We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

611 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 611: English reviews
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Great weekend break with the nightly entertainment, good food and drink. The only down side was the tour bus and mixer tap shower which you had to use by holding the head plus no curtain so water went every where,

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ray B
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our maintenance team is a available six days a week and I am sure they will look into the shower problem that you mentioned. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again in a near...

Reviewed 29 September 2015

Well the staff are friendly enough, but the stairs are a killer especially if you have to use a stick. There is one chair lift between reception and the first steps up to the landing heading towards the dining room then stairs down with no chair lift. The lift worked on the first day then broke down the second day...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan H
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad you found the staff helpful and enjoyed the food and bar service. The Dilkhusa hotel has daily room service and our hosekeeping staff always makes sure the rooms are clean and that customers have ready tea, coffee, milk... If more is needed, our reception staff...

wirral
Reviewed 29 September 2015

great hotel and really friendly staff the food is good but not massive portions but it really is enough. we had the four free drinks offer. the entertainment was fair enough apart from the bingo ,but the bingo prize was quite good .the only down side for use was the stairs everywhere in the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank helgw
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you said, all members of staff are very friendly and they always do their best to make sure customers have a great time. We serve standard portions of food, and majority of customers, like you did, found it...

Brownhills
Reviewed 26 September 2015 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay only one complaint. Nothing to complain about room very nice food an service excellent thanks to (Charlie) very clean an welcoming hotel we will visit again loved our stay. Good position on the flat close to the harbour an some very nice bars an eateries. Cream tea's and fish and chips awesome. Streets clean an tidy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kev C
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet you and myself and all members of staff will like to wish you all the best for the future. Once again, thank you for visiting us and for your feedback, and we hope to see you again...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2015

This hotel is in an excellent location, within walking distance of most of Ilfracombe. It's an old spacious building which has seen better days, with four floors but the tiny lift only goes to the third floor. Our stay was with National Holidays, at a really excellent price. Four free drinks per day were included, but this can be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you said, we offer an excellent value for money and the Bay Inclusive package is very popular. Customers get four free drinks per day, which could be alcoholic or non alcoholic ones. Regarding food portions, and based on...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2015

We have had a lovely time here again, this was our 3rd visit. The staff were very welcoming and friendly BAR ONE unfortunately. This was a receptionist who was on duty Saturday afternoon and evening. She was the most unpleasant jobs worth person we have ever dealt with. Didn't ask her for her name maybe should have, she was the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jonno1943
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you said, we offer very good value for money with good food, great entertainment, fantastic service, and also our Bay inclusive package, which includes 4 drinks per person per day. Just for people...

huddersfield uk
Reviewed 17 September 2015

We came down with National Holidays our driver was Adrian & he was full of information and a bit of a laugh.We had two 50 minute stops on the way down from Huddersfield.We asked for & received a 1 st floor bedroom.(114) we just could receive the Internet from our room but being far away from the router it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrishart
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your lovely comments to the staff. Once again, thank you very much for visiting us and for your feedback and we hope to see you again in a near future.

Coventry
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Visited during August with Coach Holiday Company. Many physically challenged people with our party, who found access to the dining room a bit of a struggle. The dining room staff were apparently undergoing training, which we were told was the reason for the severe delays in receiving even an acknowledgement that we were seated !. We paid for an upgraded...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alan59
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. Your feedback is very important and will help us to improve where needed. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in a near future.

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend. It is set opposite the gardens on the front. It is an imposing building, and a flat walk into the town or quay itself. We were early and the reception staff took care of our luggage and arranged for it to be taken to our room for us. This was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jojo20newport
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you said, we offer an excellent value for money and our staff always makes sure all our customers have a good time with us and enjoy their holidays. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We traveled as a couple on a four day break. Hotel is jaded and in need of a refurb, but lovely all the same. All the staff were extremely polite and helpful. We were in room 10 which is on the first floor but not accessible via the lift, just up a couple of short flights of stairs. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ali-crystal
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a detailed and wonderful review. As you said, we offer an excellent value for money and all members of the staff are a credit to the company. Also, as you said, Ilfracombe is a beutiful place to visit and sometimes people just goes on trips and forgets to visit...

178 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.2 km away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
326 reviews
0.1 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
240 reviews
0.6 km away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
233 reviews
1.4 km away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
370 reviews
1.0 km away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the level seafront of this hugely popular Victorian seaside resort stands the welcoming Dilkhusa Grand Hotel. The hotel was originally a private house, bought by a Raj at the turn of the last century as a gift to his wife - Dilkhusa translates from Hindustani roughly as ‘House of the Happy Heart!’ The hotel overlooks the picturesque Runnymede gardens and is close to the Landmark theatre which attracts many national acts. It is also just a short walk from the bustling 10th-century harbour where Britain’s most famous living artist, Damien Hirst, owns a restaurant. The Dilkhusa has a well-appointed restaurant combining excellent hospitality and service. A spacious and comfortable entertainments suite provides the ideal setting in which to sit back and enjoy the acts at this friendly and sociable hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel

Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Price Range: ₹ 8,055 - ₹ 10,768 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question
Bath, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Runcorn, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Slough, United Kingdom
20 days ago
Goole, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the rear are quiet but have no view.”
 of 5 bubbles RDH1, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pay extra we did, got a front of hotel room. But us and our friends found it very noisy from the rooms above.”
 of 5 bubbles F3346KVlindah, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“It's a four story hotel but the lift only goes to the third”
 of 5 bubbles johnaZ5996IC, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Pay for an upgrade from the £99.00 rooms”
 of 5 bubbles vicjanwakefield, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 301 (single room)”
 of 5 bubbles 193stuarte, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay