We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sefton Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Sefton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

545 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sefton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 536: English reviews
Chester UK
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Despite some poor reviews I found this hotel to be of a good standard. The New Attrium Rooms are excellent, but some in the older front part are a little dated. The lift at the front of hotel wasn't working for our 3 day stay so an elderly parent had a long walk to the older front part bedroom. Food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank steve_ChrisChesterUK
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review following your stay with us. We are pleased overall you found our hotel to be of a good standard, with good quality food and plenty of choice. We apologise that the lift was out of action during your stay ...repairs are currently underway and we hope this will be back in action shortly. Thank...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Staying for 15 nights (over Manx GP) we booked a luxury, seaview double room as both my wife and I like watching the sea ! Unfortunately the windows were so filthy that we couldn't see anything. When I had a moan I was tol;d that the cleaners would be around in a few days. They did come but only cleaned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are sorry to hear your feedback regarding the windows ....as you can imagine the outside windows do take the brunt of the sea air and we note these were cleaned during your stay however there is no excuse for dirty "inside" windows and we will review our procedures in...

Stamford
Reviewed 31 August 2014

After 7 years being a loyal customer we have now called time on the Sefton. Reception on arrival was underwhelming and unfriendly, sky tv has been taken away, no turn down, haven't learnt the art of cooking an egg without it tasting of vinegar, decor needs updating to name but a few of the issues and the saddest of all...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Andrea L
SeftonHotelManager, General Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am obviously extremely disappointed to read your comments and in particular your remarks relating to myself. I believe that Rom, my Senior Operations Manager, did in fact discuss some issues with you as I personally was not in the Hotel at the time. I can assure you that our guest satisfaction is always of...

Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel. We were upgraded to an Atrium room which was nice, but for little glitches that needn't have been there. Maintenance should have sorted this out. It's these little problems that can downgrade a room, which should be classified as luxury, but unfortunately due to the small issues in the room, wasn't! That's a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mickigirl1310
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review following your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you experienced a few little "glitches" in your room and we hope that you mentioned these to our staff during your stay - such feedback is vital to us and helps us to iron out any possible issues for our guests. The Atirum...

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2014

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights this August for the classic TT, when we arrived, late afternoon, the reception staff were friendly (as usual), polite and offered to help us with our luggage off our motorcycle. When we went to our room we thought there had been a mistake as the room given was the Regency suite when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kev w
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review and for your positive feedback. We added 9 Suites to the Sefton in 2009, one of which being the Regency Suite. As always we are pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful and the food "excellent". Thank you for your repeat custom over the years and we look forward to...

London
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Have stayed in Douglas for many years but never in the Sefton. After reading mixed reviews I think most were unnecessarily harsh. Yes this hotel is a little tricky to navigate and looking dated in places but it is a Victorian (Edwardian?) building which has been adapted to provide modern facilities such as lifts. We would have liked a sea-facing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexF019
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. As you say the hotel can be a little tricky to navigate. The Sefton first opened its doors in 1892 with various sections and wings being added over the years but we believe this only adds to its overall character. We are pleased you found the hotel clean and tidy...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is a lovely large Victorian building and well kept. Staff are friendly and hotel is clean. We had a room facing the boilers and couldn't sleep because of the noise. Wifi is free but limited. They seem to block you from many sites and apps.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NosonK
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, although we are sorry to hear your comments regarding the noise heard from your room. We have not received feedback of this kind before and will review as a matter of urgency. On the plus side, we are pleased you found our staff friendly and the hotel clean. Thank you...

isle of man
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked the family in for Sunday lunch at the carver y yesterday .We had three small grandchildren and I am currently in a wheelchair. The service and facilities were fantastic and could not be faulted. The food was delicious and of a wide selection. I would recommend this hotel and will definitely go back again .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathyIsleOfMan
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review from which we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us. Thank you for recommending our hotel.

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stayed here one night for work. Dated but pleasant room with a wonderful sea view. Large bathroom with a separate shower and bath. Came across the atrium area going to breakfast and it was a lovely find. Breakfast was good, included the usual things like cooked full english, cereal, fruit, yoghurts, toast. I wish I could have stayed longer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley C
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review from which we are pleased to note you had an enjoyable stay with us, albeit brief. We hope you can make time to visit us again in the future and spend a little more time enjoying what the Island has to offer. Thank you again.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great location, stunning views from rooms & dining room, friendly staff, reasonably priced (especially the bar!). We had a huge sea-view room on the 4th floor. Very comfortable. Bathroom planning was a little strange but the window was fantastic. Great view from the throne! If only the common areas were updated then it would be worthy of it's 4 stars.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hooray H
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and thank you for your five star rating. As you say, the views from the Sefton are strunning, although we didn't appreciate they could be viewed from such an angle! As always, we are pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and your room comfortable. We hope to...

195 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (187)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
3:43
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.5 km away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
327 reviews
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.7 km away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
99 reviews
0.8 km away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
311 reviews
0.0 km away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#6 of 22 in Douglas
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Sir Norman's
Sir Norman's
Cuisines: Bar, British, Healthy
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
he 4-star Sefton Hotel is located in Douglas on the beachfront. It boasts a unique indoor water garden and eateries. The rooms at the Sefton feature flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and some rooms have views of Douglas Bay and the water garden. There are also luxury 5-star suites, complete with hot tubs, iPod docking stations and their own kitchenette. Enjoy a light bite, main meal or dessert in the themed Sir Norman's Bar and enjoy its extensive selection of wines and local ales. A more fine dining experience can be had in the Harbour Lights at The Sefton. The Sefton Hotel also boasts a tranquil pool and a library where guests can relax with a drink or a book. The Atrium Water Garden provides a stunning backdrop to enjoy a drink. The ferry port is a 10-minute walk away. Parking is available onsite, nominal parking charges apply. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Address: Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Price Range: ₹ 5,985 - ₹ 18,212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sefton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Douglas, Isle Of Man, UK
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#6 Business Hotel in Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sefton Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sefton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Object in the strongest terms if put in a dismal dowdy room”
 of 5 bubbles 1777NT, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Junior suites improve the ambience but can't take away the staid nature of the decor”
 of 5 bubbles Lpspeshmad, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that has a view of the Atrium, sea, back of hotel or even the sky! Not the internal enclosed courtyard!”
 of 5 bubbles pchomehelpsomerset, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would highly recommend a sea front room so you can get a breeze, on my first visit i was in an interior room and it was extremely warm.”
 of 5 bubbles TonyR612, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms seem to have an internal atrium view which is good, but you don't get a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles Berkshire_UK, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay