We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Duke of Gordon Hotel

Hotels.comUS$ 151*
View Deal
GreenLeadersBronze level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Duke of Gordon Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

453 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Duke of Gordon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 433: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2016

Had a ''snowflake break'' through Cairngorm Travel - 11 Feb '16 for 4 nights. Saw lots of snow on the hills/mountains (one of the main reasons for our visit as hadn't seen Scotland before in the winter) although didn't snow much while we were there. The hotel doesn't purport to be a 5* - it's nearly always about expectations -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul G
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel. It is always nice to be told that guests have enjoyed their visit to the hotel and to this beautiful part of the highlands. It is especially nice to acknowledge the team at the Duke and to let them know their efforts are appreciated. The hotels heating...

Dyffryn Ardudwy
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Welcoming, clean and comfortable would sum up the initial impression. The meals did not disappoint either. For four nights the meals were tastey and filling; one night the meal was outstanding. Entertainment was provided in the ample ballroom, an accordion player, a caller, an impromptu ceilidh, good fun.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maryDyffrynArdudwy
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel and for your kind comments. We provide live entertainment most evenings and try to cover all tastes in music. The Duke is a popular dancing venue for locals and visitors. I trust you had a safe journey home and we look forward to welcoming you again in...

north east coast
Reviewed 18 February 2016

We have visited this hotel twice before but this time was during Storm Gertrude when the winds hit 90 mph. Despite this and the snow and rain we got, the service was as good as ever. One morning we had a power cut at 7AM and had abandoned hope of a cooked breakfast, but it arrived on time and piping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holidayqueen4
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel and for your kind comments. Living in the Highlands we expect harsh weather and when faced with difficult situations such as a power cut, we do all we can to continue with service for our guests with as little disruption as possible. Paul & the Team

Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Excellent food apart from the final night's buffet , very friendly and helpful staff , room comfortable & warm , but had to buy slippers on the first day as the carpet was quite badly stained , and was woken at 11.20 on the Monday night by a loud drilling noise , when i rang reception i was told the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 20brenda20
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel. I do apologise for the disruption you experienced during your visit while the kitchen extraction system was cleaned. We do our best to have all maintenance work carried out during the day but at times there are certain things that can only be done at night when...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2016

The Duke is an amazing hotel we were made welcome immediately by all the staff they could not do enough for you through out our 5 day break, the food choices were unbelievable and the quality was second to none and the Lairds buffet on the last night really finished our holiday off especially with the bagpipes being played the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flower018r
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel and for your kind comments. All of the team appreciate being told that their efforts have been recognised. We will pass on your comments to the coach company for the driver and look forward to welcoming you again to the Duke. Paul & the Team

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2016

we arrived late after having a puncture outside perth but a meal was ready for us our room was clean and comfortable . the staff were superb even serving up a candle lit breakfast during a power cut a special thanks to lisa who helped us with bus timetables and points of interest in the village

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 7clive64
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel. I encourage all of the team to read the reviews and will ensure that Lisa sees your comments. we trust you had a safe and pleasant return journey. Paul & the Team

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2016

Passing through Kingussie looking for a quick something to eat, The Duke of Gordon was the 1st place we saw & was well advertised outside that food was available. The barman was very welcoming, & there was a good variety of food available. There were a few other tables in for lunch, but our snacks did not take long to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gmont82
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel and for your kind comments regarding your experience in our Ghillies Rest Lounge Bar. We look forward to welcoming you again to the 'Duke' and Kingussie. Paul & the Team

Wallasey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2016

I have just returned from the Duke of Gordon hotel, we had a great time met loads nice people and have booked again next year. All the staff are lovely very helpful too, the food was amazing. We had a couple of nice couch trips out as well, going up the funicular railway was amazing, and the clans man centre...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gelston90
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for your kind words. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Badenoch & Strathspey in this special part of the highlands. We are pleased that you will be visiting us again next year. Paul & the Team

merseyside
Reviewed 5 February 2016

this was our 2nd visit to the duke with cairngorm travel, we have only been back home 2 days and cant wait till next year to go back as we just love the hotel, the staff and the location, nothing is too much trouble and it was nice to see locals working back at the hotel. A special mention has...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rox e
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2016

Stayed here for 4 nights in January on a Gairngorm Travel Coach Holiday. Congratulations to the staff, all very helpful nothing was a proble. Excellent spacious bedrrooom, large bed, wardrobe, ample supplies for tea/ coffee facilities. 4 Course eveniing meals with plenty of choice to suit everyone, must compliment on the melt in your mouth venison casserole. Breakfasts, again plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nomadtourist37
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and for your comments. We will ensure that Cairngorm Travel receive a copy of this review. The latest bout of storms have caused some problems to many parts of the country. We all do our best to carry on with as normal a service as possible but we appreciate your...

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.6 km away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
325 reviews
0.4 km away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
185 reviews
0.1 km away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
190 reviews
18.3 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
27.0 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Duke of Gordon is one of the premier privately owned hotels in the heart of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park,a truly unspoilt and spectacular part of the world. The hotel is one of the few highland hotels that can offer all the home comforts of a modern hotel combined with the traditional charachater and heritage of an old scottish coaching inn. The open log fire welcomes our guests into the warm and friendly environment. All of the hotel electricity, heating and hot water is provided using a Woodchip Biomass System from fully sustainable resources. We are proud to have significantly reduced our carbon footprint and be one of the greenest business's in Scotland. A warm welcome awaits all to this gem that is the Duke of Gordon Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Duke of Gordon Hotel

Address: Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Price Range: ₹ 7,886 - ₹ 10,795 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Gordon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Duke of Gordon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Gordon Kingussie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Duke of Gordon Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Duke of Gordon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't visit if you have children or would like a good nights sleep”
alli1968, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had room facing the car park and we didn't have any problems”
sally20132016, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“lift does not go to all floors however stairs are wide and easy to climb.”
susanlei, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“check room numbers before visiting if solo traveller”
Oliver90, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were in room 107 which looked out on to the back of the hotel with a lovely view of the surrounding town buildings.”
margaretd729, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 151* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 156
TripAdvisorUS$ 151
Orbitz.comUS$ 151
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates