We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sandown Hotel

Booking.comUS$ 63*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Sandown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

20 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 20: English reviews
Start your review of Sandown Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came for a family break and was very glad we did. The hotel while in some areas may look a bit dated if you put this to one side is a real gem. The whole place is kept incredibly clean, completely spotless throughout. Time and time again the different members of staff came across as friendly, conscientious and dedicated to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tttpage
IOWHotels, Owner at Sandown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us on the Island. However the Sandown Hotel has been undergoing refurbishment works so you wouldn't have stayed there. You were, however, transferred to our sister hotel, The Sandringham. Therefore, we thank you for your positive comments on the cleanliness of our hotel, friendly and attentive staff, entertainment and the...

Reviewed 30 April 2016

I went to this hotel with my primary school in year/grade 6. The people there were quite nice, but always moaning. The beds were uncomfortable and old fashioned, but they still did well clearing up. If your going on a school residential trip, I recommended going here. They were high on supplies on varied food, and the chef did well...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sam R
IOWHotels, Owner at Sandown Hotel, responded to this review

Sam, thank you for reviewing your school trip stay with us on TripAdvisor, although you did not stay at the Sandown Hotel itself, because of refurbishments, you stayed at our sister hotel the Sandringham. Our beds are not "old-fashioned", in fact they're fairly new however, we understand different people have different tastes when it comes to beds. Thank you for...

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2014

Spent Mon-Fri at the Sandown with a group of friends, all pensioners - A Taste of Christmas break. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, the owners and staff are a great bunch - plenty of good PR, service excellent. Food really good and the evening entertainment of a very high standard. Several of us were disappointed with the TV reception - but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank anne l
IOWHotels, Owner at Sandown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review of your stay with us at the Sandown a few years back. The Sandown Hotel has now been completely refurbished with our newer front rooms being spacious with modern en-suite bathrooms. The reception, bar and lounges have also been upgraded. We also offers Free High Speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel including all bedrooms. We...

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2014

Because of its location, it could be a stunning hotel if money was spent on it as it overlooks the beach. However, the town is run down and neglected. The only restaurants were fast food outlets and burger bars. The Sundown Hotel is vastly overpriced and not up to expectation. > large hotel but only one lift > long corridors...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Sylvia J
sandowniow, Owner at Sandown Hotel, responded to this review

We weren't open - we haven't been trading for the past 2 years as we are undertaking renovation works. You didn't stay at the Sandown Hotel. Please kindly remove this review.

Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2014

I stayed here two years ago whilst running the Isle of Wight half marathon. It is in a good location and the breakfast is delicious. However, the whole place is dated and in urgent need of redecoration. It is very basic accommodation. There are better places to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Denise S
IOWHotels, Owner at Sandown Hotel, responded to this review

The Sandown Hotel has now been completely refurbished with our newer front rooms being spacious with modern en-suite bathrooms. The reception, bar and lounges have also been upgraded. We also offers Free High Speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel including all bedrooms. We have also taken time to carefully employ new staff. We hope that you would perhaps consider us for...

Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel is dated and beds are hard but the bathroom was excellent and breakfast was brill. View makes up for the decor. Parking poor and the room was quite warm. Would stay again for the location and breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Hopppppppp
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2012

just had a three day break at the Sandown Hotel cannot fault the staff in any way we were shown to our room which was room five with a balcony with a bathroom with bath and shower as we are both disabled our luggage was taken to our room for us we did not even have to ask them the...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank dennis b
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed in Summer 2011 and found it horrible! The food was cold. The rooms were horrible. Don't stay at this filth pit!

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Sam H
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We took our recently widowed daughter and her two children there for a week's break. We found the staff very helpful and the food good, although the outside could do with a bit of a make over. The location suited us perfectly and overall good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank billinda-10
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We were on a 3 night break - B&B and Dinner basis. We did not have a sea view but the weather (early September) was awful so it didn't matter! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were cheerful very efficient and who did everything to make the stay enjoyable. Very good breakfast and dinner menus. We changed...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ron G

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.1 km away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
404 reviews
0.1 km away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
302 reviews
0.4 km away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
294 reviews
0.2 km away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
702 reviews
0.7 km away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sandown Hotel on the Isle of Wight is located centrally on Sandown's beautiful seafront offering friendly hotel accommodation with a variety of rooms, including our newer modernized rooms as well as our budget rooms. The high street with a wide range of shops as well as the golden award-winning beaches are just a few meters away from the hotel's front doors. The hotel provides Free Wi-Fi in all rooms and has large lounge and bar areas to relax in after a long day exploring the Island, with a variety of hot, cold and alcoholic beverages (at an extra cost). Simple breakfast material, such as cereals and toast are provided in the hotel dining room and is included in the room cost. Dinner at our sister hotel, the Sandringham can also be booked at a discounted rate for Sandown Hotel residents if required. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandown Hotel

Address: Culver Parade, Sandown PO36 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Price Range: ₹ 3,239 - ₹ 6,561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sandown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandown Hotel Isle Of Wight
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandown Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Birmingham, United Kingdom
10 days ago
Birmingham, United Kingdom
10 days ago
Beverley, United Kingdom
10 months ago
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Sandown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the top facing the beach are great!”
L5319KYsamr, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
“There are Ground Floor rooms available. Ask for this if you have trouble with stairs - there is no lift.”
annel729, 4 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Go elsewhere. This place is a dump.”
denisesO9026BO, 18 Sep 2014 | Read review
“ask for room five excellent room”
15dennisb, 14 Aug 2012 | Read review
“Front rooms better view.”
billinda-10, 2 Oct 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 63* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates