracombe very close to ice cream and little holiday shops bunch of places for cream/afternoon tea and there's a lovely wetherspoons about a minute walk away we would go there for breakfast and dinner some days. Only ever stayed in the dorm rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are really pleased you have enjoyed both stays with us and value your comments. We will look into more hanging space for towels in the bathrooms. We do have a large basement which acts as a wet suit drying room. Sorry if this was not pointed out to you during your stay....

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2015

My best friend and I stayed here during the Easter holidays while we were hiking along the South West Coast Path. We discovered that the hostel welcomes walkers and surfers alike, and the manager was quick to pay a great deal of interest in our hike: how far we had come, where we were headed next etc. We paid in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DiscoverKirsty
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very positive review. We are so pleased that you had a nice, comfortable and relaxed stay. We hope to welcome you again soon!!

Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2015

12 of us stayed here for the weekend on a WI weekend away. The hostel is in an ideal location, very close to the harbour and a fantastic new Wetherspoons ideal for breakfast and refillable coffee. The weather wasn't kind to us but we had a really enjoyable weekend in Ilfracombe, visiting the Tunnels Beaches, Periwinkle Cafe, Verity, and Saunton...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosycheeks
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will take on board the idea of a keypad at the back which is a good one. You will be pleased to hear that if you do return and are not in the same room that you would have an en-suite bathroom...

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2015

A party of 6, we used Ocean Backpackers as a base to walk sections of the SWCP. A friendly greeting at the reception, we had booked a 6 berth on suite room which was clean and warm. Comfortable lounge area a well equipt self catering kitchen. My group enjoyed their stay here and would be happy to return. Just a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christopher M
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we are pleased to hear you enjoyed you stay with us. We have now purchased some plugs for the sinks so thanks for letting us know they were needed (not quite sure what happens to the ones that were there!). Unfortunately the car park out the back is no longer free overnight as they have...

South Molton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2015

We stayed this weekend in a lovely clean room with a sea view, the bed was really comfortable the whole building was clean and modern nicer than some hotels we have stayed in. Despite there big a large party staying there at the same time we didn't see or hear them. Thank you Chris and Abby we will be coming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much we look forward to your return!!

Reviewed 20 October 2014

Stayed for a weekend with an Under-16 group of Rugby players and parents. Took over the whole hostel. Kids and parents really enjoyed the hostel - spacious kitchen to make group breakfasts, plenty of room to chill out late i the evening and even free guitars to sing along to badly. Parents with smaller siblings used the top floor and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart F
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you can get another tour organised and we will see you all again soon. Please note that if you do return the car park is now charging £1.00 for overnight parking.

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 October 2014

We found this a great place to stay. Clean, tidy, kitchen on top floor with toilets and showers there as well. Nice to have off street car parking. Easy walk to harbour, shops and hill. Highly recommended. Wi-fi good in main dining room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gwenda J
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2014

It's clean, tidy but a couple of problems to note. The electricity cut off in the evening, one of the other guests fixed it (fuse box maybe?). There isn't always someone on the premises to help, depends on the time of day. A mobile number is provided at the entrance, but I found I didn't have a signal in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth N
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. Sorry the lamp did not work, it might have been the bulb blowing that tripped the electrics which can happen sometimes. The sign on the shower asks guests to make sure the screen door is closed properly otherwise it will leak. Reception times are 9am - 12 pm and 4pm - 10pm so yes there...

London
Reviewed 7 August 2014

A party of 4 stayed in the six-room (en-suite!) bunk room for a couple of nights separated by cycling the Devon coast-to-coast route. Ideal start and finish - really clean, great atmosphere and friendly staff and owner. Not sure I would have liked being one of the other two if they had booked the other beds, though. Kitchen was spacious,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacko97
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are looking to replace all our bunk mattresses soon so hopefully next time you will sleep even better even in a bunk bed!!! We are as you say great for cyclicts starting or finishing the Devon coast to coast so thanks for mentioning that. Hope to see you again sometime.

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ocean Backpackers is a contemporary hostel situated close to Ilfracombe's picturesque fishing harbour. Nestled in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, Ilfracombe has many shops, galleries, cafes, pubs and restaurants and is filled with curious coastal charm. The harbour is home to Damien Hirst's 20m statue Verity and trips to Lundy Island, coastal cruises, sea-life safaris and diving are available from the quay. Local attractions include Ilfracombe Aquarium, and the award winning Tunnels Beaches. Surfers' favourites Woolacombe, Croyde and Saunton are a short drive away. Adventure swimming, sea-kayaking, quad biking and horse riding are also available. Ilfracombe is the start of the NCN route 27 Coast to Coast ride and the South West Coast Path provides wonderful coastal walks with stunning scenery. Facilities include a lounge, free Internet/WiFi, self-catering kitchen, surfboard/bike storage and a free car park. Weekly discounts and large group whole hostel bookings are available on request. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Backpackers

Address: 29 St. James Place, Ilfracombe EX34 9BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Price Range: ₹ 2,487 - ₹ 6,051 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Backpackers Ilfracombe, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you don't want to share make sure 8 of you go , but we didn't have any problems.”
Melindawilli, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms available if privacy is preferred. Rooms on top floor quieter.”
bladet2016, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“No lift for disabled”
145David145, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ok to stay if your not spending much time in.”
BubblesnJJ, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Talk to Abby she is really helpful.”
nicolamT5958PX, 10 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5