We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sefton Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sefton Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

544 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sefton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 535: English reviews
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2014

I stayed in the hotel for three nights whilst on business in Douglas. My client had booked the hotel for me and I had no idea what to expect. I was made extremely welcome by the reception staff who got everything right - smiles, eye contact, humour and warmth. My room was spacious, well equipped with nice touches like free,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David_Cotton
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your 5 star rating. It is always a pleasure to receive such favourable reviews and we thank you for your comments - we will of course pass these on to the staff concerned. The Sefton first opened its doors in 1892 and despite sections being added over the...

isle of man
Reviewed 18 November 2014

My wife bought me a one night package deal for my birthday, accommodation including breakfast. She paid an extra £10 each to dine in the gallery restaurant instead of Sir Normans restaurant. I have never stayed here before but had dined in Sir Normans. We checked in on the Saturday 1st November. The room we were given was 223,it is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank imol62
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review although we are extremely disappointed and sorry to hear your feedback. We have tried to contact you by telephone, without success and will follow this response up with a letter with a view to discussing your stay further. Again please accept our apologies.

Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2014

This hotel is like a grand old lady being supported by her granddaughter! We stay every December for a special night out with the family. The new section is lovely although I've never been lucky enough to get an Atrium Room, as we've always asked for a sea view! The views are fantastic across the bay. The old section is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Manxmo
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review and for your feedback. Yes indeed the older section of the hotel is indeed quirky - as you may be aware The Sefton first opened its doors back in 1892 and retains much of its original character, despite new additions being added on over the years. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2014

From the moment that you enter this hotel you feel special. The welcome is friendly and informative. I stayed in a room looking over the atrium and can honestly say that it takes your breath away. The beds were extremely comfortable and the room was exceptionally clean. I ate at the hotel restaurant, while a bit pricey you get what...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rosie766
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

What a fantastic review, thank you. We are of course delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us - it is always appreciated when our guests take the time to submit a review. We certainly hope that you will get the chance to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Sefton for 5 nights in September, booked through IOM events company. We had dinner, bed and breakfast. We stayed in an atrium room with a very nice balcony. We were able to take lunch in the bar instead of dinner when we were going out in the evening. Altogether a very nice stay....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OAP13
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review and for your 5 star rating. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.....comments such as "we could not fault our atrium room" are always a pleasure to receive. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit the Island.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2014

Just booked out of The Sefton following a 5 night stay. On arriving much too early (5:30am! & having had little sleep due to an incorrect sailing) we still received a warm & understanding welcome from the reception manager, Tom, when we explained how we needed an early check-in Tom organised just that with no flap or problem. Thereafter we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Barbara D
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your 5 star rating. We are of course delighted to receive your comments and thrilled to hear that you "wouldn't stay anywhere else". Feedback on our staff, especially individual feedback, is always welcome and hugely appreciated - we have passed your comments on to the members of staff...

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2014

We booked the Hogarth Suite at the Sefton for 4 nights and were suitably impressed. A large clean suite, well more like an apartment to be honest and excellent value at under £250 per night including dinner The food is good and so are the staff, all in all excellent

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles F
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your 5 star rating. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our Suites ...these Suites were added to the Sefton in 2009 as part of a large renovation project with the aim of creating a unique 5 star offering on the Island. As...

Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2014

My friend and I stayed here as we were going to an Overtones concert at Villa Marina. The first room we were in was on the third floor. It was very dull and drab and there was a noxious smell. We looked out of the window and we were overlooking their bins and there was rubbish everywhere - Sefton Hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baroda32
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your comments which are noted. We are sorry to hear of your initial experience with your room, this is obviously unacceptable, please accept our sincere apologies. On the plus side we are pleased we were able to move you to an Atrium room and that you were happy...

Sussex
Reviewed 19 October 2014

Back again on business and there is something nice about knowing where you are going and what to expect. I go there so often that I always get an atrium room at the far end this is delightful. People like Tony on reception always make a difference - nothing is too much trouble. I used the restaurant one evening with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gotski
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and indeed for your repeat business. Thank you also for your comments regarding our staff, particularly Tony ....such personal comments are always appreciated and we will of course pass these on. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2014

Sea front hotel near to centre of Douglas, good food, decor tired, noisy when functions taking place, parking woeful, staff attentive and friendly, Restaurant closed on a sunday evening even for residents

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jerry M
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review and for your comments. The hotel as you say is near to the centre of Douglas and whilst there is parking in our underground carpark, this is limited. We are pleased to hear you found our staff attentive and friendly. As you quite rightly state, the Gallery restaurant is indeed closed on a Sunday,...

193 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (185)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
3:43
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.5 km away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
326 reviews
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.7 km away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
99 reviews
0.8 km away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
311 reviews
0.0 km away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#6 of 22 in Douglas
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Sir Norman's
Sir Norman's
Cuisines: Bar, British, Healthy
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
he 4-star Sefton Hotel is located in Douglas on the beachfront. It boasts a unique indoor water garden and eateries. The rooms at the Sefton feature flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and some rooms have views of Douglas Bay and the water garden. There are also luxury 5-star suites, complete with hot tubs, iPod docking stations and their own kitchenette. Enjoy a light bite, main meal or dessert in the themed Sir Norman's Bar and enjoy its extensive selection of wines and local ales. A more fine dining experience can be had in the Harbour Lights at The Sefton. The Sefton Hotel also boasts a tranquil pool and a library where guests can relax with a drink or a book. The Atrium Water Garden provides a stunning backdrop to enjoy a drink. The ferry port is a 10-minute walk away. Parking is available onsite, nominal parking charges apply. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Address: Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Price Range: ₹ 5,962 - ₹ 18,232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sefton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Douglas, Isle Of Man, UK
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#6 Business Hotel in Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sefton Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sefton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Object in the strongest terms if put in a dismal dowdy room”
 of 5 bubbles 1777NT, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Junior suites improve the ambience but can't take away the staid nature of the decor”
 of 5 bubbles Lpspeshmad, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that has a view of the Atrium, sea, back of hotel or even the sky! Not the internal enclosed courtyard!”
 of 5 bubbles pchomehelpsomerset, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would highly recommend a sea front room so you can get a breeze, on my first visit i was in an interior room and it was extremely warm.”
 of 5 bubbles TonyR612, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms seem to have an internal atrium view which is good, but you don't get a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles Berkshire_UK, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay