We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hermitage Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingussie
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Hermitage Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Hermitage Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 79: English reviews
Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Just back from 4 nights stay at The Hermitage which was great. A good solid granite building that used to be the town's Doctor's (shades of Dr Finnlay's Case Book....). We had an excellent room, spotlessly clean and good value. Andrew and Pauline are great fun and good hosts and everything was done throughout our stay to make us feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnatPales
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We booked a premium room in the Hermitage for a weekend break. The room was beautiful. The owner was very welcoming. The only disappointment was the breakfast. The food was good but the menu had a limited choice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn D
London
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I have just returned back to London after staying at the Hermitage for 2 nights and I have to admit I did not want to leave. The house is spotlessly clean and stikingly beautiful inside and as soon as you walk through the door you are made to feel welcome. Andrew and Pauline are very nice and accomodating people who...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sueper
bordeaux
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We were thoroughly satisfied with our two nights stay at the Hermitage guest house. Owner Andrew's welcome was genuine and straightforward. He was most helpful when we asked for his assistance in finding a doctor and an appointment at the local surgery; Rooms were comfortable, very quiet and very clean. There's also a big yard (garden) which our children were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gilles B
Genève
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This is more of a boutique hotel with very hospitable owners. Excellent large room. Wedgewood cups/saucers/teapot and a wide selection of teas. Impeccable bathroom featuring (for once) not just tiny pieces of soap or small bottles of shampoo. Hand/face rinse and body lotion from Champneys! Dinner was all locally sourced and homemade - including the bread rolls. Everything is done...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lesley0123
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2011

A bit formal in layout, but large enough room and good breakfast. Kingussie disappointing. Nice evening meal in local pub by station - the Silverfjord Hotel (with discount).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterC66
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review

We take our Guests reviews seriously, However, we are puzzeled by the comment "A bit formal in layout" It appears we have been marked as average because the Guest found "Kingussie disappointing" We are glad they enjoyed their meal at the Silverfjord but we note they fail to mention the discount was courtesey of 'The Hermitage'

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Just wanted to thank Andrew and Pauline for another welcoming stay in their beautiful Guest House. As always, everything exceeded our expectations. We will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FamilyNess70
Martina Franca, Italy
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Thank you Andrew and Pauline for being such wonderful hosts. While travelling around Scotland with Italian friends we came across the Guest House and what a find this was! Tranquilly set with spectacular views to the back of the property, the excellent breakfast was enjoyed while watching wild rabbits playing in the garden. The rooms are immaculate and beautifully finished...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MartinaFrancaSusie
Falkirk, Scotland
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Present proprieters seem to have carried on the excellent standards of hospitality set by their predecessors ( My wife and I stayed here in 2004). Can only endorse all the good comments that have been made.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nauticalgeordie
Midlands
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Having booked The Hermitage for our stay in the Highlands we couldn't have asked for more. Andrew & Pauline were the perfect hosts providing for our every need and made us feel at Home. Superb breakfasts and having opted for evening meals we were not dissapointed - the food was top class. The room was spotless and after a long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsMountaingoat

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingussie hotels
0.5 km away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
311 reviews
0.1 km away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
185 reviews
0.5 km away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
440 reviews
0.3 km away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 km away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 22 in Kingussie
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Hermitage Guest House

Address: The Hermitage Spey Street, Kingussie PH21 1HN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Price Range: ₹ 2,840 - ₹ 4,058 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hermitage Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Hermitage Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room overlooking the street was very enjoyable.”
 of 5 bubbles dnebot, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles davidlB9348NV, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The Spey Room is probably the best. Well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles Bitesyerlegs, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Trium is fantastic if you have 3 in your party like we had, myself and my two daughters stayed together in this very roomy comfortable room.”
  • Single bed side of the Trium room...the only triple room we found.
  • View from the single bedded area (it was a bit of a cloudy day)
  • The twin part of the room, very spacious and comfortable
 of 5 bubbles sharonluttrell, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the Twin bed room, it was right on the front of the house which was great for keeping a check on the car and for the mountain view we could see directly in front.”
 of 5 bubbles 657callumt, 20 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5