We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sefton Hotel

Booking.comUS$ 116*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Sefton Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

575 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 565: English reviews
Start your review of Sefton Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

3rd time back to this hotel. We had the most beautiful situated Atrium room? Very peaceful and absolutely spotless. Our bed and towels were changed every day.We ate in Sir Normans each night and not disappointed. Food was lovely and quick service considering it was busy over the time we were there. Big thank you to the staff that made...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jo_Shields15
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your 5 star rating. We are delighted to receive your complimentary feedback on our staff.....such personal comments are ALWAYS appreciated and we will of course pass your review on to the relevant staff. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed at the hotel for the third time in 12 months. Once again we were overwhelmed by the hotel and by the welcome we received. We stayed in the Atrium which was great. The room was brilliant and very comfortable. Breakfast was fabulous each morning, with plenty of choice. We ate every night day in Sir Norman's bar. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and thank you for such a lovely review. In particular thank you for your comments regarding our staff - such feedback is ALWAYS welcome and very much appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Sefton Hotel.

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel is more like a 2 star hotel. We were shocked at its 4 star rating. Very dated with horrible carpets and tired worn decor. There were nettles growing out of the window boxes on the front of the hotel. Poorly maintained. We booked a family room which looked out onto filthy roofs with various debris strewn about. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keelcrazy
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting feedback following on from your visit with us. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and we have noted your comments. Thank you for your review

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good points: - Room Fairly clean - Staff freindly and helpful - Nice relaxing swimming pool - Some lovely rooms looking over a court yard contaning a small pond with fish in. - Quiet at night - Tv in room Bad points: - Food in the restaurant is not to nice - Family rooms have a awful view of dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MollieEllis
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 5 nights as friends who live on the IOM recommended it. Did not feel it was up to 4* standard. Food in Norman's Bar was mediocre, so we generally ate at Davisons next door. Room was OK but looked out on poorly maintained white walls. Reception staff were not that friendly or welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Panto980
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting feedback following on from your stay with us. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and we have noted your comments. Thank you for your review

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely stay at the sefton for my birthday. The room was a good size and clean and tidy. We ordered room service which came really quickly (about 15-20 mins). The staff were helpful and pleasent and we felt comfortable asking them questions about what to do etc. The only fault was that our room service dishes werent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David K
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review from which we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your birthday with us. We are pleased you found your room clean and tidy and our staff friendly and pleasant . We hope to be able to welcome you back again sometime in the future. Thank you again for your review

Peel, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms were lovely.very clean and great views across the harbour. Made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much.evening meal was amazing. Breakfast was fabulous. Great choice of food.Would highly recommend this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j0annahull
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your stay. We are of course delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us - it is always appreciated when our guests take the time to submit a review. Thank you again for your review.

Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a lovely overnight stay in Hollywood Suite. Nice and private , room was superbly presented, plenty of space with concealed kitchen area. Bathroom very modern only issue Jacuzzi didn't work. Main bar area was nice and staff very helpful, breakfast was superb with a well stocked selection and great choice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review following your stay with us and for your feedback which has been noted. Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sefton and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Thank you again for your review.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the sefton thursday through sunday as my husband had a business meeting. We arrived shortly after 10pm and was checked in by the night porter. Pleasant enough, but not welcoming at all. No information about the facilities was given to us or what the breakfast arrangements were. We made our way to our very tired room. Dropped our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting feedback following on from your stay with us. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and we have noted your comments. Thank you for your review

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice over night stay room good restaurant the food was good Irish coffee was very poor the breakfast was cold not hot. Bathroom was very nice with a bath an a shower . An a nice look over the Irish Sea.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and have noted your comments and will review and address where possible.

204 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (196)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
3:43
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.5 km away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
342 reviews
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.8 km away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
333 reviews
0.3 km away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
124 reviews
1.3 km away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Sir Norman's
Sir Norman's
Cuisines: Bar, British, Healthy
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
he 4-star Sefton Hotel is located in Douglas on the beachfront. It boasts a unique indoor water garden and eateries. The rooms at the Sefton feature flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and some rooms have views of Douglas Bay and the water garden. There are also luxury 5-star suites, complete with hot tubs, iPod docking stations and their own kitchenette. Enjoy a light bite, main meal or dessert in the themed Sir Norman's Bar and enjoy its extensive selection of wines and local ales. A more fine dining experience can be had in the Harbour Lights at The Sefton. The Sefton Hotel also boasts a tranquil pool and a library where guests can relax with a drink or a book. The Atrium Water Garden provides a stunning backdrop to enjoy a drink. The ferry port is a 10-minute walk away. Parking is available onsite, nominal parking charges apply. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Address: Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Price Range: ₹ 7,758 - ₹ 15,268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sefton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Douglas, Isle Of Man, UK
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#6 Business Hotel in Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sefton Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Sefton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“speak to Zoe”
d0nnag7, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beware of 'road noise' in sea front rooms ...”
dreemerdog, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for Atrium rooms”
robertpO1330LN, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Object in the strongest terms if put in a dismal dowdy room”
1777NT, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Junior suites improve the ambience but can't take away the staid nature of the decor”
Lpspeshmad, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 116* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 116
Hotels.comUS$ 149
Expedia.comUS$ 149
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates