We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sandown Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandown
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Sandown Hotel
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

19 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 19: English reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2016

I went to this hotel with my primary school in year/grade 6. The people there were quite nice, but always moaning. The beds were uncomfortable and old fashioned, but they still did well clearing up. If your going on a school residential trip, I recommended going here. They were high on supplies on varied food, and the chef did well...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sam R
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2014

Spent Mon-Fri at the Sandown with a group of friends, all pensioners - A Taste of Christmas break. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, the owners and staff are a great bunch - plenty of good PR, service excellent. Food really good and the evening entertainment of a very high standard. Several of us were disappointed with the TV reception - but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank anne l
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2014

Because of its location, it could be a stunning hotel if money was spent on it as it overlooks the beach. However, the town is run down and neglected. The only restaurants were fast food outlets and burger bars. The Sundown Hotel is vastly overpriced and not up to expectation. > large hotel but only one lift > long corridors...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Sylvia J
sandowniow, Owner at Sandown Hotel, responded to this review

We weren't open - we haven't been trading for the past 2 years as we are undertaking renovation works. You didn't stay at the Sandown Hotel. Please kindly remove this review.

Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2014

I stayed here two years ago whilst running the Isle of Wight half marathon. It is in a good location and the breakfast is delicious. However, the whole place is dated and in urgent need of redecoration. It is very basic accommodation. There are better places to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank denise635914
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel is dated and beds are hard but the bathroom was excellent and breakfast was brill. View makes up for the decor. Parking poor and the room was quite warm. Would stay again for the location and breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Hopppppppp
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2012

just had a three day break at the Sandown Hotel cannot fault the staff in any way we were shown to our room which was room five with a balcony with a bathroom with bath and shower as we are both disabled our luggage was taken to our room for us we did not even have to ask them the...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank dennis b
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed in Summer 2011 and found it horrible! The food was cold. The rooms were horrible. Don't stay at this filth pit!

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Sam H
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We took our recently widowed daughter and her two children there for a week's break. We found the staff very helpful and the food good, although the outside could do with a bit of a make over. The location suited us perfectly and overall good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank billinda-10
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We were on a 3 night break - B&B and Dinner basis. We did not have a sea view but the weather (early September) was awful so it didn't matter! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were cheerful very efficient and who did everything to make the stay enjoyable. Very good breakfast and dinner menus. We changed...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ron G
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Firstly, let us warn off hopeful bargain hunters, because although the price was enticing, nothing could have prepared us for what we were faced with. Upon arrival, the outside area was beyond run down, paint peeling off and it seemed disolute at best. Upon entry, we were hit by the smell which could only be described as putrid. Alarm bells....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank xenaballerina

1 photo of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.1 km away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 31 in Sandown
376 reviews
0.1 km away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#12 of 31 in Sandown
271 reviews
0.5 km away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 31 in Sandown
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
274 reviews
0.4 km away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Tarvic 2 Hotel
#17 of 31 in Sandown
237 reviews
0.1 km away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge

Additional Information about Sandown Hotel

Address: Seafront 1 Culver Parade, Sandown PO36 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Price Range: ₹ 2,513 - ₹ 5,112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Sandown Hotel Isle Of Wight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandown Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Sandown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the top facing the beach are great!”
 of 5 bubbles L5319KYsamr, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
“There are Ground Floor rooms available. Ask for this if you have trouble with stairs - there is no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles annel729, 4 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Go elsewhere. This place is a dump.”
 of 5 bubbles denise635914, 18 Sep 2014 | Read review
“ask for room five excellent room”
 of 5 bubbles 15dennisb, 14 Aug 2012 | Read review
“Front rooms better view.”
 of 5 bubbles billinda-10, 2 Oct 2011 | Read review
5 of 5